We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, just don't book online!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Degrees

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Six Degrees to your Saves list
Six Degrees
Jalan Cikini Raya 60 B-C | Cikini, Menteng, Jakarta 10330, Indonesia (Menteng)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great, just don't book online!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Great hostel in terms of helpful staff and nice communal areas downstairs (pool, book swaps, seating, films...). The rooms are clean though small and windowless, but ac is a plus. Bathrooms are shared but hot water and very clean makes up for this!

I would say breakfast could have been slightly more substantial, but not a major complaint.

However, don't book online! You'll go through all the forms and think it's been confirmed and have an e voucher and everything but its meaningless unless the owner happens to have checked it. We booked online a few days in advance and the owner had no record. When we showed confirmation they said it was still pending and to phone next time. We were very lucky they had a single room free and could put a mattress on the floor, though a discount/even apology for the mistake would have been nice! Though I can't complain about the staff as they are very helpful!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Six Degrees, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for the review; we're happy to hear that you liked Six Degrees.

I'm not quite sure what happened with your booking, and we're very sorry for the confusion when you arrived. When people book via our website we do indeed need to check all of the details before confirming it. We try to do this within 12 hours of receiving the booking - apologies that your booking seems to have slipped the net on this occasion. We need to check the details as we don't ask for any deposit so we need to make sure that everything looks genuine. We've been let down in the past by people making a false booking just to test the system!

Please do book online! It's by far the easiest way to check availability and pricing, and make a booking. Once you receive a 'confirmation' email from us (not a 'pending' email) you can rest assured that the booking is done.

The breakfast of toast, jam, fresh fruit, juice and coffee is enough for most, but we now offer our hungrier guests optional extras such as eggs (cooked any style) for a small additional price.

Hoping that we'll see you again at Six Degrees soon. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    91
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
62
121
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I’m the sort who normally prefer to stay in hotel when on holiday. However, I’ve decided to try something different this time by staying in hostel after seeing good reviews about Six Degrees.

Booked a double room and what can I say? The place is pretty cool, most guests are usually whites / expatriates, there is a pool table on the ground floor (reception area) furnished with big screen tv and comfy couches. As for the room, it’s pretty basic with dim lights yet fully lined with multiple sockets to charge all your batteries / gadgets at one go. The only downside is that the room is not equipped with any TV or attached bathroom and for 225.000, you can sneak better homestays elsewhere. But the location is a plus point, located just along the main road which makes it easy to find. It’s located just next to Texas Chicken.

Check out the top floor. There is a garden with so-called hut where you can snooze out on a breezy lazy afternoon.
Six Degrees is relatively cheaper than other hostels in Jakarta yet a notch above the rest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Six Degrees, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks for staying at Six Degrees, and for taking the time to leave some feedback. I'm glad you had an positive overall experience.
Our concept from the beginning was that Six Degrees should be primarily a social experience. It's about meeting people, making friends, and having shared experiences, rather than relaxing in rooms watching TV. So, we keep the rooms very simple, clean, and airconditioned, and make room prices as cheap as we possibly can. Unfortunately this means that people who are used to staying in hotels can be disappointed, but we really hope that you met some nice people and that Six Degrees was a comfortable base for you to explore the chaotic city! Hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights, we booked 3 pax room. The best is ground floor where you can find theater, pool table, dart, Xbox. The location is quite far away from airport. The hostel gets good rating and deserves all of them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Six Degrees, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much!
Yes, we are quite far from the airport, but as the airport is well outside the city, everywhere is far from the airport! We're slap-bang in the centre of the city and the perfect location to explore any part of the city.

Hope to see you again one day at Six Degrees. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at six degrees for 3 nights, although i found jakarta somewhat lacking in attractions to entertain tourists, this backpacker hostel had everything you needed to entertain you for your time in jakarta, from a mini cinema to a pool table, roof top bar and even a small gym. The only recommendation i could make to these guys (as i know they read these reviews) is if they could have more food on offer, as there isnt too many places in the immediate viscinity to eat. Im sure theyd get plenty of business from guests.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Manager at Six Degrees, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words!
We do indeed read these reviews, and love to hear what people thought of their time with us. Suggestions are always welcome too, and we're currently working on a more comprehensive menu for our guests. There are loads of places to eat in Cikini though - our neighbourhood is famous for its street-food and restaurants (future guests please ask us and we'll give you some personal recommendations within walking distance)

