We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroach killing trip” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Thamrin Residence Condotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Thamrin Residence Condotel to your Saves list
Thamrin Residence Condotel
Thamrin Residence, Floor UG, Jl. Kebon Kacang Raya | Kebun Melati, Jakarta, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Jakarta
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cockroach killing trip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

-At the 1st room 3 cockroaches killed, balanced remain mystery; changed room after request, another 2 killed.. We fade up to request changing. Another room of my parents, 2 killed..
-no supply of bath towel, shampoo and body syampoo are available
-bathroom have a small ventilation with outside ambient, but the ventilation is poor, not too comfortable as the ambient temp. is high
-poor air condition, I would say I sweating after I bath =.=
-a/c unit noise, just outside of the balcony, but the door to the balcony is locked
-room cabinet have dust on the surface.
-the design of the room is just nice and another advantage is shopping centre is near.
-the air condition is really terrible, I am sweating now >.<

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

i was staying on 13th april to 15th april at this apartment. LOcation was good coz its just behind grand indonesia. I paid 2 night during check in and the room was damn hot even the air-con was switch on. I saw few guys also complained about the air con. I told them to clean my room and i was backed, the room was not cleaned and the towels not changed. THe next morning, i wanted to cancel the last night and they willing to refund it but then i decided to stay and endure it coz it was last min and i couldnt get another hotel. Wifi in the room was really bad. The good thing about this hotel, they are more flexible in check out. I will always stay again if they improve the air con and wifi.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

First, the taxi driver could not find the place (identified as Thamrin Condotel from booking.com), no one answered the phone when we called the hotel to check. The driver had to ask for help from his call center. He was circling the area and found the place after he was told it was "Thamrin Residences".

Our rooms had no windows. Young cockroaches roam freely in the room and there is a damp smell in the bathroom. We ask for non-smoking rooms, but they gave us the smoking ones located towards the end of the area. The bath was slightly clogged. The bathroom door was faulty and could not be shut.

Staff were friendly when we asked for directions to go sight seeing.
Convenient store and eateries located at the ground floor of the building.

Shopping malls and the famous Tanah Abang market are nearby, but you still need to walk a short distance in the midst of traffic congestion.

We found out later there were better hotels available at the same price. We did a last minute booking.

Room Tip: Insist on a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

it was centrally located heart of the city , calm quite place ,
enjoyed my stay ..but hard to find a taxi , have to walk upto thamrin city , there you can find lot of taxis,
many food outlets also available around this place ,
also all major shopping complexes near by ..

Room Tip: better to select a room with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed here as a last resort as most hotels were fully-booked due to SEA Games. This hotel, though near Grand Indinesia.. is actually not near when you have to drag your luggage along. It is indeed walking distance to most of the major shopping centre is Plaza Indnesia and Grand Indonesia but it is not safe for a lady to be walking to and from this condotel. The minute I checked-into my room.. I spotted a baby cockcroach scurrying under the bed. My room was a standard room and it does not come with any window. Definitely, not a room for claustrophobic! The breakfast was really basic..what can u expect from a 2-star place. Stayed one night and checked-out the minute I managed to find another available hotel.. Phew!!!

Room Tip: If you really have a tight budget with nowhere to go and want a central location, ask for at least l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011 via mobile

Original plan 4 days but we've stayed there for a nite bcoz of mosquitos war. Hotel view:its not a lake view, its more to a monsoon drain. Not a friendly area at nite...hardly to get a cab & also very hard to find food at night.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

I like the apartment generally.

Some things disturbed me :
1. Hardly find a taxi around in the morning for going to work (many tenant using taxi in the morning and I could not get them by waving at side of the apartment).
2. Noisy neighbor with kids in early morning.
3. Very slow response when the electricity dropped in the unit (I had to wait them in the lobby to make sure they would come up to the unit because when my friend had come down earlier, they didnt come as soon as possible)

The owner was very nice person.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thamrin Residence Condotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thamrin Residence Condotel

Address: Thamrin Residence, Floor UG, Jl. Kebon Kacang Raya | Kebun Melati, Jakarta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thamrin Residence Condotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thamrin Residence Condotel Hotel Jakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thamrin Residence Condotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.