We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Town Jakarta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jakarta Old Town

Jakarta Old Town
Jalan Kali Besar Timur, Jakarta, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 63 Attractions in Jakarta
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This is the old city of Batavia. Rundown, picturesque and a great night market.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Old Town Jakarta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Visited the Dutch quarter in Jakarta. Easy train trip from the main station. Very pretty area with vendors and lots of entertainment. Bicycles for hire in square with lovely hats for ladies. Walked to port whether there were some interesting boats. Would recommend Jakarta in August for national day. Night time entertainment in Jalan Jaksa which is fun. Locals very friendly.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    132
    118
    40
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Kota Tua”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

In bahasa we called it Kota Tua. This place was near from Museum fatahillah. The beauty of this city was on the building architecture. It deutch builidng style, I think. But some of the building was to old, and I heard from the news, that the Jakarta government will renovate this area, I hope it will done soon.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
476 helpful votes 476 helpful votes
“lack of attention”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This place / area actually have a lot of history, but somehow the government didn't really take this area seriously on the maintenance, sometimes they do all the renovation and make a proper tourist visit area but thru time those facility become bad and then just broken.

I used to like hanging out in one cafe in front of fatahillah museum, it was nice, but now it was all creepy specially during the night.

If only they pay attention and have it maintained, it could be a very good tourist attraction

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“it is an old style of jakarta(batavia)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

we can recall the old time when jakarta is name as jayakarta or batavia in netherland colonial time. it just a history

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Faces of Ordinary Indonesians”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

After seeing the modern shopping centers in CBD Jakarta, we decided to take a taxi to Jakarta Old Town. This was an eye-opening adventure. A local man approached us to offer his tour-guide service. His English was reasonable and he looked sincere. He told us he used to work as a English teacher but for the future of his 3 kids, he had to find a way to get a better paid job.

We followed our guide and walked along the back streets Jembatan Kota Intan drawbridge, Toko Merah (Indonesian "Red Shop") is a Dutch colonial landmark, the watchtower of Sunda Kelapa (the old port of Jakarta). You have to prepare for the unpleasant smell from Ciliwung River. Without the local guide, you would not even be able to cross the road amid the busy traffic!

Obviously, some part of Jakarta is flourishing with the state of art modern buildings and shopping malls filled with brand-name labels. Some part of Jakarta is struggling. What will the Jakarta government do to make it a more egalitarian country? Sounds too serious a question for you, then enjoy the interesting scenes you'll find in Jakarta Old Town!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jakarta Old Town also viewed

 

Been to Jakarta Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jakarta Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.