We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean but not recommended” 2 of 5 stars
Review of MaxOneHotels @ Sabang

Save Saved
You added MaxOneHotels @ Sabang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MaxOneHotels @ Sabang
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Agus Salim no 24 | Jakarta Pusat, Jakarta 11340, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Max MERDEKA Package
Ranked #52 of 317 hotels in Jakarta
Java, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“clean but not recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The room is clean,but the air conditioner not cool enough,bad response from receptionist,not quick enough to handle complaint,hot temperature at room,not recommended,very disappointed.no pho3ne at room,you must go to the lobby,cause the phone near the lift is broken,and make sure you wait the receptionist at the lobby till your complains solved,cause if you wait at room,they never go to your room ,they abandon your complains till you follow up the complains by yourself

Room Tip: Better looking for another hotel than this,i ever stayed at fave hotel near here,fave hotel much muc...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMaxOne, General Manager at MaxOneHotels @ Sabang, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi Yosef ,
Max greet you good day,

I'm terribly sorry to hear your bad experience with Max. Rest assured that ur problem has been taken care of & such manner will not occur in the future. There's seems to be a misunderstanding. And We're sure that this review will make us become better and better in the future. How can we make u feel the happiness, warmth and love with Max? We want u to be part of our big family!

Call me! and lets have lunch together. See you soon @Max Yosef.

BR & Take Care
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    86
    33
    9
    3
See reviews for
11
51
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

MaxOne Sabang is a great budget hotel for the price especially in a town like Jakarta. It is located towards the end of Jalan Sabang (every cab driver should know this or he is trying to scam you).

Reception staff was friendly and efficient during check in process. The room itself is small, good enough for travelling solo with limited budget. Room numbers are located at the bottom of the floor in front of the door. The choice between power and rain shower in the bathroom is really good for a budget hotel. The location is good - close to restaurants and street food until late at night (or even past midnight). There is also a minimart at the lobby, or you can walk a little (3 mins stroll) to the nearest Alfamart and Indomaret. Not sure how the parking works in MaxOne since the drop off point is really small and I don't travel with my own car anyway. Didn't really get to try out the buffet or the cafe downstairs since I was on an express stopover during my stay.

Minor negative points:
- scratches on the wall in the room (not dirty though)
- difficult to get a cab in the morning especially peak working hours
- WIFI signal is too weak in my room (perhaps just its location)

Overall, MaxOne Sabang is a pleasant business budget hotel especially for the price that I got (less than USD40).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I found a cheap hotel in Jakarta the price per night was only $38.00. I found it searching the tripadvisor site. Booking the room early saved me a lot of money. I went with a standard room and luckily, it was in the back so the street noise was virtually nonexistent. The coffee house in the lobby was great and was open all day and night. It was within walking distance to nearly everything. Staff was great even with limited English. The idea of a tree with hangers in the room gave a very artsy feel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back there is far less noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great hotel for solo traveller, simple, central location. Coffeeshop open 24 hours, there's a minimart attach to it, so getting late night munchies is no problemo. Down-sides are:
-No in-room phone, got a brochure to buy "in-room meal" have to get to a house phone near the elevator..this red phone that reminds me of those "nuclear emergency" hotline to the president phone..LOL, oooor...(this is what to my opinion is the absurd one) call a Jakarta number...like...why cant they install an-in-room intercom of some sort? Staff are great, I love the fact that one night I was returning from my project, the front office staff greet me by name! A five star treatment! Kudos... Mind you that the room price does not include bfast which you have to get at the restaurant in the lobby (different management from the hotel I think), the bfast was not really that pleasing, but enough to start your day. I had to get my coffee elsewhere tho. Overall, nice 3 night stay. Would I return? Probably :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

I love this hotel very much..very nice interior design..very good shower & nice bed..got convenience store, coffee house & ATM machine at the lobby..location was perfect along JL. Sabang a.k.a Food Street..7 minutes to Tanah Abang,Plaza Indonesia, Grand Indonesia & Monas (Icon of Jakarta)..Breakfast was not included but there are plenty of options nearby..recommended to all except family with children

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I spent a weekend at Maxone and it was amazing, the room is simple with unique design. The hotel also located in the heart of Jakarta, you may find almost everything within walking distance. The parking space for the hotel guest is very limited, but you can park your car along Jalan Sabang.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had a 3 night stay at the Queen standard room on the 5th floor. Originally, I had booked the Love Suite directly on the MaxOne's website. However, upon arrival, I was told that the shower in the Love Suite was not working. And they gave me 2 standard rooms without extra charge.

The room is small but cosy. My expectations were not high as long as the sleeping and shower area are clean. They provided 2 bottled water everyday. Bed was comfortable.

For S$50 a night, the stay was worth it.

As the hotel is by the roadside, it got noisy due to the busy road. However, all that's worthwhile as I got to sample authentic Indonesian's street food. For the 3 nights, I had street food everyday without any "runs".

Check-in was a bit slow but it was fine for me.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, choose the rear rooms that are not near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MaxOneHotels @ Sabang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MaxOneHotels @ Sabang

Address: Jalan Agus Salim no 24 | Jakarta Pusat, Jakarta 11340, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 317 hotels in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MaxOneHotels @ Sabang 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maxonehotels.com is designed to provide a stylish yet value – oriented accommodation in all city centers, with particular attention to the needs of professionals on the move. Bedrooms are sold on basis of the early you book, the less you pay and periods of high demand cost more than less popular periods. We offers 87 rooms; consisting of our Happiness Room (Standard 15m2) 78 rooms, our Warmth Room (Deluxe 25m2) 07 rooms and our Love Room (Suite 28m2)02 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your MaxOneHotels @ Sabang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MaxOneHotels @ Sabang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.