We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Convention Center to your Saves list
Mercure Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Pantai Indah | Ancol Jakarta Baycity, Jakarta 14430, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Glorious 2015 Celebration
Ranked #138 of 332 Hotels in Jakarta
Surabaya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is my first time stayed at mercure ancol, beacuse this hotel has good location and near the MEIS ancol. But it was very dissapointing.
1. the first of all was no smile from all staff.
2. the room was very outdated. not enough light inside the room. so, by the time at night you have to walk around your room in the dark.
3. the bathroom was dissapointing. shower didn't work properly, toilet didn't flush very well, the bathtub crakced, the sink was dirty by the first time i got in to the room and also lots of something like mosquito flying around in the bathroom and in bedroom (esp. bathroom). Rust everywhere.
4. The bed linen was not neatly. a bit smelly.
5. is this hotel did not provide minibar in the room? because no minibar in my room and the fridge was empty.
6. Bath Towel was a total dissapointing. small, looks very old and the color was faded. i was stayed with 2 kids. when i asked for an extra towel, their answer was now they are doing a green action for the environment, and only can give 2 towel each room. but they can change it when it got wet.
7. when i called for a room service, the staff was talking with his friend while he was on the phone with me?!?! That was totally unacceptable.
8. Express taxi in this hotel was a total dissaster. if you go somewhere inside Ancol from Mercure using this taxi, it will cost you 25.000 rupiah. meanwhile from the same spot where you go, to go back to the hotel only cost you 10.000 rupiah using other taxi. And seems the concierge staff team up with the taxi driver to cost you 25.000 rupiah.

And at the end of our stay, i was checking out at front office. also at that time the reception phone was ringing. He didn't serve me, but answering the phone! without noticing me in front of him. so i have to wait more time for him answering the phone first.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Nogenmania,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for the information given and please accept our deepest apology for the inconvenient situation you have experienced during your stay with us. We have taken notes in regards to the staff’s behavioral performance, bedroom and bathroom condition and cleanliness you’ve encountered. We have made sure to share your feedback with all team concerned for their review and evaluation, especially on the staff performance. Assessment is continuously reviewed for their service development and quality improvement to our guests.

Kindly inform you, too, that our hotel is successively doing renovations in all areas, including the guestrooms and its facilities, and we do hope you could enjoy the new room on your next trip here. Once again thank you so much for your valuable review and hopefully could welcome you and your family back to our property.

Sincerely yours,

Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    156
    181
    58
    33
See reviews for
247
57
23
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pontianak, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

i slept at this hotel for 3 days, what a standard services. Guest services and operator accept my phones without voice from deep a heart and sounds a fake like conversation, all staff services without honestly services aand smile, but i can accept that. Swimming pool very good facilities unless without a soap or shampoo. I think mercure must learn from other 4 stars service like at malaysia

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Bapak RachmadF,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

We are concerned and apologetic to find out the inconvenient situation you have experienced during your stay with us. We have made sure to share your feedback with the concerned manager, especially regarding the staff performance and to ensure this is resolved immediately by giving more training to the staff for their service development and quality improvement.

Once again thank you for your valuable review and hopefully could welcome you back to our property.

Kindest Regards,

Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I found this place quite peaceful beside that the facilities access is so easy. You dont feel much to ask the staff much about that, it seems like things flowing in sequence. Well staying a few days out of city while living in it too, its a great place for going out in the evening for cycling. Having fun and enjoy the exposure to meet people around.

Room Tip: Choose the ocean side and FYI the building is old bcz this hotel is quite an old one, i heard local...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear MianAtif,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for your kind valuable feedback. Hope we could keep up our improvement on the service and hospitality for you and your family's satisfaction.

Look forward to welcoming you back to our property.


Sincerely yours,

Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Yesterday, as walk-in arrived in mercure ancol. We had a free upgrade, but the room was still very disappointing: outdated (especially the bathroom), really needs a renovation, temperature of the shower was not working properly, toilet didn't flush very well, wifi was not working on the 7th floor, nor in the lobby. Airco didn't work and sounded like an airplane lifting up, so we decided to turn it off in the night, but the airco-machines outside made a lot of noice too. We were tired and found out these things a little late in the evening, otherwise i would have asked for another room, although i think the rooms were in similar state. Not the standard I am used to from Mercure. With the check out nobody asked how our stay was and i didn't feel the need to share my bad experience.
Positive is the view you have on the ocean and the breakfast, other then that i can not mention anything.

Room Tip: From the 3th floor you can overlook the trees that wiol block your view to the ocean. Rooms next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Martine B,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for your time to share your experience during your recent stay with us. We sincerely regret the inconvenience you have experienced. For the time being our hotel is reconstructing in all areas consecutively, including the guestrooms and bathrooms for a freshly renovated improvement. Our hotel is also doing water and AC maintenance for our guests’ comfort in the future.

Our deepest apology as well for our staff’s inattention that makes you feel more uncomfortable during the check out. We have taken notes on this one, too, for our evaluation and improvement.

Once again thank you for the review and the time spent in posting your comments for the chance given to us to be better in the future. Look forward to seeing you and your beloved one again on the next stay with us.

Kindest Regards,
Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Convention Center

Address: Jl. Pantai Indah | Ancol Jakarta Baycity, Jakarta 14430, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jakarta
#49 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#67 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Convention Center is the International hotel in Jakarta that offer travellers a tranquil overlooking beachfront setting and the comfortable of holiday ambiance with sunset over the open sea. Located on the exciting Ancol Dreamland Park, Mercure Convention Center being an iconic seaside destination boasting such an attractions for the Fantasy World, Oceanarium, Arts & Crafts, Jet Ski, Skylift cable car and many more. The hotel is only 20-minute drive from the International airport and 15 minutes from Jakarta business district. There is no greater or more private address to host events with stature. Whether large or small meetings, business or social event or intimate wedding arrangement, our dedicated team caters every element necessary for memorable date and sustained up to 2,000 seating capacities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Convention Center Ancol Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Mercure Hotel Jakarta
Accor Convention Centre Ancol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.