We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in an overwhelming city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Jakarta MidPlaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Jakarta MidPlaza to your Saves list
InterContinental Jakarta MidPlaza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Jend. Sudirman Kav 10 - 11, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia (Tanah Abang)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #17 of 332 Hotels in Jakarta
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“An oasis in an overwhelming city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

It's a little surreal to stay in such a luxurious hotel when visiting Jakarta. It's one of the largest urban areas in the world, and the majority of its citizens still live in third-world conditions. The water is unsafe to drink, and and in many places the sewers are still open. Yet within the city limits you'll find a Grand Hyatt, a JW Marriott, a couple of Ritz-Carltons and the subject of this review, the Intercontinental Midplaza.

We booked a club room for our stay; they're located on the 12th and 14th floors (the lounge is on the 14th as well). The lounge serves a modest buffet breakfast, but they'll also make you virtually anything you want in addition for no extra fee. The only problem I had with the lounge was that our room (on the 12th floor) was located directly underneath its hardwood floors...waking up at 2am to the sound of floor buffers isn't exactly conducive to a good night's sleep, but after we called to complain once, we never heard it again throughout our week-long stay. That's service.

Our particular room was absolutely enormous...well over 1000 square feet in size, most of which was taken up by a combination living/sleeping area that featured a huge curved wall of windows, a 46" LCD TV, a couch and those wonderful Intercontinental beds. Everything was clinically clean, and the dark wood wall behind the bed combined with the olive carpet to add a touch of Balinese flavor.

The bathroom was similarly impressive, with dual vanities, a sizable soaking tub and a separate glassed-in shower. Lots of marble everywhere, which isn't my personal preference, but is of course preferred by many hotels for its generic "luxury" look.

Scusa, the Italian restaurant on-site, was fantastic. Wonderful pastas and risottos, and excellent service. Java, the Balinese buffet restaurant, was rather disappointing...subpar food, extremely heavy-handed service and a total lack of atmosphere. There's also a handy convenience store, wine shop and wine bar on the basement level of the hotel.

It goes without saying that the area outside the hotel is, by and large, unsafe for tourists to wander through...however, taxis in Jakarta are extremely cheap (just make sure to stick with Blue Bird and Silver Bird cars). The hotel is also able to provide private cars for guests at a tiny fraction of the price of similar services in America.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    211
    47
    17
    11
See reviews for
35
45
62
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Was there for a short stopover.
Overall experience was pleasant.
Definately worth paying the price for a five stars hotel like this.

Will be back again if I would stop by Jakarta :)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for just one night, I was that annoyed at the staff so I checked out and moved to the Hyatt.

As anyone can understand in jakarta there is a need for security at there hotels but at this one it is a complete joke and a real inconvenience to the guests, there is only one entrance in to the hotel so if your on foot you practically have to walk around the hole exterior to gain access to the hotel, then you have to walk through one set of security just to be confronted with another set of security, however if this is not annoying enough then the simple fact that this is just for show and inconvenience, several times I observed people just walking straight in without being stopped, and only cursory pointless check being done. The simple fact is that this type of security does not reduce any risk at all, its just simply there to appease the publics or guests perception.

Other issues at this hotel are the staff, its always a struggle to communicate with most of them only speaking limited english, when you ask them for anything they just stare at you with that Blank face!

When issues were brought up to assistant manager he did nothing but defend the hotel, when they were advised of my early check-out, again no response from anyone, they just dont care and maybe hope you just go away, I know it is a cultural thing in Indo that they avoid any conflict at all costs.

There is only 3 lifts servicing the hotel and they are very very slow, so be prepared to wait.

There is only synthetic pillows in the rooms so if you like feather then you have to order off a pillow menu, again be prepared to wait for something that should be standard in a intercon hotel.

On the positive side the rooms are good, bathrooms good, water pressure good, bed was also very good and I quite like the location its close to where I need to be. Anyway I cant recommend staying at this hotel the Hyatt is far better.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICJakarta, Manager at InterContinental Jakarta MidPlaza, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Dear JamesVki,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at InterContinental MidPlaza Jakarta. We are sorry that you felt the need to check out from our hotel as a result of what you consider to be unnecessary security precautions. I would like to point out that this was the reason that you gave in your email correspondence with us on the subject. You state in that email that you dislike our property because we only have one pedestrian entrance whereas Grand Hyatt has multiple entrances and exits.

The safety and security of our customers remains a paramount priority for us and we will take the necessary measures to ensure that we safeguard our hotel. Jakarta has sadly experienced incidents in the past and all of our procedures are implemented after consultation with and recommendations from security experts both within our company as well as our international security consultants. We prevented you from accessing our property via a vehicle exit point and asked you to use the pedestrian entrance. The walk to the pedestrian entrance required a journey of an additional 20 metres. Our Duty Manager was entirely correct in informing you that we do not intend to change this practice. The majority of our customers work for global multi-national companies who require that strict security precautions are in place. It is on the basis of our security systems and procedures that we secure their business. It is of course entirely your prerogative to choose where you want to stay but since the procedures that you complained about are exactly the reason that our major clients choose us and feel secure with us then it is our intention to keep them in place.

