We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got a downgraded room & not impressed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Convention Center to your Saves list
Mercure Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Pantai Indah | Ancol Jakarta Baycity, Jakarta 14430, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Glorious 2015 Celebration
Ranked #138 of 331 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Got a downgraded room & not impressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I am looking for a quick staycation and hoping we can enjoy the short holiday inside Ancol.

I booked in accor's website for Grand Deluxe room. I chose it because of the newly renovated room. When I came at 11am, the first reception says the room is not ready yet, if I want an early check in, she suggest to take the Deluxe Ocean.

Knowing the Deluxe Ocean room is still not fully renovated, I politely refuse and will wait for the Grand Deluxe room to be ready and be back at 2pm.

Back at 2pm. Another reception says, that today (the day i came) all the room in the tower (the newly renovated room) is not available, so they had to change our booking to Deluxe Ocean room. The price is similar, they said.

I was so cranky. I still insist but they told me that's the way it is, all the rooms cannot be use until weekend (I came in thursday 15th may) Still hoping we get a good room, even that WE WERE DOWNGRADED!

First look at the deluxe ocean at room 515 they gave me, the only good thing is the view and the big bed (twin bed-each is about 140cm size). Other is disaster. Ants everywhere (dont try to put any food on the table, ants will crawl up from everywhere!), the AC is too noisy and the toilet water is brown!

I dont realize the AC is not in its greatest condition in the night time when we came back from dinner. It is not cold (i set everything to the max-still not helping), I even sweat a bit and the aircon noise is like a horror lullaby stopping us from getting sleepy. I slept at 3am because of it! My 6yo daughter slept at 11pm (she usually sleep at 9).

Maybe I won't be this irritated & cranky if they did not DOWNGRADE MY BOOKING and I felt I'm paying overprice for this disappointment. Maybe I'm also Indonesian, I came in no makeup & all sweat (was jogging in ecopark before coming) so they can treat us like that?.

While other get an upgraded room, well this hotel is giving me the opposite service. I felt so tricked!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Cicha Z,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for taking your valuable time and sharing your comments on the TripAdvisor. We are concerned and apologetic to find out the inconvenient situation you have experienced during your stay with us. We have already taken note of your concerns regarding the check-in process, room arrangement, and also the AC condition to our respective teams for their kind and immediate evaluation and follow up for future improvement.

Once again thank you so much for your kind review and please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused by this matter.

Hopefully we could welcome you back to our property with a better service than before.


Sincerely yours,


Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    155
    180
    58
    33
See reviews for
246
57
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manado, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Family room is very spacious, great for our family with 2 young children. We were given the corner pool/sea view room. Excellent! Staff were friendly. Room service was average. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Mr. FerdyDenny_Tulong,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for your kind feedback during your stay with us. We are very happy to see the results given, and learned that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We have shared the result with the rest of the team who are surely more motivated in giving better service than before.

Once again thank you and look forward to seeing you and your family again on the next visit.


Sincerely yours,


Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gili Trawangan, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Knew this Hotel since it was named Horison (Horizon) Ancol. been stayed here couple of times with family since i was in kindergarten. One of the once famous hotel in Northern part of Jakarta . Couple days ago, i stayed here again for a short 1 night stay with a couple of friend. From outside (exterior) you can still see the old building looks (hhmmm... i wonder how the interior looked like). The securities in the gate didn't even asked us where are we going, considered we arrived around 17:00 and only wear slippers, short and a backpack (quite different from any 5 stars hotel / resort in Jakarta or Bali). When we arrived in the doorstep, there is another security check which they only scan our bag as a formality since we can go through directly. And so we entered the Lobby with no doorman opened the door(if i am not mistaken, there should be at least 1 doorman standing by). Still with the same feeling when i stayed here years ago. The front desk staff was quite friendly, but missed to explain our benefit. Off we go to the bed room. The hallway should have more lights since it was quite dark. Entered the room, and wow.... so much different than we've expected. It has a modern style furniture... The bed, the fridge (or maybe we can call a cooler), the sofa, the writing table, bed side table and lamp, safety box, bathroom shower, toilet and sink, are all modern style. Lot's of power outlet sockets too which is good since i have always concerned about this everywhere i traveled. But i still don't understand why they have the usb, audio, and other connection outlet on the wall next to the TV while they don't provide the item in the room?. A/C is working properly. But wi-fi connection is not really good. No room directory, only room service menu and a letter size paper. Have a looked at the window, direct sea view (guess we are staying in a sea view room), but the window glass is not properly clean, and it still use the door security slot (the chain) for security while we can't even open the window.
Down to the restaurant, really quite considered it was only around 19:00 when we bump up with one staff there and ask whether we can have a table outside. He asked "what do you want to order, sir" and i said "maybe some dinner or just a couple of drinks", and he said "sure, you can sit here, wait". Then we sat. Took about 10 minutes before another staff bring us the menu. We ordered some drinks and a snack, and when i ask my friend whether he want to have dinner here, the staff answered "if you want to eat seafood, there is a nice place outside the hotel at the roundabout". Knew that place, been there and it is quite far from the Hotel while there are no shuttle to go nor bike to rent. So we decided to just have our snack and drinks and off to the next door fast food.
Back to the room around 22:00, took a shower before went to the bed. The hot water runs very well (loved it). Try to make a cup of tea before sleep. You can see some ants playing around the coffee and tea tray area (a bit annoying but it's OK). Sleep quite well later that night.

