We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room Layouts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan M.H. Thamrin P.O Box 3392, Jakarta 10310, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Massage and Dining Credit
Ranked #1 of 331 Hotels in Jakarta
Manado, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Room Layouts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Have nice room layouts, clean room and nice amenities.
Breakfast are interesting and varied. Very fine location.
Check out process was fast and quick. The big scanner make you feel secure at the same time felling that you have enter the airport.
Just little drawback that when check in my room was not ready, thanks for the FO staff who quickly act to solve the problem.
Overall stay was nice

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    104
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
52
90
68
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hotel lobby is large, smells amazing. Gym facilities are fantastic.

Rooms are spacious and clean. Great tubs. Staff is attentive, and accommodating.
I did not eat in any of the upstairs restaurants or bars.

Breakfast and dinner buffet downstairs have everything you can imagine. All types of food. Quick service and many options. As a vegan I had no problem being accommodated.

Downsides would be crossing that traffic circle to get to the malls etc. But that is an issue in the whole area, regardless of hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed an amazing 3 nights recently...again. And once again, it's been a wonderful experience. On the first night, I told the housekeeper to replenish only my favourite teas, and not an assortment. Guess what? They only stocked up on my favourite teas for the rest of my stay, without any need for a reminder. How "more attentive" can they get? Thank you, Mandarin Oriental. you're my most favourite hotel in Jakarta.

Room Tip: If you're intending to splurge on a suite, go straight to the Oriental suite. The urban suite is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

When booking the hotel, I was told rather dismissively that this place was simply in a different league to J.W Marriott or Ritz-Carlton and was intrigued to give it a try. Whilst I don't really agree with this statement, I must say that it was really very good indeed. Elly at front desk did a wonderful job and provided one of the smoothest check-in experiences I have ever had as well as providing a free upgrade and free wi-fi (seriously, they charge normally?). Room was lovely and staff were great, I would happily try MO again. Only downside was that I asked for a good restaurant to mark my last night in Indonesia and was recommended to visit Xin Hwa at the hotel which was woeful. Otherwise, a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stay in MO for one night in Superior room during Independence Day weekend, which also during the Moslem's fasting month. We got promo price, which made our stay more valuable. Like most of the reviews, mine was also very positive because we do have a very good staying here.

Positives:
- I'm living in Jakarta, so location is not really relevant for me, but yes, it's in central. Every Sunday, between 06.00-11.00am, the Thamrin & Sudirman Street are closed for car-free-day event. The Jakartans use this event to do sport activities (walk, run, aerobics, etc.) and some music/dance/art performances. If you stay here on Sunday, please expect to hear a slight of noise from the street, especially if your room is facing the Welcome Monument fountain. In my experience, the noise was not loud and the MO will make you aware of this condition by sending a note to your room explaining this weekly event on Saturday evening.

- Check in & check out was a breeze.

- The room is spacious, clean, nicely design & our room has a view of Welcome Monument fountain.

- The bathroom is also spacious, with 5-star bathroom amenities, including the bathtub.

- The kingsize bed mattress, pillows, and sheets are very comfortable.

- Breakfast was very good with many varieties on food.

- Free wi-fi in the room.

- Their biggest asset is definitely the staff. The most efficient, friendly, attentive and professional staff. We always been treated like VIP even we stay for one night only.

- With this promo price, we also entitled a free taxi ride to Grand Indonesia & Plaza Indonesia shopping centres (but not the other way around) across the hotel. It was a nice perk to have if you want to go during daylight, because the sun could be quite punishing outside.

I cannot give comments on their restaurants (except for the breakfast), because we chose to dine outside. Also we didn't try the pool (very small size pool for such top notch 5 star hotel) and we didn't use the gym. We prefer to do jogging outside during the car-free-day Sunday..LOL.

Negative:
- Probably only the small pool, which is not really inviting.

Will I come back? Absolutely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

It has spacious and fantastic room add with excellent service from its staff. Undoubtly one of the best in jakarta. The only minus is that the pool is small. However who need pool if you have such a nice comdortable room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I travel to South East Asia on Business a lot and would consider myself knowledgable in the Jakarta hotel world. Excellent hotels are a result of the people working in them and this is the trump card of this hotel. Yes, it does have large and clean rooms, good internet connection (albeit at a cost), a nice gym and all the mod cons one could ask for. What sets this place apart is the consistent service. The only small downside could be the size of the pool, if that is important to you. I recommend the Club Lounge, which provides a more privacy and an excellent breakfast presentation, which even includes freshly squeezed juices delivered to your table.

Room Tip: Club Lounge access is well worth paying extra, considering the food presentations and Internet inclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta

Address: Jalan M.H. Thamrin P.O Box 3392, Jakarta 10310, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#1 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#1 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the warmth of Indonesian hospitality and the levels of service for which Mandarin Oriental is renowned, Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta offers exemplary personalised service in luxurious surroundings. Located in the heart of the city, the hotel is an oasis of 21st-century luxury with 272 spacious guest rooms, including 24 suites and a variety of award-winning restaurants and bar concepts, which become the meeting place of choice for hotel guests and the local community. The state-of-the-art meeting and banqueting facilities also provide the best venues for both business and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Mandarin Jakarta
Jakarta Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.