Thanks again, see you soon in Jakarta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

visited jakarta for 3 days and this hostel came up no1 on google search. so i decided to book this hostel.

i got a 6 bedroom dorm type and its pretty impressive. the beds are double deck with thick mattress unlike other hostel/back packers place ive been, this has got to be one of the impressive hostel iv stayed in. the hallways are pretty spacious and its got 6 shower/toilet rooms on the 2nd floor. its enough for everyone elses turn to use the toilet. i personally like the ground floor as well. its got a theatre and a pool table.

one of the down sides of the hostel is that, it doesnt have variety of menu, just sandwiches.. although theres a texas chicken right beside the hostel.. theres no bar .. just beers (bintang) and its located pretty far from the airport the the cbd..

Room Tip: the rooms are always fully booked.. so better decide to book it as fast as you can..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Six Degrees, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback for us - much appreciated!

We're working on a better food menu for guests, but we cannot get a full bar license (nor do we want one), so just serve cold beers as cheaply as we can. Full bar licenses are problematic in Jakarta.

There are several CBDs in jakarta, to the north south, east and west of Six Degrees. Getting around Jakarta can sometimes be nightmarish (wherever you're staying), but we're right in the middle of the city and the major sights/shops/attractions really aren't far away.

Thanks again, and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Rarely do I find a backpackers which looks exactly as it does in the photos on its website. And never before have I found one actually BETTER in real life than the photos! I stayed in an 8-bed and 4-bed pod room at six degrees earlier this month: fantastic. The pods are in cool rooms with all-day A/C and safety lockers. Each pod offers privacy with its simple curtain, and has its own reading light, internet wall sockets (which I didn't need as the wifi was top-notch) and (in the 8-bed dorm) their own little fan! The pod concept is heaps better than the usual bunk layout you find in most backpacker dorms around the world. The rooms, shared bathrooms and all common areas are super clean. Location is good, within a Rp20,000 ojek (motorcycle taxi) radius of several key transit and shopping points. Amazing staff: knowledgeable, friendly and helpful (Thanks Maya for all your help!). I also found a very interesting mix of folk passing through: research students, NGO workers, a journalist, a web-designer and even a pilot! Certainly not the inconsiderate party-animal stereotype that makes a dorm room hell! All of this combined with the great rate and included breakfast (toast,fruit,coffee,juice), truly makes Six Degrees a backpackers dream. I'll be back, and I'm spreading the word...

Room Tip: The 8-bed pod dorm has little fans in each pod. Only if the A/C isn't enough and you need more c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Six Degrees, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We really love reading all of the reviews, and yours was up there with the best! All i can say is thank you, and we're all really glad that you had such a good time staying with us.

Thanks again; we hope to see you back in Jakarta soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

You don't get many hostels like this in South East Asia,it's similar to something you might find in Australia or New Zealand.The POD dorms are particularly good and I've never seen anything like it anywhere else.They have everything you could imagine to pass the time - pool table, darts, movies, Xbox , weights room,rooftop chill out area.

If you're a backpacker in Jakarta then this is the place to stay, it's way above anything else in the city , avoid the guest houses/hostels on Jalan Jaksa at all costs .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Six Degrees, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
What can i say? Thank you! Makes it all worthwhile :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Six Degrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Degrees

Address: Jalan Cikini Raya 60 B-C | Cikini, Menteng, Jakarta 10330, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six Degrees is a unique international-standard backpackers hostel in Central Jakarta.Combining a variety of clean, comfortable rooms with a host of entertainment options, and staff who are always welcoming and happy to help you.Dave is an Irishman who has travelled the world and stayed in really great and really bad hostels. His dream was to build a world-class hostel right in the middle of one of the world's busiest cities. Six Degrees is the result.You'll find everything you expect - clean, comfortable rooms, a secure building, friendly staff. But you'll also find a lounge with a mini-cinema, a 9-foot pool table, a bar, a bamboo roof garden, free super-fast wifi and a large slice of local character.Use Six Degrees as a base to discover this exciting, hectic city. Or just put your feet up, relax and make yourself at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Six Degrees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Degrees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.