We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe, WAS a Good Hotel in the 80s” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mega Cikini Hotel

Mega Cikini Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mega Cikini Hotel to your Saves list
Mega Cikini Hotel
Jl. Cikini Raya Kav. 62-64, Jakarta 10330, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 153 Jakarta B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Maybe, WAS a Good Hotel in the 80s”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We arrived in Jakarta and had a booking mishap with a Bakcpacker Hostel thus we needed a place to stay in to rest until the next day- thus Hotel Mega Cikini. We entered the hotel thorugh their restaurant thickly clouded with cigar smoke from drunk group of old men. We needed to cover our nose until we reached the lobby.

We booked only for one night, and it was worth our supposedly 3-day stay with a nearby hostel. Expensive but we though it is appropriate since it was a full-pledge hotel. We went up to our room, had our hot showers and fell sleep...only to wake up sweating because our AC was not working. We called reception for help and they sent a repair man who could not speak a word of English making our bad day in Jakarta worse as it is.

The only thing I liked about the hotel is their breakfast buffet. That's it. It's a hotel that would worked for the 80s but not today, especially if eveything (furniture, amenities, et al) were the same since the 80s- dust, mites and all.

Room Tip: Check the ACs, not all ACs work. We needed to move twice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Pros: Close to my office. Quite hotel in spite of the hectic location in the middle part of Jakarta. Good place to have a peaceful sleep. Room is one the most spacious in its price range. Near Cikini Train Station, Taman Ismail Marzuki Art Centre & Planetarium. For that price range in Jakarta - this hotel is one of my choice. The food is OK even not something to brag about.

Cons: Not very good features & amenities. TV is still the old 21" CRT. Several times found un-cleaned spots in the bathroom & tub. For those light sleeper - be prepared to be bothered with the sound of trains' elevated rail from the back of the hotel. I dont :)

Room Tip: Ask room facing south. North-facing room's view is... ANOTHER BUILDING 5 mtrs away :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

just a quikie while i am still staying in jakarta mega cikini are not honourable when a request for a room type is requested before leaving for your trip so if you stay here do not expect to have the room you booked on line from the photo gallery they have on their web page . more on this subject when i return to London with photo's of disgusting room conditions and poor customer relations from reception staff and lack of management skills from front of house manager. my initial advice do not waste your money on mega cikini or mega proklamasi i stayed at both with a intention of a two week stay and moved out pretty fast after one night. check out Treva international in same area for a extra 100,000 rupia 6 pounds in sterling you get bigger better cleaner rooms better views and service with a roof top swimming pool to work off the stress of the Jakarta traffic jams. good luck !

Room Tip: if you stay at a mega hotel chain dont eat the breakfast and be prepaired to get bitten at night whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

The location of this hotel is great, it's close to Taman Ismail Marzuki and some well recommended restaurants like Lara Djonggrang and Vietopia. Or if you opt for fast food chains, you can go to McDonalds or KFC. The neighborhood is friendly, and it's rather quiet in the evening. There are some taxis that park outside the hotel, but it may be best to try and find a taxi on the street as the ones at the hotel usually don't use meters and would charge double the price we pay for other taxis. As usual, only choose the brand you trust. Blue Bird, Express and Taxi Cab are some of the favorites.
Staff at the front desk are quite polite and helpful, but don't speak English much. Service at the restaurant is good, although the food is just so so. Majority of the hotel staff are nice and helpful despite their limited English, only one person in particular (a room cleaning guy) was very rude.
The room is okay, the carpet and furniture are old. The bathroom is clean. Our room was right across an old office building and a small piece of land that looked like a dumpsite. The elevator is old, smelly, and a little bumpy when it moved, it scared us so we used the stairs instead.
To sum it all up, this hotel is not bad, but there isn't much quality that would make us want to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I had been to Jakarta from Doha and stayed in Hotel Mega Cikini.......Infact a comfortable Hotel, As such I never had any discomfort staying over here, a very good location, Breakfast was also very good and above all....the staff were very polite,pleasing, helpful and cooperative....I have to say Thanks to all of them.....! well I would like to stay in the same Hotel during my next visit also which I am planning to visit in July 2012.

Best wishes & Regards.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mega Cikini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mega Cikini Hotel

Address: Jl. Cikini Raya Kav. 62-64, Jakarta 10330, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mega Cikini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mega Cikini Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.