We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new hotel, very modern, stylish and nice with some growing pains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Jakarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Jakarta to your Saves list
Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Jakarta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. MH. Thamrin Kav. 15, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia (Menteng)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take your stay further!
Ranked #5 of 332 Hotels in Jakarta
san francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“new hotel, very modern, stylish and nice with some growing pains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

stayed here for 4 nights in june 2012 (0nly a few months after it opened)

Pros
-beautiful hotel, well decorated
-very secure/safe
-great location, attached to high end shopping mall
-excellent excellent reakfast buffet with great staff
-very attentive and service oriented staff (they addressed all issues that came up)
-every night they leave you nice snacks in the room (mostly pastries like cakes, macaroons etc)
-largest bathroom i have ever seen for a hotel with very luxurious bath tub
-the photos you see on the website are quite accurate

Cons
-the staff is possibly too attentive. there is not much personal space. when you exit the elevator to when you leave, you are accompanied by a security guard or butler. even when you leave the buffet to seek the bathroom, you are accompanied by staff
-the pool is abit small and odd. it is above ground with glass walls, so diners at the restaurant can see you swimming inside the pool
-the rooms might be too big for some people. they are roughly the size of a 1 bedroom apartment and set up in a similar manner.
-I had a few issues with insects (not alot, just 2 individual insects in my room on different days) and a blond hair found on my towels (seemed like the laundry dryer did a poor job); hotel staff was very responsive.

overall, i liked the keraton enough to give them another shot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvanWidarmana, Manager at Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Jakarta, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Jeff94103,

Thank you for your review posted on TripAdvisor.

We are enchanted to have you with us and to know that you enjoyed your stay.

In contrast of this, we are deeply apologetic for your inconvenience as a result of the shortfall. We do like to receive constructive feedback from our guests and value the feedback positively. Your review has been shared to our respective department for our necessary action.

Thank you once again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to Keraton at The Plaza.

With very best regards,

Ivan Widarmana
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    47
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
34
24
16
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in early June, and were pleasantly surprised. The luxury hotel options in Jakarta are not plentiful nor cheap. Our group usually stays at one of the two Ritz Carlton, this time we decided to try the Keraton.

Not knowing that the hotel is still in soft opening, it was a bit disconcerting at the beginning, the ratio of staff to guests is very high. We were told that only 29 rooms were opened, and at the time of our stay only 14 guests were staying at the hotel.

The rooms are very well appointed, as a Platinum SPG guests, I was upgraded to a junior suite, and it was quite a nice suite; space, arrangement, and amenities. The bathroom is well appointed and quite spacious.

The hotel is attached to the Plaza mall, an upscale mall with good dining and shopping options. This was useful as the hotel had only one open restaurant.

The services was outstanding, but at times you felt that you are followed and too closely watched, as there were not enough guests, I recommend being a bit more subtle about it. You don't really need 3 people opening doors for you, or several people directing you to the lifts, etc..

I would also recommend a thorough inspection of the rooms, the ceiling panels which are white have greasy handprints, probably left over from the construction crews, its a shame to see them on such a pristine finish and classy design.

Overall, a very good addition to the Jakarta hotel options, we would stay there again..

Finally, the breakfast buffet was SUPERB. Some of the best options and selections I've had in Asia.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Jakarta, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear MikeyR,

Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor recounting your recent visit to Keraton at The Plaza.

I very much appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with fellow TripAdvisor readers.

I am enchanted to see that in most aspects you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodation a good value. However, I regret for the shortfall you encountered at the same time. We learn your constructive feedback for our improvement thus I trust this would only bring us to the impeccable service we would deliver to all global explorers.

Thank you once again for your comments and I look forward to hearing from you soon and welcoming you back to Keraton at The Plaza.


With kind regards,
Klaus Alexander Woizik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendari, Indonesia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed in here from 31 May 2012 until 2 June 2012
My room was so amazing , with big infinity windows around my room .
White massive bathroom *love it !!* , nice and friendly staff , Nice breakfast with indonesia service touch .

awesome is not enough to describe this hotel .. so private and luxurious ... ! Cant wait for my next stay at this hotel !

