We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to lay your head after a long flight!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. M.H. Thamrin P.O Box 3392, Jakarta 10310, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 345 Hotels in Jakarta
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“nice place to lay your head after a long flight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

When we entered the hotel it was a tad bit scary with all the security It was like entering an airport again! But once in it was so very nice clean rooms amazing service! I used the gym and they even gave me sneakers to ware while working out! the spa service was the best Iv ever had which is saying a lot! The breakfast was am amazing spread of feasts from around the world there was a western breakfast with omelets and then there was an eastern breakfast! its was such a wonderful surprise so do not miss breakfast!
when you get your bill look at it closely! this plce is not bargain but you are paying frot he sevice and the experience however there are hidden fees in there

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    123
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
61
105
71
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wellington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

the mandarin chain is known for its high level of customer service from the moment you checked in until your departure. they anticipate almost every need of their clients.

however, the mandarin hotel in Jakarta has not moved with the times. they do not have any internet access for FREE anywhere in the hotel except if you have to pay. Almost all hotels in the world provide this service at least even in their lobbies and public areas. This hotel is blind to this reality, this could be because all their guests are prepared to fork out that dollar. This is not a hotel for ordinary business people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

When it comes to service, there is simply no comparison to that of the Mandarin...This is my third stay. I first came in 2010, then again in 2011, and now, once more, in 2013. We typically stay for 2-3 weeks...it literally becomes our home away from home...and what a wonderful home it is...the attention to detail, the above and beyond sometimes simply defies logic...copious amounts of "free" bottled water in the room, fresh fruit every day, beautiful furnishings, staff that call you by your name...the bar has been set, my friends...If you have to come to Jakarta, this is the place to stay...

Room Tip: I always stay in an '03 room...I believe these are the corner suite units...it is nearly as larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

MO-Jakarta is first class. The employees are very attentive to any request one may have. Rooms are a bit dated with ceilings that are very low; I am 6’3” if I were just a couple inches taller my head would actually touch the ceiling. Hotel security is very present as all vehicles are stopped and briefly searched, all bags are run thru x-ray as well as all persons go thru a metal detector. As this was my first trip to Indo, I was surprised by the amount of security at public places.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Four Seasons V Mandarin Oriental

I recently stayed at a hotel chain that has two big name in the world of hospitality, the Four Seasons (FS) Jakarta, and the Mandarin Oriental (MO) Jakarta. I would make the comparison of the experiences stay at FS and MO Jakarta Jakarta. (I am posting this review on the page either FS or MO, on Tripadvisor).

1. Pre-Arrival
I send a lot of emails, remedy consult on service hotel, shuttle to the airport, as well as to other places .... FS and MO gives explanations that are equally detailed, but in his email reply, FS faster (about 1 day), MO wakti reply to email within 3 days.
FS: 9/10
MO: 7/10

2. Arrival at Hotel
FS Jakarta: out of the car many greeted by friendly staff and security, they are all men and senior enough, for extra security, they also had a dog that alerted rottweiler.
Jakarta MO: MO more friendly staff, a mix of young men and women, they smiled more to the guests, more friendly.
FS: 7/10
MO: 9/10

3. Check In Process
FS Jakarta: check in here very efficient, very fast (about 3 minutes), also asked when check out tomorrow, what would the vehicle to its airport, so they can be prepared fleet. The drawback is that we just ushered to the elevator (not up to the room), and no welcome drink. Suitcases up to our room within about 3 minutes after I got to the room.
MO Jakarta: check-in process in MO a little bit longer (about 5 minutes), and we were also given a room facing the roundabout HI (surprise factor). Welcome Drink also given, as well as ushered to the room. Along the way to the room were also an explanation of the hotel, and when he got in the room, was also given an explanation of the room. Suitcases is also sent to the room within 3 minutes after I got in the room.
FS: 7/10
MO: 9/10

4. Room
FS: roomy, comfortable, have a balcony with standard equipment. The rooms are a little old, TV (40 inch) and sound system standard. There is no couch - just lazy chair, and there is only one kind of fruit. Overall not feel luxurious, (for detailed see picture).
MO: almost the same size, but irregular (not rectilinear - corner room) was also comfortable, but with a much more modern equipment. TV (40 inch) sound can be set from the bathroom. In the , room there is also a couch that comes also with a lot of reading and 3 kinds of fruit, (see picture).
FS: 6/10
MO: 9/10

5. Bathroom Amenities
FS: Bathroom amenities comes with L'Occitane Product (this product is a product which is expensive), and when I asked for an additional 1 set, they willingly give it.
MO: I do not know Brands "Archieve", for the amount I think is similar to FS.
FS: 9/10
MO: 6/10

