We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great minimalist retreat in central Jakarta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alila Jakarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Alila Jakarta to your Saves list
Alila Jakarta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Pecenongan Kav 7 - 17, Jakarta 10120, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 331 Hotels in Jakarta
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great minimalist retreat in central Jakarta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I love this hotel's architectural style. Very modern, minimalist. The staff was okay, always very busy. The room was nice, though somewhat small compared to the usual Indonesian hotel room at this price level. The bathroom was also quite small and has a bathtub with a shower head, but no separate shower.
Our room was part of the executive floors so we had full access to the executive lounge, which included food/snacks all day long and free cocktails between 6:00 and 8:00. There is a smoking lounge in the back and even if you don't smoke (and can stand it), go back there to meet the characters sitting there. Everyone sits around a common table and you'll leave with friends from all over the globe.
Breakfast is very good but not the best in Jakarta. About four years ago I remember being amazed by the quality and variety of the buffet, but it has gone downhill in that time.

Room Tip: Get a room with access to the executive lounge; it's a very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ-Alila_Jakarta, General Manager at Alila Jakarta, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear BexYo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and do take on board your comments on the price and the size.

Please do note that the buffet at the Executive Lounge consist of an "A La Carte" menu and a buffet of selected items.
A full breakfast buffet with Indonesian and Western fares remains available at Buzz Restaurant on Level 1.
It must be the one that you remembered since the recently opened Executive Lounge did not exist during your last stay.

Thank you also for choosing Alila Jakarta and very much looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Eric Faivre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    177
    43
    13
    5
See reviews for
26
85
46
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is our 2nd time staying in this hotel. Last week we stayed for 5 nights in the Executive Room on the 23rd floor. A nice big beautiful room with a nice view of the pool and surrounding area. Spacious bathroom with separate tub and shower, nice comfortable bed and living area. Besides daily cleaning, room service turns down the bed in the evening. One suggestion for management: room lighting could have a brighter option.

Nice lap swimming pool (18 meters) perfect for swimming laps, also has gym and spa. Since we booked the executive suite, we also had access to the executive lounge on the 7th floor where we had breakfast and cocktail hour. Free juice and soft drinks all day.

Can't say enough about the service - all the staff were always happy, polite and helpful and some even remember us by our first name.

Definitely will recommend our friends to stay there as we had a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ-Alila_Jakarta, General Manager at Alila Jakarta, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Augie J,

Thank you so much for choosing Alila Jakarta and for taking the time to giving us such a great feedback!

Its a pleasure to share with the team.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the service and very much look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Jakarta.

Warm regards,

Eric Faivre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

4 night stay in this lovely property. Check in was all good and prompt.

The room is chic and elegant. I definitely love the view from my full length window. The view at night is really nice.

The pool is refreshing, especially with a glass of cold ice Bintang during the hot weather.

The breakfast spread is satisfying.

Room service all good.

Overall, i love this hotel :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ-Alila_Jakarta, General Manager at Alila Jakarta, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear SueKarat,

We really appreciate that you took the time to give us your kind feedback and for posting the pictures during your stay. Thank you!

We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and very much hope that you will come back soon!

Best regards,

Eric Faivre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Alila convenient situated near Monas in Jakarta is a great business hotel.
Spacious lobby, good restaurant, nice coffeeshop and helpfull people in the business centre.
The rooms are clean and weel equiped and the free Wifi is fast and reliable.
On the 6th floor there is a nice pool overlooking west Jakarta. Since it is a high rise bulding the views from the rooms are great and give a good impression of this bustling city.An Indonesian owned hotel with a French general manager. Second time here and loved it.

Room Tip: Back side rooms are more quiet. At the front you may hear the few mosks there (which add a local fla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ-Alila_Jakarta, General Manager at Alila Jakarta, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Max M,

Thank you so much for choosing Alila Jakarta and for taking the time to write such a great feedback

I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and very much look forward to welcome you back!

Safe travels and best regards,

Eric Faivre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHOENIX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a clean & efficient hotel with a friendly staff. The rooms are large & clean but the
lighting is not adequate and is too dark in the room & the bathroom even with all the lights
on. The shower is a very tight fit as it is in the bath tub which is very narrow. The water
temperature cannot be regulated and keeps going from warm to super hot to cold !
One second warm and the next super hot ! The restaurant is not very good at any time
of the day and even the breakfast buffet is not very good at all. The hotel seems to be
in the middle of no where and you must take a cab every where. Best not to go in the
rainy season (January & February) as you will get stuck in the hotel due to flooding.
The best part of this hotel is the Gym which is where you can get an excellent workout
with all types of weights & equipment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ-Alila_Jakarta, General Manager at Alila Jakarta, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear CHARLES B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We do take on board your comments about the water, room size and the restaurant,
and are very happy to know that you enjoyed our gym and overall the efficient hotel with friendly staff.

In regards to the flooding, this year was actually very unusual for central Jakarta. Previously major floods like this year only occurred in 2007, 2002 and 1996.

Thank you again for choosing Alila Jakarta and very much looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Eric Faivre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The rooms were good and large but the location wasn't brilliant, if you walk out of the hotel there are tyre shops and mechanics all around. I went there for work take earplugs as the hotel is next to a mosque and the 4am wake ups might not be what you want. Also the walls are thin. The carpets are a bit stained but otherwise ok. The bathroom was nice.

Breakfast was fine. I might look for another location next time but I could as easily go back. The taxes really boost the price of everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ-Alila_Jakarta, General Manager at Alila Jakarta, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear smithcomyn,

Thank you so much for staying at Alila Jakarta and for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the hotel overall and do take on board your comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Eric Faivre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I have been using Alila Jakarta for almost 2 years. Staying here mostly for business trips, and I find Alila Jakarta has perfect location for traffic like Jakarta. My colleagues and clients are very happy to be invited by me to have a simple chat, and even business talk, here.

Staffs are friendly, kind and helpful.

My favorite places are business lounge and T&C

Good things that I admire are abundant electrical plugs in room, abundant internet hotspots and high speed and free Internet access

Very reliable booking service, even if I booked in short notice and even if I checked-in almost midnight

One morning, I checked out early to catch 6 AM flight and found a coffee machine next to reception desk. I served myself a cup of espresso, free :-)

If this review was read by the management, I would strongly advise them to keep the rates as good as it is for me

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ-Alila_Jakarta, General Manager at Alila Jakarta, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Pak Kristupa,

Thank you so much for your feedback and for your continued support to Alila Jakarta.

Happy to share what we are working on this year:
- Changing all our WIFI equipment that will result in an even faster connection (April)
- Renovation of the Spa scheduled to reopen in May
- Renovation of all the Executive and Alila suites scheduled for a July relaunch
- Opening of our new Restaurant (replacing Shanghai Storm & TNC) in September.

Please rest assured that our focus remains on always improving the product, keeping the property at the highest maintenance level and offering our best competitive rates.

Again, I am delighted that you enjoy the hotel stay and very much looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Best regards,

Eric Faivre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alila Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Jakarta

Address: Jl. Pecenongan Kav 7 - 17, Jakarta 10120, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#33 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alila Jakarta 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Alila Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Alila Hotel Jakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alila Jakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.