We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Bandara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Bandara to your Saves list
Sheraton Bandara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bandara Soekarno-Hatta | Jl. Tol. Prof. Sedyatmo, Jakarta 19110, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 332 Hotels in Jakarta
Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I was expecting this hotel to be a simple transit hotel as it is the closet hotel to Jakarta main airport. Turned out to be a nice surprise, stayed the night with the wife and little one. No complaints, ordered some room service that was quick as we arrived late. Room was clean, and the vegetation around the hotel is lovely. Enjoyed my morning stroll there. Recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward T, Manager at Sheraton Bandara, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Kinoby,

We have reviewed your feedback from your recent stay with us through TripAdvisor website.

It is always good to discover that you have an enjoyable moment with your family throughout your experiences with our services and products. It is become our proud that we are able to deliver our commitment to reach every of our guest satisfaction.

“Kinoby, once again we appreciate for your openness and caring feedback. Looking forward to welcome you back with more pleasant journey with our property.

I remain with my warmest regards,


Edward Tahalele
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    134
    99
    39
    22
See reviews for
24
65
57
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andernach, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The hotel is ideally located outside Jakarta close to the airport. A free shuttle bus is available. On the first glance it is fantastic. Small buildings with max 2 floors, but long ways and a fancy terrace with a pool bar outside. The lake is beautiful. The rooms however seem to have passed by their best days. AC could not be switched off and control was set to 18 degree as default. It was consistently running and noisy. The mini bar was empty, WiFi was charged for. But check in and out was very efficient. Also the gym was good. Overall rating only 3.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas R, General Manager at Sheraton Bandara, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear 'Winfried4'

Thank you for staying with us during your Jakarta visit.
It is our great pleasure to receive your ratings and comments.

We appreciate your kind praises for our hotel and the landscape of it. We are glad we were able to exceed your expectations and make you feel of our hotel environment.

As mentioned in a recent and previous review we have addressed renovations to approximately 25% of our inventory and are constantly renovating additional rooms in order to complete the process by 2014. We sincerely regret that the A/C and WIFI did not work as expected and I would like to apologize for the inability to settle these matters while staying with us. We have also taken the initiative to offer Free WIFI in our guest rooms as of 2014 and are currently in the process to install all soft and hardware to offer 512kbs as a free option and 1-3mbs for a minimal charge.
We have also informed our F&B department about the minibar issue raised and have taken action in our way of doing things as well as focus on the process of the room release actions by supervisors for new arrivals.

As we are nearing the festive celebrations soon I wish to extend to you, fellow travelers and their families a very Merry Christmas and a peaceful and prosperous 2014.

Warm regards,
Andreas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Very helpful and friendly service from arriving at the airport to leaving the hotel.
10 minutes free shuttle from airport to hotel (both ways). So very good if you have an overnight transit.
Although very close to the airport it feels a million miles away, a lovely setting overlooking a lake.
Good rooms and if have ground floor on overlooking the lake have a lovely terrace.
It is a transit hotel that feels like a resort hotel, a lovely start or end to any visit to Indonesia.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the lake and if possible ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas R, General Manager at Sheraton Bandara, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear 'Robin S'

Thank you for staying with us during your Jakarta visit.
It is our great pleasure to receive your ratings and comments.
We appreciate your kind praises for our hotel and the landscape of it. We are glad we were able to exceed your expectations and make you feel relaxed and comfortable.

As we are nearing the festive celebrations soon I wish to extend to you, fellow travelers and their families a very Merry Christmas and a peaceful and prosperous 2014.

Warm regards,
Andreas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is a beautiful facility and its in a great location (~10 minutes from airport). Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices and made-to-order omelets. Best omelet I had this year (and I travel a lot).

Gym has plenty of top quality equipment and is well maintained.

The hotel staff is friendly and courteous. No problems communicating in English.

The room was on the old side but had the standards (flat screen TV, minibar). Shower had good water pressure. Air Con did not get to the temp I set but was able to maintain a reasonable temperature.

Two things about my stay that I did not enjoy. First, is the mosquito issue. I slept inside the provided mosquito netting above the bed. Initially, I didn't initially think that was necessary but came to notice several mosquitos in the room. The bed was comfortable but I wasnt thrilled to need the netting.

Second, and most importantly for me, is poor internet connectivity. I'm not sure what the issue was (I paid for 24 hrs) but after an hour or so, I lost my wifi connection and it was so slow when it periodically came back as to be unusable. This is a showstopper for me and although there is much to applaud about tis hotel, I will consider others next time through.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas R, General Manager at Sheraton Bandara, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear 'itchy365'

Thank you for staying with us during your Jakarta visit.
It is our great pleasure to receive your ratings and comments.
We appreciate your praises on the Gym and the Food and Beverage services and products and glad we were able to exceed your expectations.
In regards to the mosquito issues I would like to mention that we have weekly processes in place that address these pests. As we are in the raining season here in Jakarta we have heightened our frequency and intensified our pest control practices. The nets in the room are for added comfort but we assure you that our team and the contracted company are on top of the issue with constant hot and cold fogging as well as spraying vacant rooms at all times before hand over. We apologize if you had an issue and we have notified our teams regarding our shortcomings.
On the renovation of our rooms we have to date 25% completed and we are continuing to do so throughout 2014. Please bear with us as we are only able to do 10 rooms per month due to the high demand we experience for our inventory.
On the internet issue we would like to highlight that we are in the process to upgrade our speed available to 30mbs for the property and also that we will present our guests with free internet as of 2014 with a 512kbs in room as well as public area with 1mbs. We really focus on the importance of connectivity and all efforts are made to get us there. We also have the Link@Sheraton upgraded with the newest Lenovo computers and Screens as well as Microsoft software and Print Me options.
Warm regards,
Andreas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Excellent hotel for many reasons.
The staff were exceptional when it comes to service and considering this was the first time I had been there, I was Mr. Nick in a very short period of time not sure how they remembered to be honest.
Room was great, very quite, and just a short walk from the main front desk. The swimming pool, the gym, and breakfast area were even closer, and very convenient. The pool was delightful, crystal clear with a bar and the water temperature was perfect. The gym very adequate with a more than pleasing view looking out over well manicured lawns of tropical foliage.

