We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ACCOR Should ashamed to have property like this” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Convention Center to your Saves list
Mercure Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Pantai Indah | Ancol Jakarta Baycity, Jakarta 14430, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Glorious 2015 Celebration
Ranked #138 of 332 Hotels in Jakarta
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“ACCOR Should ashamed to have property like this”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This Hotel located in the Area of Taman Wisata Jaya Ancol. Start from the main entrance we got very bad impression, the person how in charge in the entrance locket ask us to pay even we already got confirmation note from this hotel and we also attended an event that held in this hotel. it is not the matter of money but more of how do they treated the guest. i was arguing about that and the entrance men said "there is no aggrement between the mercure hotel with Taman Impian Jaya Ancol", what's an answer! it very weird if you have a property in one area an didn't have any aggrement with the area management. I forced to go to the hotel to make a complaint. in the front office, one of the front office officer named Ahmad met me, but he also did nothing even he wasn't make apology. He just say " This is a rule from the Management, and i am only a worker here, and i could do nothing to help you".
fortunately there was a Guest Relation Officer named Nuraini, that more helpful and handled my complaint. She gave me a note that explained the attendant of the event should not pay anything when they pass the Main Entrance of Taman Impian Jaya Ancol. I bet it was something Tricky here, the main entrance played to make money for them, or the Management of Taman Impian Jaya Ancol do it, so they will get double of the Income from the hotel and also from the guest. After i gave them the note, with no guilty feeling at all they allowed me to enter without paying. what's a hack! think about how many they will got from the guest who to polite to complaint. surely it is a kind of corruption!
The room was old, and not well maintained. the carpet felt dusty under my feet. the furniture was full with scratch and it need a renovation.
The Bathroom is small, but they provide a bathtub. there was many stain in the Bathtub and washing basin. and the the water tap is full with rust. the water also worst, it colored yellowish and the hot water did not flow constantly. there was no hot water between 5-6 am and 5-7 pm.
they provide a white towel but with many stain on it.
The service is terrible, i did not find any ACCOR HOSPITALITY in it. even the worker did not give any greeting when they pass by the guest. or Maybe the Word HOSPITALITY mean different for the Mercure Ancol, who knows!
The Breakfast was also Terrible, lack of varieties and they serve a low quality sausage, ham, and fruit. I found a rotten Salak in their fruit. what's a 4 star standart! the best thing in the Breakfast area is they provide a full automatic Coffe Machine.
The ACCOR Group should be Ashamed to run and have a property like this. it did not match any ACCOR Standart in anyway.
I will never recommend anyone to stay in this hotel. Stay away or you will regret it.
better you find another htel if you want to stay in Ancol area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Harinatha,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor.

We are concerned and deeply apologetic to know the service problem you have encountered during your stay with us. Please allow us to express our most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

We have taken notes on this and surely pass this over to the department concerns for their further review and improvements.

Once again thank you for your concern to this matter and the time spent in posting your comments for the chance given to us to be better in the future.

Sincerely yours,
Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    156
    181
    58
    33
See reviews for
247
57
23
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bandung, Indonesia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

good location and great pool (mini waterpark) for your kids
Good hotel especially for young family because the room is large enough (especially for the sofa in the room) and the ocean view great, my cons : never accept the ocean view room in 2nd floor because the your view to the ocean totally block by the hotel roof so You can't see anything.
Restaurant Tip: You can visit sea food restaurant near the hotel called "Bandar Jakarta" or "Seaside Suki" both are pretty good restaurant with good view and taste, note these restaurant are very full in the weekend

Room Tip: Ocean view better than City view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear 123hazet,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for your valuable feedback and positive comments given. Our apologies as well for the inconvenience may cause. Your concern is ours to follow up.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Overall this hotel quite good. We stay 2 nights with indulgence package. the food is great. we order diner from room service is very good. the facilty is okay as we dont really use it except the swimming pool. the staff is very good. however there are 3 things that i think they have to improve.
1. I made a booking 5 weeks in advance for connecting room. but was separate by different floor 9 and 6! this is very difficult for family. was told by the staff hotel is full. :( anyhow they do upgrade one of the room.
2. the hotel room is quite small and dark. i have difficulty to read when i was in the room. i still bear with the space but not the lights. please make it brighter. i know the hotel is under refurbishment and hopefully that can resolved this issue.
3. Spa staff at lobby make a promised to call back for treatment never come back with any call. we ask for massage service for two. been told that its full at the spa and may come over to the room but they will call us to confirm. we give room number and they said will call. unfortunately until next day they never come back and say anything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Therisk I,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for the feedback and our apology for the inconvenience caused.