6. Sleep Quality
FS: Beds uncomfortable, because if we move when sleep, then the person next to us also feel, and also covers less smooth.
MO: Perfect, nice beds / pillows / blankets (very smooth-maybe 300 thread count ploh linen?) very comfortable. weakness is less soundproof room (so when the morning was crowded in HI Roundabout, then the sound into the room).
FS: 6/10
MO: 8/10

7. Hotel Grounds
FS: More broadly, with pool / garden that is greater than MO, seem like typical big hotel.
MO: narrow impressed, not even a lobby lounge, a garden there are only around the pool (small size), seem like an apartment (vertical building).
FS: 8/10
MO: 7/10

8. Food and Beverage
Just try to eat breakfast. The menu is the same, there are Indonesian, Chinese, Indian, Western food.
FS: less variation than in MO, but with a much better taste.
MO: more variety (there is also a honeycomb), only the standard sense (there are some delicious).
FS: 9/10
MO: 7/10

9. Hospitality
FS: FS staff more "rigid", more formal, with some security that looks to see where we kept running when in public areas.
MO: MO staff much more friendly, no feeling followed in all area. It makes us comfortable when looking around the hotel area.
FS: 5/10
MO: 9/10

10. Location
FS: Near the office area / Rasuna Said area, no one can see if you want to walk away (must use transport).
MO: In very central of downtown Jakarta, in the HI Roundabout. But still there are weaknesses, not directly to the Grand Indonesia (GI) / Plaza Indonesia (PI).
FS: 6/10
MO: 9/10

11. Practicality / Surpise
FS: No free shuttle to all, (this is in accordance with the information they convey through email).
MO: When I asked earlier (email) as to whether the presence / absence of free shuttle to the shopping mall, they said no. but when I checked in I was informed that now the MO has all private transfers from MO to GI / PI (two ways). It gives a surprise to me, where before I asked the hotel and they said there was no transfer. This is very important, because if it does not transfer it will be very difficult for a guest to MO for GI / PI (Have to cross a busy highway, and in hot conditions). Grand Hyatt / Kempinski / palace in this more practical if you want to GI / PI. Maybe just a bit of advice for MO: free shuttle should not use vendor (Silver Bird), but it's better to use your own vehicle. (Due to the driver who drove me from the hotel to Plaza Indonesia is not very friendly, the driver may be able to expect more money to take guests to a place far away, rather than just get less money, about IDR 40K that can be charged to the hotel by the driver ).
FS: 7/10
MO: 8/10

12. Miscellaneous
FS: they gave me the option to ask what the newspaper in the morning (foreign newspapers / or local) are good choices. I then chose international newspaper, but in the morning there was no newspaper delivered to my room. Turn Down Service: none at this hotel.
MO: They did not ask about the paper in the morning, but they sent it (local newspaper). Turn Down service: yes.
FS: 5/10
MO: 8/10

13. Value/Price
With a price of around USD 170 at FS, compared to USD 187 in MO, the MO priced at a little more expensive. But after all my experience, I think MO more worthed than FS.
FS: 8/10
MO: 8/10


Overall Experience:

-Four Seasons Jakarta
Recommended: Yes, especially i you looking for business hotel in Kuningan Area.
Return To Sleep: Maybe Yes, I love their breakfast :).

-Mandarin Oriental Jakarta
Recommended: Absolutely Yes, more luxurious than FS, MO's bed to die for....
Return To Sleep: Maybe Yes, especially if MO have a direct access to GI/PI.

As usual, I always include photos in each of my reviews on Tripadvisor. - It's Real Review.

Room Tip: High Floor facing HI Roundabout (and National Monument) view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The service was amazing, the property was well maintained, the food was very good and the attentiveness to the special requests of the guests was outstanding. In a part of the world known for good service, the MO is in class above the rest. One night we had arranged dinner at a restaurant beat the hotel and the young hotel staff giving directions could see our confusion so she immediately offered to personally guide us there. It was a good 12 min walk and she could not have been nicer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

My first visit to Jakarta I had the pleasure of staying at the Mandarin Oriental. Room was great with lots of space and view. Staff very friendly and prompt with all requests. I also had access to club lounge on level 21 with complimentary afternoon tea, happy hour and used their efficient check out service on last day. Rita ensured our bags were delivered to the airport to meet us after our meetings. The service at the airport was also fantastic, a staff member to greet me on arrival and two more to assist with luggage and escort our small group right through flight check in.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta

Address: Jl. M.H. Thamrin P.O Box 3392, Jakarta 10310, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#1 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the warmth of Indonesian hospitality and the levels of service for which Mandarin Oriental is renowned, Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta offers exemplary personalised service in luxurious surroundings. Located in the heart of the city, the hotel is an oasis of 21st-century luxury with 272 spacious guest rooms, including 24 suites and a variety of award-winning restaurants and bar concepts, which become the meeting place of choice for hotel guests and the local community. The state-of-the-art meeting and banqueting facilities also provide the best venues for both business and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Mandarin Jakarta
Jakarta Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.