We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocillated between excellent and not so good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morrissey

Save Saved
You added Morrissey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morrissey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan KH. Wahid Hasyim No. 70 | Menteng, Jakarta 10340, Indonesia (Formerly Citadines Quartier Jakarta)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 318 Hotels in Jakarta
North West England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Ocillated between excellent and not so good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

As the title suggests I oscillated between - it's brilliant and it's not good. It is a very busy noisy hotel with 2 mosques close by - there is a very busy road at the front with 24 hour noise. I can best describe it as a warehouse conversion although I have no idea whether it is. It appears to be modern and chic but I feel it is older than it is as somethings are 'tired' The rooms are high ceiling and some have glass walls, others have small windows, showers only again some small some large depending on the room. The staff are moslty attentive and helpful although I was extremelt disappointed that having asked to see the general manager for over a week she has not bothered to speak with me. Do I not matter as a customer? Presumably not. The room rate includes breakfast whcih is very good but mostly geared to an oriental diet. Omlettes are very good. There is nothing else on offer at the hotel apart from a roof top swimming pool that is exceptionally cold as it is not heated and is top covered so does not get the sun, it is also very windy up on the roof. Good value for money although they have some very peculiar rules concerning laundry which is sometimes included and sometimes not. I wish the management would take the time to keep their long term (3 year) customers happy all the time not just some of it

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    125
    34
    7
    7
See reviews for
30
62
29
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband was temporary transferred to Jakarta on business, so I decided to visit him for a long weekend. We chose this serviced apartment instead of Alila, upon hearing it's award winning design reviews.
Positive points:
1. Good value.
2. Good location. Menteng's a hip area for yuppies, and the hotel is smack in the middle of it. There's a bar downstairs with live music in the evenings. From the pool deck, you could see Monas and the CBD skyline. It's also fairly close to Grand Indonesia (only Rp.10,000; equivalent to about USD $1- by cab)
3. For the price we paid, we were fairly pleased with the breakfast options. During holidays (we were there during Chinese New Year), they offered a Chinese-themed menu.
4. The common amenities are well designed, comfortable.
5. Convenient. Knowing Jakarta: as much convenience as possible is highly required! Fortunately, a taxi stand is there. Blue Bird, most trusted taxi operating company in Jakarta.

Negative points:
1. Service was rather slow.
2. Maintenance. The staff need to clean up the place more. The glass, cladding is staining. The sink of the bathroom in our studio was a little clogged.
3. The room need to be furnished to be a little 'warmer'. We understand the 'raw' design of exposed concrete ceiling and exposed brick walls. But a hint of timber, warm hues will contribute a lot in making us want to stay in the room longer rather than wandering about in common areas.
4. Some may consider its close proximity to the mosque as a negative point. The prayer calls may tend to be a little on the loud side.

Room Tip: Get a room which has a view of the Jakarta CBD skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is my third stay here and will always be whenever i'm in Jakarta. The room is still clean, spacious and great. The only downside was the customer service which i found not as efficient as it was before Morrissey took over (it was under Ascott last time). However, despite that, breakfast spread was way better than before!

Morrissey will always be the place for me. :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was a great no-frills service apartment. The rooms were basic, but most importantly clean. I found that I got excellent value for what I paid for. There is a delicious "bakmie / noodles" place 5 mins walk away and the restaurant at the lobby has an nice vibe with an acoustic band playing. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Price/quality this is a good hotel in Jakarta.

The location is good and the staff is very friendly. The hotel is top design. The rooms are minimalistic (in my personal opinion rooms focus too much on design and not enough on cosiness) but well appointed, even including a kitchenette.
Wifi was working fine and is free.
There's an excellent Italian restaurant downstairs. On the roof is a small swimming pool with lounge area.

Breakfast is average. Also the noise from the neighbouring mosques is a minus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Hotel morrissey was a pleasant surprise. Wonderfully designed,has a great modern contemporary feel with a vintage edge. Rooms were clean, spacious and secure. Customer service was fantastic everyone was very nice and helpful. The hotel has a great bar/ Italian restaurant if your tired and want something easy and stress free. The roof top pool is fantastic, with a great lounge area. This hotel has everything you'd want from a 4 star hotel, it's in a great location, offers free wifi , free breakfast,with plenty to choose from. It has all the extras like pool, flat screen tv, safe and housekeeping. There is only one problem. It is located close proximity to a mosque that projects prayers that not even ear plugs can drown out 4am and 6.00 am in the morning. The noise from the closest mosque is so loud it feels as if someone is screaming outside your window. We asked to move our room but were told we were already in the quietest area of the hotel. I read some of the reviews about the noise before booking and thought it must be light sleepers or perhaps the area in the hotel your staying. The previous reviews about the volume of the noise are no exaggeration. I arrived at the hotel after a 14 hour transit at 1am in the morning exhausted and still got woken from a deep sleep at 4am. The morrissey is truely a fantastic hotel, the design, the facilities and service is beyond wonderful, if it weren't for the unbelievably loud noise, I would recommend this hotel 20 times over.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

As the title suggests the Morrissey Boutique Serviced Apartments gives the impression of a very zen-like home away from home. In my mind it's perfect for business travelers or those who want a more quiet and laid-back setting.

Simply walking into the Morrissey Apartments is a pleasant experience as the interior is well decorated and clean. All of the staff are very polite and were eager to meet our requests for taxis or assistance with room-related requests such as kitchen utensils and toiletries. Another positive is the low population within the building - it always seems quite quiet and it's never long to wait for an elevator.

A basic room at the Morrissey is more spacious than basics at most other hotels. Clever use of space means the 29 sqm seems quite large and features a sofa as well as a kitchenette. Chic furnishings make it seem more boutique and designer than basic rooms at the higher end hotel chains as well. However, as mentioned by others there is some very very light noise that comes from the mosque and the sun-shades aren't strong enough to completely block incoming light.

Other features such as breakfast buffet, rooftop pool, residents lounge, gymnasium and sky garden were all pretty nice additions to the hotel and great for the price. It's even got a self-serve laundry room which opens 24/7 so you're able to get your washing done quickly and easily. Great if you're planning a longer trip!

Overall, staying at Morrissey was excellent compared to the other hotels throughout Indonesia. A couple of minor adjustments would make it pretty much perfect but it's already exceptional value at the ~$70 AUD per night paid.

Room Tip: Not sure about the orientation of the rooms. Sound of the mosque in 912 was a lot quieter than 907 b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morrissey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrissey

Address: Jalan KH. Wahid Hasyim No. 70 | Menteng, Jakarta 10340, Indonesia (Formerly Citadines Quartier Jakarta)
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#24 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrissey 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MORRISSEY is your partner in crime for your Jakarta adventure - we like to keep things simple - we offer you the freedom of self-contained, serviced apartments, with the efficiency of hotel services and facilities. We like to do things differently at Morrissey - our spaces are designed with eclectic touches with a blend of traditional Indonesian, Dutch colonial and industrial accents. Stay connected with our free high speed wifi and cabled internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Morrissey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrissey Hotel Jakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrissey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.