We acknowledge your comments regarding our lifts. We did in fact carry out a lift replacement in 2009 and all our passenger lifts were changed with brand new cabins. You made no reference in your email to the general standard of English in our hotel and referred only to the fact that you had some challenges communicating with one of our security guards. I think this would be a challenge in most hotels in Jakarta. Finally we checked our records and can find no request to change pillows so we are unclear why you say the pillow delivery service was slow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
379 helpful votes 379 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

I can’t comment on respective location to sites etc as the trip was a quick in and out but the service and quality was terrific.

The hotel was very busy, and without asking, I was given a room upgrade and they upgraded my car transfer to the airport as well. The room was very roomy by modern hotel standards and there were no hiccups with the internet, check-in, hot water etc.

The staff was very friendly and the room service mean, ordered because all was on the run, was very good. Jakarta seems a groovy city and I hope to return soon. When I do, I’ll most certainly stay at the Intercontinental.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

I have stayed in this Hotel in June, July, October for my business trip.

This is a nice hotel which is located next to our office so this is our obvious Choice.

I have stayed at many hotels over the years, but this Hotel makes me more like a home. Right from airport pick-up service, check-in to Hotel, Breakfast and Rooms all are well done. Breakfast at Java restuarant, watching a sport at Bachus Sports bar was a good experience.

There is also, Tennis court where I used to play with my fellow colleagues is also nice advantage giving us some activity out of work.

Flip side of the Hotel is it is often crowded with Guests or very popular Ball room for local weddings. Bit pricey at Sports bar but it is well worth if you are watching a favourite game on the big screen.

I recommend this hotel if you are looking stay at Central Jakarta for a business traveller.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Intercontinental Jakarta Midplaza is about 30+ minutes from the airport, 30-40 minutes from the JIExpo (about 60,000 rupiah by taxi), and 5-10 minutes from the Plaza Indonesia shopping center (about 15,000 rupiah by taxi). The level under the lobby has a small convenience store, a wine shop, and some cafes and the Midplaza center connected to the hotel has a Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf and a few shops. I wouldn't recommend walking around in the area outside of the hotel.

Transportation: Take a Blue Bird or Silver Bird taxi (insist on it). Jakarta has very reasonable pricing on taxis and it's the best way to get around. Traffic is VERY bad and unpredictable, so keep that in mind if you have to be somewhere on time.

Staff: Most of the hotel staff are English-speaking and very nice. Didn't have any problems.

Security: Hotel has checkpoints for vehicles entering as well as scanners and metal detectors at all entrances. Your room key only allows access to the floor you're on as well as the floors with public areas.

Rooms: Beds are very comfortable. Our spacious room on the 12th floor was directly under the Club, so there were a lot of footsteps during the hours it was open. If you're a light sleeper and are staying on the 12th floor make sure you're not under the Club. The room curtains do a pretty good job of keeping light out. Wired and wireless internet available, if a little slow. There was a little room in the minibar fridge for your own stuff.

Things to Do: "The Big Durian," as Jakarta is also called, has some tourism but it's generally a working city. There are many museums (the hotel has a pamphlet with a list available). Plaza Indonesia is a nice upscale shopping center near the hotel with many, many dining options. Taman Mini Indonesia Indah is a cultural-based recreational area right outside of Jakarta that has areas for a variety of Indonesian provinces, museums, etc.

Restaurants: Hotel buffet was ok, but the staff was overly attentive. Hotel Italian restaurant Scusa is very, very good. They sent us to another restaurant outside of the hotel called Lara Djonggrang and that was very good (especially the fried softshell crab) with a cool atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

I usually not choosing intercontinental as my primary business hotel in Jakarta but I had several stays at this hotel this year -usually when my chosen hotel is fully booked-. This hotel, as always, gives a near-perfect experience. Nice location (Near to anywhere, but quite enough to relax), If you like restaurant-style food, you can go to citiwalk/mall beside this hotel but if you like cheap or traditional food you can pick one of some traditional food stall in front of this hotel, on your way to citiwalk.

Room, as always, is clean and have a relaxing atmosphere, big 42" LCD TV is wonderful, bathroom is nice, and bed is great. This hotel has a 'pillow menu' where we can choose whatever type of pillow we want. If you feel that you need special amenities, just dial room service and they come in a minute with your request. Perfect room service.... Breakfast & Restaurant was nice, - a 5* standard - and Lobby ambiance is great.

The only but with this hotel (even after my several visits) is front desk, which took me so long to find my reservation & check in, compared with other 5* hotel. Keep asking for ID card (well, I came here before, shouldn't the hotel keep copy of my ID card).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Jakarta MidPlaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Jakarta MidPlaza

Address: Jl. Jend. Sudirman Kav 10 - 11, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#13 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Jakarta MidPlaza 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5-star luxury hotel is strategically located in the heart of Jakarta's business and commercial district in the Sudirman and Thamrin area. It is convenient to shopping malls such as Plaza Indonesia and other attractions in the city centre. The hotel lends itself to corporate events, conferences and weddings with an extensive array of meeting facilities, complemented by elegant guest rooms and stylish restaurants. InterContinental Jakarta also offers a luxury spa and modern fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Jakarta MidPlaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Jakarta Midplaza Hotel Jakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Jakarta MidPlaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.