We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot water was very dirty and smelt very bad..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Convention Center to your Saves list
Mercure Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Pantai Indah | Ancol Jakarta Baycity, Jakarta 14430, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Glorious 2015 Celebration
Ranked #139 of 332 Hotels in Jakarta
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    155
    181
    58
    33
See reviews for
247
57
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Room is a bit old adn A/C take long time to cool the room. Toilet also a bit smell and the drain is not very fast. The swimming pool has 2 giant slide (so can provide water park thrill for smaller children).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for your kind review. I ensure you that this will be addressed to the department concerns for their thorough follow up and action.

Thank you and look forward to your next coming to the property.

Warmest,
Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The location was quite difficult to reach because I should entry the area of Ancol theme park which is I should pay for it.
The service was poor. I checked in at 4 o'clock in the afternoon because the housekeeping took to much time for cleaning up the room.
The water was unclean because they had trouble with the heater.
For all reasons above I think the rate is a little too expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Sir,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for your kind review and suggestion given. I ensure you that this will be addressed to the department concerns for their thorough follow up and action.

Thank you for the time spent in posting your comments for the chance you are giving us to be better in the future.

Look forward to your next coming to the property.

Warmest,
Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for a couple of days before heading East towards Bali. This is probably one of the best hotels in Jakarta, because of the heavy traffic in the city. Since Mercure is located in the theme park Ancol, there is less traffic, and it's actually possible to walk here.

The park itself has some kind of attractions such as a waterland. I guess kids will love it. There is a nice beachwalk with a couple of cosy restaurants, however not that many. My suggestion is that you don't stay in Jakarta more than needed. Take the train East to Bali instead.

However, if you decide to stay in Jakarta, Mercure is a good choice. It's a huge hotel with a nice pool including two slides. You can use the gym next door for free. Please note that you have to pay entrance fee first time you enter the park, but it's not that expensive and you can ask for entrance voucher in the reception. Take a Blue Bird taxi if you want to go somewhere else, there is a taxi stand just outside the main entrance to the hotel (to the right).

The room was not ready when we arrived, but we didn't care, just left our luggage in the reception and went for a walk in the park. When we're back, we got upgraded to a superior room with ocean view, a nice surprise. However, the water in the tap and shower had a hint of yellow. Obviously a general problem at that floor, but the duty manager was extremely helpful. We agreed on getting compensated by having free breakfast buffet (which was awesome!). The duty manager also sent us a fruit basket because of the inconvenience, very thoughtful. We were also provided with complimentary bottled water.

The hotel has a restaurant, but it's very pricy. It's a better idea to take a stroll at the beach walk, and eat at some of the restaurants there. I wouldn't recommend to take a taxi to go somewhere else, since you may end up in a traffic jam. Sorry, but that's how Jakarta is. The traffic is destroying it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are pleased to know that you do enjoy your stay with us.

Look forward to having you back at the property.

Warmest,
Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night, because it is very close to the MEIS concert bulding in Ancol area, so we decide to stay there to avoid traffic. We were checked in at the hotel around 3.30 p.m, but we still have to wait in the lobby, because our rooms are not ready yet. After almost an hour of waiting and almost bloated by their welcome drinks, the check in staffs said our rooms are cleaned, but there is some problem with the plumbing in one of the bathroom. Since we get 2 connecting rooms, we said it's Ok for the plumber to worked in one bathroom, since we have another bathroom to use. Because we are tired and soon have to get ready to go to the concert, we checked in to the room. The interior of the room are brand new, rooms are clean, but soon we found out, the wood tiled room floor are not clean, our feet's sole are dirty with the dust. maybe it was never mopped. and soon we discovered, our room's interior are brand new, but the bathrooms are old! They're still using the same bathtub, closet, all sanitary equipment from more than 2-3 decades ago, that was the time when the hotel's name is Horizon Hotel. The water from water tap/shower are yellow, so we have to let it flow for more than 2 minutes and wait until it was clear enough for showering. So sad we have to waste so much water. since we have to save water for the sake of our environment. This hotel really have to invest on a good water purifier. Then very early in the morning I experience the unthinkable accident from the WC. After I flushed the toilet, the water and everything inside flowed out of its bowl, instead of sucked the water inside. It was horrible sight, all the things inside that toilet was burst out, flowing into the whole bathroom floor. I called the maintenance staff immediately and luckily the staffs are very helpful. I told them to work very quietly, since most of my friends are still sleeping. Half an hour after that the maintenance & cleaning staff left our room, the bathroom are cleaned and the toilet bowl are good, like nothing ever happened before.
I have a mixed experience from this hotel, but luckily.. they have a friendly and eager to help Staffs to save this hotel from my bad review..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Sir,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

We truly appreciate the positive comment given. We truly understand your condition and to minimize further inconvenience, our hotel is in the process of doing the water maintenance thoroughly for your comfort in the future.

Once again thank you for your support in staying with us. Look forward to welcoming you back to our property.

Best Regards,
Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Convention Center

Address: Jl. Pantai Indah | Ancol Jakarta Baycity, Jakarta 14430, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jakarta
#49 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#67 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Convention Center is the International hotel in Jakarta that offer travellers a tranquil overlooking beachfront setting and the comfortable of holiday ambiance with sunset over the open sea. Located on the exciting Ancol Dreamland Park, Mercure Convention Center being an iconic seaside destination boasting such an attractions for the Fantasy World, Oceanarium, Arts & Crafts, Jet Ski, Skylift cable car and many more. The hotel is only 20-minute drive from the International airport and 15 minutes from Jakarta business district. There is no greater or more private address to host events with stature. Whether large or small meetings, business or social event or intimate wedding arrangement, our dedicated team caters every element necessary for memorable date and sustained up to 2,000 seating capacities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Convention Center Ancol Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Mercure Hotel Jakarta
Accor Convention Centre Ancol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.