Room Tip: Every inch from this hotel is FABS !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlausWoizik, General Manager at Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Jakarta, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Ruffiole,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Keraton at The Plaza to TripAdvisor readers. I am delighted to know that in most aspects you are gratified with your recent stay.
I think everyone at Keraton at The Plaza will join me in saying it was a pleasure to look after you.

I hope that your next visit to us will not be too long in the making as we are all looking forward to welcoming you home to Keraton at The Plaza.

Kind regards,

Klaus Alexander Woizik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in mid June, 2012. This is a brand new hotel since they just opened its door on May 30th. During the soft opening period they had only opened 24 rooms. When I first came I was greeted by a front desk associate and directly escorted by a butler to have a in-room check in since I was a platinum member of Starwood Preferred Guests (SPG). He was nice but a little bit lacking in product knowledge. When we came to the room, a junior suite, I'd say it was a little small for a suite in Asia. The room size is about 70 sqm and it has no separate living room. So you might reconsider of inviting a guest to your suite because the guest sofa is directly facing the bed. As far as the interior and decor is concerned it was nice, a modern Javanese style. However, it lacked of good workmanship here and there. Cleanliness was also a big issue here, I could still find a lot of dust in some areas in the bedroom and also the bathroom. I could still smell the construction smell also in the corridors and some other areas. And since they were still completing the other 100 guestrooms you could still hear the sound of construction machines from other floors. Window glasses were also dirty because they had exterior painting works outside. You could see some dripping paint on your room windows. I had the experience of trying some of their cuisines here and they simply had no taste. I think they should conduct more food testing to find some delicious menu. I was surprised that Starwood would allow a hotel at this stage to open. This is not a Sheraton or Four Points but a Luxury Collection. A paying guest like me would expect a perfect product and service from a fancy hotel like this. I think Starwood should have waited 4 to 6 months to open this hotel to produce a better quality of products and spend more time on trainings rather than selling imperfect products but bad words of experience would travel fast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlausWoizik, General Manager at Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Jakarta, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear GeorgeSingapore,


Thank you very much for your comments posted in TripAdvisor highlighting the problems encountered during your stay with us here at Keraton at The Plaza. We do like to receive constructive comments from our guests, and we value such feedback positively, as it enables us to monitor that we are providing the level of facilities and services that our guests deserve and expect.

I was very concerned to read your comments and I apologise for the inconvenience caused to you on your stay. Please accept our sincere and profuse apologies for this lapse in our attention.

GeorgeSingapore, we would like the opportunity to prove to you that we can meet and exceed your expectations and provide services and facilities of the highest order.

If your travel brings you to Jakarta, I would like to have a discussion and your constructive feedback directly. I shall personally review the points and look into ways of fine-tuning our service.

Thank you once again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to Keraton at The Plaza.


Kind regards,

Klaus Alexander Woizik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Jakarta

Address: Jl. MH. Thamrin Kav. 15, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 332 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first Luxury Collection hotel in Jakarta that provide guests with enchanting experiences from the time of arrival until departure. Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel is located in the prime area of Thamrin, the heart of Jakarta business district. The hotel is connected to the most sophisticated shopping complex and encircled by high rise corporate buildings, embassies and governments. Our 140 lavish and spacious guest rooms, the inimitability of our All Day Dining, semi outdoor terrace, Keraton Lounge, infinity pool, 24 hour butler service and the re-known Go Concierge program will enhance the picturesque of our heritage story telling. The luxury, modern & contemporary design of the entire hotel delivers an intimate & calm ambience and emphasizing on the impeccable service of consistency and personalized recognition towards every guest, Keraton at The Plaza stand out on its distinctive way in the market. Keraton has a meaning of “Palace” in Javanese which is inspired by commissioned relics from the royal palaces of yesteryear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Jakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.