Breakfast was superb with everything fresh and local dishes with fruits etc - help yourself style, but attentive table staff always taking care of you for tea coffee etc.

Hotel electrical sockets / plugs of multiple international compatibility (wake up America) so again no adapters needed.

Very close to the airport, and plane noise I hardly heard at all - this is about 10-minutes from the airport, very convenient. Please set up a collection with the hotel from the airport, prior to arrival this will save you some stress from willing drivers wanting to give you a lift.

Change money at the airport it has the best rates - as soon as you exit the customs hall they are on the right prior to leaving the security area.

If you are a Brit or US citizen you do not need to get visas prior to visiting Indonesia, as of the time of posting, you get after leaving the aircraft the VOA - Visa on Arrival and you pay your US$25 (cash), then line up and get it stamped and approved in that order - not this does not take long, assuming several 777's have not arrived at the same time. Get off the plane as soon as you can be the first in line if possible.

Once outside the hotels here English is not widely spoken, as in most other countries in the locality, such as Singapore, Malaysia etc.

The traffic in Jakarta has got to be the worst I have experienced to date, just about anywhere in the world - if you stay downtown don't think about getting around doing business if it means getting a cab some distance - it defies description and can ruin what might have been a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas R, General Manager at Sheraton Bandara, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear 'Nicktet',

Greetings from the Sheraton Bandara Team!
It is with great pleasure to respond to you after your review comments on trip advisor!
We are always so grateful to hear when we made someone's stay special and different.
THANK YOU for your inspiring article about our hotel and the kind praises for our team. Our aim is to continue to inspire our associates and your story will be one that will keep our work day covered with smiles and pride.

We wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year 2014!

Travel safe and be well,
Andreas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoakum
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Had another enjoyable long stay at the Sheraton Bandara and am most appreciative of the staff and what they did for me in assisting another guest with their accommodations and making it a "paradise". The wine was excellent, the flowers were fantastic, the service was 5 star all the way!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward T, Manager at Sheraton Bandara, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear ‘Kenneth H’,

Thank you for your wonderful comments through TripAdvisor website towards our property. We are happy to heard from you that you really enjoyed your stay and that you had a pleasant experience with us.

“Mr Kenneth H’, we do appreciate your business and loyalty with our property and always be our honor to serve you better.

We are so delighted to know that our staff is able to reach your overall satisfaction and knowing that the Wine of the World program and flower arrangement are able to create a memorable experience with us. Your feedback is really encouraging to maintain and enhance our services to personalize our guest expectation especially for our long staying guest like you were.

'Kenneth H’, Once again thank you for your comments and we really appreciate it. Looking forward to welcome you back in the soonest time. Enjoy your day!

Until then I remain with my warmest regards,


Edward Tahalele
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Sheraton Bandara is located very close to the Jakarta airport. The provide shuttle service between the hotel and airport at all hours of the day. I generally use this hotel a stop over between flights from the USA to other islands in Indonesia. The pool is very nice and the pool bar has a variety of foods.

Room Tip: remember to ask for a breakfast take out box if you have to be at the airport very early before the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward T, Manager at Sheraton Bandara, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear ‘AZ85603’,

Warmest Greeting from Sheraton Bandara Hotel, Jakarta.

We do appreciate your feedback through TripAdvisor website and share your experience for the other travelers.

We are so happy to know that our shuttle service is able to extend our services and become a beneficial offer to our guests.

Reviewing your feedback that you have enjoyed with our swimming pool facilities and variety of food, it is really encouraging comment, thank you for that.

For your information. we have also signed off some new projects that will start over the course of the next few months such as a new pool bar and sundeck area as well as a Wellness venue at the pool. Then, we have also designed and approved a new 24 hours F&B venue which will be called the Link Cafe as well as an exciting new entertainment venue. Lastly, we are in the midst of a property improvement plan that will take us to the end of 2014 to complete and we are excited to start soonest with additional projects to further improve our property.

‘AZ85603’, thank you again for giving us your feedback and for caring to share with us your thoughts. We always appreciate the time you have taken to do so.

Looking forward to serve you again and please do let me know should you need any of assistance.


Warmest Regards

Edward Tahalele
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Bandara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Bandara

Address: Bandara Soekarno-Hatta | Jl. Tol. Prof. Sedyatmo, Jakarta 19110, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#49 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Bandara 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three kilometres from Soekarno-Hatta International Airport, Sheraton Bandara Hotel offers a unique, five-star, resort-style experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Bandara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Bandara Hotel Jakarta
Sheraton Hotel Jakarta
Sheraton Hotel Bandara
Sheraton Jakarta
Jakarta Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Bandara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.