We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love at its first sight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morrissey

Save Saved
You added Morrissey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morrissey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan KH. Wahid Hasyim No. 70 | Menteng, Jakarta 10340, Indonesia (Formerly Citadines Quartier Jakarta)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer At Morrissey
Ranked #27 of 317 hotels in Jakarta
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Love at its first sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Really fall in love with this Morrissey.

The concept, modern, chic and compact. Love the decoration in the lobby with the vintage typewritter, bikes etc. The check-in was smooth and the reception tried their best to accommodate my check-in despite the early arrival.

My room 805, non-smoking floor. The Executive Studio was very generous in space and loved every inch of the room. The full-fledged kitchenette really helps especially in this fasting time. (the hotel provides me with the complimentary sahur and tajil for the breaking fast).

Can't find fault with the room amenities. The tv, the window blinds, sofa, lights etc were working perfectly.

My shower pressure and temperature could be improved but that compensate with the rest.

The Resident Lounge on the 6th floor was superb and really rocks! Loved the lounge chair with the other amenities inside the air-condition room for use. The view both at day and night were fantastic (minus the honking by the various vehicle on the street).

Thamrin is always my favorite area in Jakarta to stay. Everything was within reach. With the price I paid, its worth every cent.

Oh, forget to mention the cheerful and ever smiling staff? The response from them was almost immediately.
Will definitely return to Morrissey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    117
    33
    7
    7
See reviews for
28
60
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney AU
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed here for several nights while my partner was on a business trip in Jakarta. I enjoyed it. By no means a full service hotel, but funky and in a lively area reasonably close to the centre of town.

Small but well-designed rooms with excellent wi-fi coverage. Compact but nice rooftop pool and tiny gym. Breakfast selection not huge but fine. No room serve thru hotel but Italian restaurant with outdoor bar on site.

The price was right too. If I were going back to Jakarta and paying out of my own pocket, I think that I would stay at the Morrissey again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at morrisssey this weekend, and had such a pleasant time.. I wish i could live there.

Rooms are big and neat, for such an affordable price.

Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast spread was delightful. They have waffles eith honey, jam and chocolate syrup.

Wifi is fast, only annoying thing was you'd have to login again after every now and again.

Swimming pool is small but the cabana is very comfortable and cosy to hangout with friends.

Theres money changers, circle k, 7eleven and a few decent pubs nearby. Also quite near to grand indo mall (bluebirds will cost you less than rp10000)

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in July 2012. My first impression was positive, the hotel radiates a hip and welcoming vibe. The lobby is full of carefully selected mid century furniture and knick knacks. Unfortunately the hotel suffers from a bit of a 'style over substance' problem common to many boutique establishments. The check in process was painful. One staff person was overwhelmed by the number of people waiting at the front desk. Once we were finally checked in we went to our room on the sixth floor. Unfortunately the room was filthy and stank of cigarette smoke. All of the surfaces were covered in a layer of dust and grime. The white brick wall was coated in white dusty powder that came off on our suitcases. Im at a bit of a loss to explain why this room was so gross, maybe it had been empty for awhile? I decided to run a couple of tissues over the surfaces in the room and ugh, they were black with schmutz.

I asked the front desk if the room could be cleaned when we went out for dinner. The response from the clerk was that the room would be cleaned in the morning. Alas. He didn't seem to understand what I was asking for.

The rest of our stay was alright. The electronic room keys died twice necessitating trips to the front desk. The pool area was quite nice on weekdays, but on the weekend it was overrun and looked like an Indonesian village, full of chain smoking adults and naked children running around, rendering the entire area unusable for relaxation. The traffic in the street below is amplified by the roof over the pool and, combined with the sound of the afternoon call to prayer, creates a cacophony that is enough to make your skin crawl.

The breakfast was adequate but on weekends there is not enough seating for all the guests. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and with a bit more training and support I'm sure they could be running a top notch hotel. The location was absolutely perfect for our needs and the room was comfortable aside from the initial dirtiness. Talk of the bath rooms being too small is overblown, the bath rooms are adequately sized for one or two peoples use.

I may stay here again because of the value and location, but be aware that the hotel doesn't quite live up to the hype. They need to put just a little more focus on training and customer experience. Don't shoot me but if they improved their customer experience a bit they could probably raise their prices and really become the exclusive property that they think they are.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here when it had its first launched as Citadines. Location wise is great as you are in the Menteng. Plenty of food options and getting around the city by Bluebird is never a problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I am (one of the big fans of ) MORRISSEY..
Where should I start…hmmm…
First, Morrissey is really cool..strategically located in Sabang, the center of Jakarta.. surrounded by great restaurants like Ocha and Bella (back-to-back with this hotel), Tiga Nyonya, Toko Tiga, Watobi, and so many more..Not far from Sarinah Plaza with its handicraft centers, Plaza Indonesia and other cool hang out hubs.
The room is nice…sleek and clean..IKEA-inspired studio, comfy bed tho’ it’s a bit small …and very handy kitchenette…
The pool is nice…located in the rooftop, not so big but it’s adequate..with fitness room and coffee shop next to it..
The food reminds me of home..delicious Indonesian menu…breakfast is great..with fresh waffles and omelettes ready..
The decoration is really catchy..I love all the antique collections displayed…orange scooter, radio transmitters, books, sewing machines, trunks…love it..
Check-in process is smooth and I have no complaints with the service
Starting from 700.000 Rupiah per night, I will definitely come back..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

As the Harris hotel was full, my Company booked me here. Pleasantly surprised although a bit further away from the main shopping malls, that was compensated by friendly attentive staff, a nice sized clean quiet room with a kitchenette. The Japanese/Italian fusion restaurant was very good and the bed was comfortable. The put me in a twin bed room when I requested a double, but they had no doubles available so the hotel made arrangement to make the 2 twin beds into a double which worked! Well done Morrissey ;)

Room Tip: Check out the roof top pool, all rooms seem ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morrissey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrissey

Address: Jalan KH. Wahid Hasyim No. 70 | Menteng, Jakarta 10340, Indonesia (Formerly Citadines Quartier Jakarta)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#24 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrissey 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MORRISSEY is your partner in crime for your Jakarta adventure - we like to keep things simple - we offer you the freedom of self-contained, serviced apartments, with the efficiency of hotel services and facilities. We like to do things differently at Morrissey - our spaces are designed with eclectic touches with a blend of traditional Indonesian, Dutch colonial and industrial accents. Stay connected with our free high speed wifi and cabled internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Morrissey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrissey Hotel Jakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrissey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.