We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morrissey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Morrissey to your Saves list
Morrissey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan KH. Wahid Hasyim No. 70 | Menteng, Jakarta 10340, Indonesia (Formerly Citadines Quartier Jakarta)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Color up your Easter Day!
Ranked #116 of 344 Hotels in Jakarta
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked this property out of curiosity. We stayed elsewhere first few days and decided to try this hotel the last two nights in Jakarta. Morrissey did not disappoint us. The minute we stepped on to the lobby the staffs are friendly and ever helpfull. The location is perfect. Very close to eateries and spa. It is actually walking distance to Sarinah shopping center and a short drive to the big malls. Morrissey provide a shuttle service to Sarinah using a cool looking modern bajai. The rooms are uniquely designed unlike the normal hotel room and quite spacious with a sofa set in the middle. It has a good breakfast spread served in a beautifully design cafe / lounge on the ground floor overlooking the main road. I really love our stay here. With excellent staff, rooms and facilities. I will stay here again when in Jakarta.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcholil, General Manager at Morrissey, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello Aruem, glad to see you have enjoyed our "Ed" (Bajaj)...or it was a droopy drop we took you. Stay health till we all meet you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    159
    37
    7
    7
See reviews for
36
78
32
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bandung, Indonesia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here last January. We were staying with our 6 month old son. We arrived quite late at the hotel, around 9PM and it was raining. They also had a function happening that night. I dropped my wife, son at the lobby and also the luggage to the concierge. The parking there was very limited. And after I waited around 30 minutes and more than 3 times getting in and getting out of the hotel compound, i finally found one freaking parking space. There was not anybody helping me because the rain poured down. I forgot to mention that the passage from the parking lot to the lobby is open air. Fortunately, i had my own umbrella. I walked barefoot to the lobby because i only brought one pair of shoes with me that day. The reception was quick to offer me sandals, hot beverage and some snacks, a nice gesture from them. They also upgraded my room to the loft, without me asking for it, which was very kind of them.

The room itself was modern with separate bedroom + bathroom and living room area. There was small kitchen along with some basic cutlery and kitchen utensils if you needed it. If you need a little privacy in the bathroom, this type of room may not suit you because the toilet and the shower area had clear glass wall beside the bed. So you can directly see people inside the toilet and the bathroom.

The restaurant Ocha Bella downstair had the best pizza we have ever tasted and couldnt recommend them enough. The breakfast was also one of the best we had. The breakfast had a variety of food served, they also served fresh croissant.

We really recommend people to stay here. Will definitely come back here in the future.

PS: location is also quite central to everything happening in Jakarta

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcholil, General Manager at Morrissey, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello Lokanata, good to find we have keep our service culture firmly! How is your old months son doing? Forgot to ask his name..take a good care and warmest regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Always come back to Morrissey, it has all the stay you need even for a not so big hotel. Glad now they hv that Cafe/Bistro that serves delicious sandwiches through the night. Service were impeccable as always,. Consistent and helpful great service throughout our stay. They will try accede your requests if it's not too big a request. Specail thanks to Assac and few others forgot the name. Breakfast spread may be limited to some but to us, it's adequate and delicious. OK we'll come back, but you clean the toilet tiles and fix the choke drain first. We keep returning to this hotel, location just great! Quirky, eclectic vintage decor :)

Pls give special attention to cleaning of the bathroom. The lower tiles show signs that it requires cleaning. Work on the choke in the bathroom too. I see it's an impending problem since I 1st check in when you newly open. We'll come back as always perhaps w the next door wing opening soon.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcholil, General Manager at Morrissey, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello Dyla, yes we work out on what you commented. Meanwhile you have a very good weekend! Regards from all down here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stay they several time and almost 15 stay a year. This my 1st choice hotel when I visit to Jakarta with my family. The friendly and great service is key of success of the hotel.This particular staff have that give me good impression of this hotel (Muhammad Ibnu ) the Manager of of the front desk make feel like home and always welcome to the hotel. He is very helpful to make my reservation and in the hotel even thought it's last minute.Overall the of the hotel experience great and very convenient location for vacation .

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcholil, General Manager at Morrissey, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello Viknesh, love to see you again and again....regards from Ibnu, me and other ibnus that look forward to be with you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is by far the nicest boutique hotel I have stayed. The decors are very charming to its most little details. The location is also very good as it is in central Jakarta but also away from the main road of hustle bustle. You will find a lot of things around the hotel such as convenience store, starbucks, spa, etc. The staff at this hotel are all very courteous and helpful, always quick to respond to my requests even at late night. The room is also clean and comfortable bed with fluffy pillows. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights and was given an early check-in when arriving after my long haul flight which was very appreciated.
At first I was allocated a room just opposite an outdoor restaurant with a live band playing - I was promptly moved to the other end of the hotel when bemoaning this at the reception. The other end of the hotel (306) was facing a large construction site which didn't bother me as work finished off in the evening about my bed time and did not pick up until my alarm had gone off in the morning.
Cleaning would benefit from being improved - I don't appreciate treading in previous guests' debris that have been swept just under the bed, when my feet happened to reach inside the bed skirt ...

The room is nice and has a modern twist though it is obvious that the hotel is aging: mould in shower and rust stains on shower curtains. The desk is not quite for sitting an working at since it has a hollowed out area to put the laptop in that create ergonomic challenges. No body lotion or conditioner among the amenities though you'd get a comb and a shower cap (does anyone really use those nowadays?)

The area is ok with restaurants and rats (spotted several while walking the neighbourhood even in daytime) and it's very close to a couple of shopping malls.
The local muzzein was a bit unpredictable and the morning call for prayer one morning was a bit like a disco - so bring your ear plugs.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After staying in really below average hotels for the past few years in Jakarta, I stumbled upon the Morrissey Service Apartments sort of by accident - but, what a pleasant surprise. This place is great - the staff is over-the-top attentive and switched-on. The breakfast is wonderful with little interesting food items that they pass around while you are eating. The rooms are basic, with kind of a lofty feel which gives it a nice touch. Someone really thought this thing through as the little touches make it such an interesting and fun place to stay in the heart of Jakarta - from the antique motorcyles in the lobby to the interesting art work - really a non-hotel, hotel. There's also an excellent Italian resturant connected to the property with great pizza, salads and wine selection by the glass. Who would have guessed this is Jakarta!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcholil, General Manager at Morrissey, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hi Carl, I definitely should see you personally when you return. Sorry to reply just now only. You have a very good weekend, Carl!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morrissey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrissey

Address: Jalan KH. Wahid Hasyim No. 70 | Menteng, Jakarta 10340, Indonesia (Formerly Citadines Quartier Jakarta)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrissey 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MORRISSEY is your partner in crime for your Jakarta adventure - we like to keep things simple - we offer you the freedom of self-contained, serviced apartments, with the efficiency of hotel services and facilities. We like to do things differently at Morrissey - our spaces are designed with eclectic touches with a blend of traditional Indonesian, Dutch colonial and industrial accents. Stay connected with our free high speed wifi and cabled internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Morrissey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrissey Hotel Jakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrissey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.