We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool concept but needs some improving” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MaxOneHotels @ Sabang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added MaxOneHotels @ Sabang to your Saves list
MaxOneHotels @ Sabang
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Agus Salim no 24 | Jakarta Pusat, Jakarta 11340, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 331 Hotels in Jakarta
Big Pine Key, Florida
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Cool concept but needs some improving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Maxone for 3 days and the first time I walked it had this old cigarette smell even though there was no smoking sign. The hotel staff was nice and I really liked the design of the hotel. My room was very small but perfect for a solo traveller, it needed some finishing some of the craftsmanship was subpar. It looks like they rushed to finish the hotel and some of the walls just really need to be fixed. If I ever had my aircon off you could smell cigarette smoke which was a little disgusting and for some reason my key card kept getting deactivated (I kept it away from my phone, I put it in my wallet, I even put it in my pocket and it would deactivate, at least you had to use the key to use the elevator so I was already downstairs when it wasn't working). The bed was big and comfy, the bathroom was nice, and the wifi was spotty a most. The location of the hotel is great it is a 5 to 10 minute walk to the national monument. There is a lot of restaurants on the street and shopping centers are a couple of minutes away. Also there are loads of taxis so it is easy to g to other parts of the city but beware of the traffic it is absolutely horrible in Jakarta.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    105
    42
    11
    3
See reviews for
16
65
34
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

It positions itself as "smart" hotel, the same with Amaris and the likes. But with a more expensive price and even smaller room, i do not see max one will flourish even farther to be a market leader etc. Great location that is all. Service is mediocre to low. No spirit shown by the staffs. Looks like they hate their job or something like that. But for food lovers, you cannot get any better than this. Just beside the hotel, hawkers lining up. In Sabang road, culinary lovers' heaven. It is also good for travellers who love shopping, as it is within a walking distance to Sarinah, few minutes by taxi to Grand Indonesia, Plaza Indonesia.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arfan M, General Manager at MaxOneHotels @ Sabang, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Alvin ,
Max Greet You Well !

Thank you for your constructive inputs , but we have proven to be the better ones in its class comparing to other hotel brands of its class . As for you comment in " not flourishing" even further, we have grown with 3 hotels within 2 years and 12 hotels opening in just 2 years . I believed we can be the market leader . However , its unfortunate fo you to have encounter such experience with Max . Maybe I can invite you to lunch ??

Best Regards,
M Arfan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a nice stay at the MaxOne hotel. The rooms are small, but has everything that's needed. The bathroom is clean and it has a perfect working "Grohe" rainshower. The bed is very comfortable! The bed has two hard pillows and two soft pillows, so it's nice that you can choose what suits you best. The WIFI in the room worked great, except when you are inactive for like 15 minutes, you have have to log in again. We also had a room that was on the busy roadside, and the rooms are not that good isolated for outside noise, so ask for a room as far away from the road and the elevator. The hotel has a café, mini-mart, and two atm's.
The hotel also has a computer in the lobby for guests, downside to that is they do not have printer. For the hotel management maybe something to consider, would be handy if guests want to print their airline e-tickets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not close to the roadside and the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

stayed here for about a week. Great location in sabang. Staff was friendly their english was so so. I hate the elevators. there small no air conditioning and you have to use your card to use them and it doesnt always read the card. The room I stay in was tiny but affordable. The ammenities Were below average. no Phone in room you have to go toward the elevator to use a phone. The Cafe they have downstairs was ok. Overall It was a pretty good stay. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a great and excellent night that we have spent on December 29th-30th 2012 at MaxOne Hotel Sabang. All staffs are very kind, the location is in the middle of town, so we can go to many places easily. And the most important is price of the hotel is affordable.

Thank you MaxOne ^___^

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

the hotel was nice but the service of staff front office wasn't friendly when explained something to the guest. they need to be trained. location of this hotel was very good but the noise from people outside was too loud. couldn't sleep well. room was nice and cozy great job for room boy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMaxOne, General Manager at MaxOneHotels @ Sabang, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
December 28, 2012

Hi Roby!
Max Greet you Good Day!

Right after reading your review on the poor service on our front office staff, i took the time to gather all staff concerned and sit down with the team. This should not be happening to you, as we have numerously train our staff that you, as our guest, is part of our big family. We should have shown you our warmth and love. Please do take my apology. Should you have the time to visit Jakarta, please give me a call and we can have lunch!

BR & take care

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palembang, indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

For just about $50 you can get all you wish for in a hotel. Value for money. Nice bedding, great pillows, rain shower, free wi fi in rooms, The people there is very friendly, makes you feel like home. Easy access to shopping malls and easy to get around.

Room Tip: Warmth room is much bigger than of happiness. Try to get higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to MaxOneHotels @ Sabang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MaxOneHotels @ Sabang

Address: Jalan Agus Salim no 24 | Jakarta Pusat, Jakarta 11340, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 331 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MaxOneHotels @ Sabang 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maxonehotels Sabang is designed to provide a stylish yet value - oriented accommodation in all city centers, with particular attention to the needs of professionals on the move. Bedrooms are sold on basis of the early you book, the less you pay and periods of high demand cost more than less popular periods. We offers 87 rooms; consisting of our Happiness Room (Standard 15m2) 78 rooms, our Warmth Room (Deluxe 25m2) 07 rooms and our Love Room (Suite 28m2)02 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your MaxOneHotels @ Sabang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MaxOneHotels @ Sabang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.