We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very traditional.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Restaurant

Oasis Restaurant
Jl. Raden Saleh Raya No. 47 | Jakarta Pusat, Jakarta 10330, Indonesia
+62 21 3150646
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 5,289 Restaurants in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
HCMC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Very traditional.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I came here to find something about Indonesia upon a local friend's recommendation. The restaurant served indonesian, asian & western food. I really enjoyed the food there with my girlfriend.
We were not disappointed, tradition everywhere, from the waitress to the decoration. We were happy so much.
I really liked the food there, it was so delicious but the prices were not cheap. We felt worthily.
Love it so much.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Very entertaining set up: food parade, music and mariachi style serenade at your table.
The food is good, most people choose a set menu (not sure if you can do otherwise.
Great to entertain visitors, not for every weekend though as it could get too tiring...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecetto Torinese, Italy
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Tipical Indonesian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A dinner in this restaurant is suggested if you stay in Jakarta. Atmosphere is very colonial, personnel is very professional and in the entrance you can see picture of VIP stayed here. A must is the Rijsttafel (meaning something as rice on the table) where you have 12 waitress serving you in a row and wishing you a good dinner after serving. Then why not 5 stars? Wine list is too expensive, force you to have this very good dinner with beer!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Classic surroundings, shame about the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our tour operator had organised a lunch at Oasis, with the plan being that we were be able to have something of a tasting of a number of Indonesian dishes. On the plus side, Oasis is set in a lovely old Dutch built building and the interior is classic colonial. The staff were very efficient and friendly. All was going fine till the food arrived. We had ordered selection of Indonesian dishes. And we were sadly disappointed. The slow cooked beef was incredibly tough, the satay was so dried up it might have been made the day before, and the other dishes were nothing special. Which it a real shame as this restaurant sets itself up as providing a taste of real Indonesia - which it didn't. Maybe we just got there on an off day, but in the front reception area, they proudly display a Best Restaurant award.....from about 1980. Which kind of sums it up. Needs a bit of a re-think in the kitchen as the staff, service and surroundings are up to scratch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Unique experience with incredibly attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I ate here with my wife on our honeymoon and came for the famous Rijstaffel - we were impressed by the surroundings and the whole spectacle of being served by over a dozen ladies in traditional dress! The food was delicious and a great introduction to Indonesian cuisine, and they offered extra helpings which we couldn't manage but was still appreciated. The standout feature though was the service - staff were incredibly attentive and knew our names on arrival. The online booking system was a bonus, saving expensive overseas phone calls. Overall much recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oasis Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oasis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.