The next morning woke up around 08:00, took shower and had breakfast. Lot's of option and a bit full of people considered the night before was quite or you may call empty. Ordered a scrambled egg from the egg station which come plain (no taste no veggies), just plain.

After breakfast, my friends decided to go for a swim. The pool is great, with a kids pool with slides and small water park theme. But it wasn't really clean since you can see some dead leaves in the water.

My suggestion is, should you decide to go to Ancol and wanted to stay with a bit of modern touch, stay here. If not, stay somewhere else in the area. With a new property coming in the neighborhood, Mercure should restore the building and concept.

Room Tip: try to ask on a high floor sea view, if you want quite and a nice view especially during the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Taufik-Hidayah,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor and for sharing your experience and concerns with us. We are apologetic to find out that during your stay here the levels of our hotel staff performance and service were less than satisfactory. We have passed these to each of the department concerns for their thorough and immediate follow up, including regarding the room condition, WiFi connection, benefits and restaurant information given, and breakfast quality. All of these surely will be reviewed and evaluated by our department concerns for better service development and quality improvement.

Kindly inform you that for the time being our hotel is successively reconstructing in all areas, including the guestrooms, bathrooms, and the facilities in each of the rooms for a freshly renovated improvement and for increasing more guests' satisfaction.

Once again thank you so much for sharing the information as knowing directly from our guest is our most powerful tool to achieve excellence. Hopefully we could welcome you back with a better service than before.


Kindest Regards,



Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christmas Island, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Family room is very spacious, great for our family with 3 young children. We were given the corner pool/sea view room. Excellent! Staff were friendly. Room service was average. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Sultan S,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for your wonderful words and it is our pleasure to know that the accommodation, facilities, and the staff services here have truly met your expectations. We will surely share this great news with the rest of the team as we believe your comments will definitely encourage them to deliver a better service even more.

Once again thank you so much for your kind feedback, and we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family again in the near future.


Sincerely yours,


Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in this hotel because it is close to the marina where we were taking a boat the next morning. We had to change our booking on the day as our flight got cancelled coming to Jakarta. They were very accommodation and even upgrading us. The room was very spacious and a great view on the water. We did not have breakfast there. Service behind the counter was very helpful. We had a very nice lunch there although a bit expensive. I definitely would recommend it. The downside is u have to pay to get into a reserved area before arriving to hotel. It is close to amusement park if u have kids.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Mr. Alainrlg,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for sharing your review on your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your positive feedback regarding our hospitality service here. We sincerely apologize for the entrance fee to Ancol Area. Unfortunately our hotel is not under the same management with Ancol. Hotel is giving 2 complimentary tickets for the guest and 1 complimentary ticket for the vehicle per room per day during the guest's stay, right after the check-in process done at the reception desk. This is to avoid the misuse of the tickets by those who cancel the reservation with us on the arrival day.

Once again thank you so much for your kind review and please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused by this matter.

Hopefully we could welcome you back to our property with a better service than before.


Sincerely yours,



Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udon Thani, Thailand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel was not nice breath in the room. Bath tub was not provided while it shown on reservation making for Grand Deluxe room type. We come with two children and the reception not even offer the baby cot or more bed. The swimming pool was cleaning even we need to join the kid's pool at 11.00 pm.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Suriya C,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for taking your time to write us your input during your stay with us. We are truly sorry that your stay here did not meet your expectations; please accept our sincerest apologies for that. We have taken notes on your concerns to our Dept Head and Team for their review, evaluation, and future improvement.

Once again thank you very much for the feedback, and hopefully we could welcome you back to our property.


Thank you & Kindest Regards,


Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Convention Center

Address: Jl. Pantai Indah | Ancol Jakarta Baycity, Jakarta 14430, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jakarta
#49 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#67 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Convention Center is the International hotel in Jakarta that offer travellers a tranquil overlooking beachfront setting and the comfortable of holiday ambiance with sunset over the open sea. Located on the exciting Ancol Dreamland Park, Mercure Convention Center being an iconic seaside destination boasting such an attractions for the Fantasy World, Oceanarium, Arts & Crafts, Jet Ski, Skylift cable car and many more. The hotel is only 20-minute drive from the International airport and 15 minutes from Jakarta business district. There is no greater or more private address to host events with stature. Whether large or small meetings, business or social event or intimate wedding arrangement, our dedicated team caters every element necessary for memorable date and sustained up to 2,000 seating capacities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Convention Center Ancol Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Mercure Hotel Jakarta
Accor Convention Centre Ancol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.