We surely pass this over to the department concerns for their kind thorough follow up and for your future comfort.

Once again thank you for your kind concern to this matter and look forward to seeing you again to our property.

Best Regards,
Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Short stay and got upgraded room for same price. Would stay there again. Convenient location for kota and ereveld ancol. Padding to make up 200 characters. Padding to make up 200 characters. Padding to make up 200 characters

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCCAncol, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, November 21, 2014
Dear Tjeerdijk,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for your kind review and feedback, and our sincere apology for the delay. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments surely motivate our staff to deliver a better service even more.

Once again thank you so much and we truly look forward to seeing you again on the next visit.

Sincerely yours,


Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My children loves many things about Ancol so we've stayed in this hotel many times. Frankly speaking, we always stayed in this hotel because for us it is the only option for a good hotel in the Ancol area. Thankfully, even though they didn't have real competitors in there (one other hotel was shut down a couple of years ago) they still maintained good quality service. Since we've stayed there many times, we've experienced the clean and modern rooms with superb quality, and have also experienced the outdated, not so clean rooms (where some essentials aren't working properly).
The children enjoyed the swimming pool very much, and the breakfast buffet is also quite nice, many delicious menus to choose from including the very traditional herb drinks.
I do hope they improve their room qualities and it would definitely be much better if they also have rooms that are not wall to wall carpets. The way I see it, is that with wall to wall carpet, it's harder to keep the rooms clean since it's in the beach area.. where it gets dusty quite easily.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Tjabe,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for staying with us and for the feedback given as well. Our hotel is actually in the process of doing rooms renovation for your comfortable and enjoyable stay with us in the future.

Once again thank you for the time spent in posting your comments. Your kind advice is surely ours to follow up.

Look forward to having you back at the property.

Warmest,
Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just been there yesterday. Lobby looked quite nice just like my usual accorhotels experiences… going upstairs corridors look good, but wait until you enter the rooms… Shabby & old furniture with unclean feeling of the rooms… My 2 Ocean View rooms not so ocean view after all… from our (only) cemented balcony we could see straight in front of us huge plastic roof of what supposed to be a permanent place for the hotel event.
My worst nightmare is when I entered the bathroom & the toilet seat was covered all over with urine (some already dry & some still wet) . I asked them to cleaned it & with good gesture the staff came quite fast. After we got the second room at 8pm we check that the bathroom is clean but just as the other room it got a dirty feeling especially after you look at the peeled bathtub , dirty table, & old towels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Putrinyale,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for the feedback given to us and our apology for the inconvenience caused.

We surely pass this over to the department concerns for their kind thorough follow up.

Once again thank you for the concern to this matter and the time spent in posting your comments for the chance given to us to be better in the future.

Best Regards,
Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on my very first trip to Indinesia and overall experience was fine. The hotel is little away from city center and actually in separate locality of Ancol which happens to be an interesting place itself as had many spots ffor beach activities, hotels etc so you have fun exploring that area. enterance is certainly for limited people as they have fee unless you are staying in Ancol. Buffet breakfast was good and room was spacious too...I was upgraded to the one with ocean view as I requested on check-in so that was really nice.
Overall experience was fine but I would try something else in my next trip as yet to know more about the area and hotel there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Cancerian76,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you so much for the review given. We truly appreciate it and look forward to seeing you back at the property really soon.

Warmest,
Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Convention Center

Address: Jl. Pantai Indah | Ancol Jakarta Baycity, Jakarta 14430, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jakarta
#49 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#67 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Convention Center is the International hotel in Jakarta that offer travellers a tranquil overlooking beachfront setting and the comfortable of holiday ambiance with sunset over the open sea. Located on the exciting Ancol Dreamland Park, Mercure Convention Center being an iconic seaside destination boasting such an attractions for the Fantasy World, Oceanarium, Arts & Crafts, Jet Ski, Skylift cable car and many more. The hotel is only 20-minute drive from the International airport and 15 minutes from Jakarta business district. There is no greater or more private address to host events with stature. Whether large or small meetings, business or social event or intimate wedding arrangement, our dedicated team caters every element necessary for memorable date and sustained up to 2,000 seating capacities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Convention Center Ancol Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Mercure Hotel Jakarta
Accor Convention Centre Ancol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.