We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. M.H. Thamrin P.O Box 3392, Jakarta 10310, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 345 Hotels in Jakarta
Banalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This is an excellent hotel in heart of Jakarta. I feel it has the most spacious hotel rooms I have ever seen and very tastefully done too. Work desk is huge and nice beverages and chocolates stocked in refrigerator. Buffet breakfast has great veriety and it was a good mix of oriental, continental and Indian dishes. TV had decent collection of popular Indian channels (news and entertainment), which was unexpected. Overall ambience of the hotel (staff, lobbies, reception, rooms, restaurant) is very soothing and fresh. They have ample of security. It is right infront of Grand Indonesia mall (likely biggest mall in Jakarta). This mall has good food court with lots of food options. But I found Thamrin city (10 min walk from hotel) nice place to pick up local Batik clothing and children wear, which was good and cheap.

Room Tip: Went their twice and got excellent rooms both times without asking for choice. Both times I was at h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    125
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
62
106
71
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Remarkably good hotel where the staff are absolutley wonderful, everything from the room service to the bar is world class. In the top three hotels we have ever stayed in. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

One of the best hotels I have stayed in for service and room quality.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I have stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Jakarta recently and was amazed by the level of service and comfort this hotel has to offer.

The building is old from the outside but the hotel has been refurbished and offered everything a business traveller needs.

The rooms are very well appointed and very large. I had a deluxe room monument view on the 15th floor. Plenty of light. Room service quick and efficient but expensive. Very professional concierge assistance.

The swimming pool and fitness area is small but well appointed.

I think this is the best option for Jakarta!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Having stayed here several times since the 1980s, I have to say that overall it is a very good property and you will not regret staying here. The renovation was much needed, especially for the rooms, however the new lobby interior has resulted in a loss of character, especially with the old bar adjacent to the lobby. It appears that the management chose to let all of their (excellent) staff go when they did the renovation, and the new replacements left a lot to be desired. No doubt this will improve with time, however it does demonstrate lack of long term commitment on the part of the management- not a good message to show to anyone that values this sort of thing. Location is very good, one of the best for getting around Jakarta, and Mandarin Oriental is usually a very good choice, however in Jakarta there are other good alternatives.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiong Bahru, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Stayed just one night for business in December. Stayed once before for 2 nights also.

Odd shaped building, and it feels quite low cealings in the rooms (but I am 6'3''). The rooms are huge though, big work desk, huge bed, sofa and loads of floor space. big bathroom with bath and seperate shower cubicle.

Breakfast is excellent, wide ranging and good service.

As with most of the top hotels in Jakarta the security seems good, xray baggege before entering the hotel, cars throughly searched. There is always a Silverbird car or 3 waiting for guests too, so no worries about getting a taxi.

Location really dpends on where you want to be, as traffic is so bad, but it works great for me.

What I was most impressed with was the response after i checked out. I filled in an online survey and pointed out a couple of very minor things. 2 days later I had a personal email from the hotel general manager apologising for the minor issues and letting me know they had fixed the items. Great customer interaction.

My only gripe, you have to pay for wifi access, but I am told that is the same in most hotels in Jakarta.

Am back off there tomorrow night, and looking forwards to my stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
942 reviews 942 reviews
313 hotel reviews
Reviews in 296 cities Reviews in 296 cities
1,344 helpful votes 1,344 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Came back after a year & have to say: now it's just perfect.

We had a stunning "Mandarin Oriental Suite" on 24th floor, huge, luxury - with all the modern amenities of the 21st century such as B&W iPod HiFi, iPod connection of TV... everything. The bathroom, huge with a fantastic rain-shower, as you expect from a 5+* hotel.

The Club lounge on 21st floor: TOP!

And the best, the service of the staff, the concierge...

Location: central as central can be, with tons of good restaurants in walking distance (didn't mind to walk a few meters).

This is one of the Top 10 hotels I've ever stayed, far better than e.g. the “7*” Burj al Arab in Dubai.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta

Address: Jl. M.H. Thamrin P.O Box 3392, Jakarta 10310, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#1 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#1 Family Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the warmth of Indonesian hospitality and the levels of service for which Mandarin Oriental is renowned, Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta offers exemplary personalised service in luxurious surroundings. Located in the heart of the city, the hotel is an oasis of 21st-century luxury with 272 spacious guest rooms, including 24 suites and a variety of award-winning restaurants and bar concepts, which become the meeting place of choice for hotel guests and the local community. The state-of-the-art meeting and banqueting facilities also provide the best venues for both business and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Mandarin Jakarta
Jakarta Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.