We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel with First Class Services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indonesia Kempinski

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indonesia Kempinski to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. MH Thamrin No.1, Jakarta 10310, Indonesia (Menteng)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ramadan Package
Ranked #11 of 309 hotels in Jakarta
Indonesia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“First Class Hotel with First Class Services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The executive room is spacious and very modern, clean and very generous with amenities. The hotel has a small pool and hot jacuzzi on 17th floor, it is nice. The breakfast is very generous but taste ordinary.
The location is perfect, connected with Mall Grand Indonesia and close to Mall Plaza Indonesia. Absolutely a nice stay, especially for our child.

Room Tip: Get the view of Bundaran HI (HI Fountain).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales and Marketing at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback, it is only through comments we receive from our guests that we can continue to improve our service and product.

We are most concerned to learn that your breakfast experience fell short of the high standards we are renowned for achieving. Your comment on the breakfast food quality has been well noted by our Executive Chef, and we assure you that we will continue to strive to provide our guests with the highest quality food and service.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments and for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski Jakarta.

Sincerely,

Rosmalia Hardman
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    97
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
59
49
27
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pekanbaru, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I wass stayed 4 nights @ Executive Grand Deluxe and Deluxe with my family..After 1 hour check in, I decided to change for the connecting room.In that time,it's only the Grand Deluxe available for connecting door..this is where the great service begun from the staff..they arrange the grand deluxe with connecting for me,and i still got the benefits from the executive lounge access..and i still can use my executive grand deluxe room till the room was ready..by the time my connecting room ready,they take care all the luggage..that day end up with a box of chocholate from the hotel..the dinner was great,included the free cake for my anniversary parents..totally i stayed for 10 nights,and I'll get my member card for free upgrade room..can't wait to go back to Kempinski..big thanks guys.....

Room Tip: best room is the executive grand deluxe..the 'bundaran HI' view and the executive lounge acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales and Marketing at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski Jakarta.

I am delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and was pleased with the service and facilities at our Hotel. Your gracious comments with regards to your room, the benefits of Ganesha Executive Club Lounge access, and particularly with regards to the great service extended by our colleagues are highly appreciated. Your words will inspire the entire team at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski Jakarta to continue providing the best service experience.

I would like to also take this opportunity to welcome you as a member of GHA Discovery and look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski Jakarta.

Once again, thank you for recommending our Hotel on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,

Rosmalia Hardman
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I have stayed at the Kempinski 4 times in the past 12 months and I am always impressed with the service and quality of the hotel.

Rooms are very large and well decorated. Bathrooms and toilets are excellent (including the fully automatic heated toilet with auto up and down and flush function)

Beds are comfortable air con is good. Large screen flat panel tv's with excellent satellite tv selection.

Well positioned to walk straight from the hotel to Grand Indonesia shopping centre and they always have a number of Silver Bird taxi's waiting outside.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales and Marketing at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your continued loyalty to Hotel Indonesia Kempinski Jakarta. I am pleased to read your positive review, and delighted that you are always impressed with the quality and service that we extend throughout the Hotel.

We are most appreciative of your acknowledgment of our hotel services - this will certainly motivate our team to continue to deliver the best service to all our guests.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski Jakarta in the near future.

Sincerely,

Rosmalia Hardman
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

took my wife there for 3 nights before going to Banjarmasin,
booked one of their EXECUTIVE GRANDE DELUXE rooms overlooking the square , room was palacial, my wife loved the fact of the TV right above here jacuzzi tub in washroom.
Linens, robes everything top quality , truly worth every penny. ( 400 + per night ) , not alot as a foreigner i paid that and more for fine hotels in Canada.
Remember this though, this is more a couple and business hotel , not a lot of kids around. But at these prices you dont bring the kids.
Staff very helpful , and at your service 24 hours a day.
We will return , as in Jakarta , that is my hotel of choice now.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales and Marketing at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay in May 2011 on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you and your wife had a memorable stay at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski Jakarta. I have shared your feedback with the rest of the team and they are very happy to know that their efforts are highly appreciated.

Thank you again for recommending our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski Jakarta.

Sincerely,

Rosmalia Hardman
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Pretty much my Favorate hotel to stayin on my trips to Jarkarta, with Mulia hotel being a distant second.

Pros
-Your right next to a decent sized shoping mall in case you need to grab anything quick.
-hotel rooms have a 30 inch LCD type TV,
-the bathtub is big enough for 2 to sit in comfortabily, such a waste my partner dosent join me on trips.
-The room is modern and tastefully decorated.
-there is a Rain shower, hevenly after a long days work if you do not have a chance to induldge in the bathtub.
-heated toilet seats which automaticly rise when you walk in.+ that automatic wash ur bum thing ala Japan.

My favorate favorate part is that after morning call they offer a free cofee straight up to your room. I know this is not a big thing but it makes all the difference when ur staying in 5* hotels one after another, its that special personal touch which makes the difference.
Biz travelers I think you know what I mean.

Cons
Close to the 3+1 area but my traders say there is a back way into the area

Room Tip: ask for the morning coffee any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales and Marketing at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Dear Guest,

I am very happy to read your review and to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski Jakarta. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience on TripAdvisor.

Your kind comments with regards to your room, the hotel's proximity to the adjacent Grand Indonesia Shopping Town, and in particular to the morning coffee service are highly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your positive ratings and for recommending our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski Jakarta.

Sincerely,

Rosmalia Hardman
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig0581
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

The Hotel Indonesia Kempinski in Jakarta was certainly above average. The lobby was very clean and ornate, extremely modern. The dining area had the largest breakfast buffet setup that I’ve ever seen!!!
There was all types of food, table after table… massive spread! (quality food by the way)
The room was really really gorgeous, marble bathroom and a beautiful over-looking view of Jakarta. Impeccably clean and very very well done!

The location is in Jakarta where there is a dense traffic pattern, this would take much adjustment for most Americans to drive in. I would recommend having a car drive you around as their driving laws (if they even have any) are clearly not reinforced.

The restaurant had great food as well, a bit pricey but very nice service and atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales and Marketing at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your stay in April 2011. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and in particular, I am happy to read of your highly positive feedback on the breakfast buffet set up.

Once again, thank you for your positive ratings and for recommending our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski Jakarta.

Sincerely,

Rosmalia Hardman
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

So third visit to Jakarta in the last 6 months and each time the hotel has been better.
First the Shangr-La (average), then the Mandarin Oriental (above average) and now the Hotel Kempski...which was really fantastic for the following reasons:
- Stunning lobby and entrance - very modern, funky, stylish
- Helpful, smiling staff with decent English spoken
- Really high quality room with lots of space, very new finish that was modern yet functional, big and very comfortable bed, amazing bathroom with beautfiul marbled finish and hich tech touches like a TV to watch in the bath and a Japanese toilet with many different functions not normally seen outside Tokyo!
- The hotel gave me a 3pm check out at no extra cost
- Nice rooftop swimming pool
- The breakfast room was spacious and airy with nice atmosphere and modern design
- The hotel is connected to the shopping mall (Grand Indonesia), which is very convenient (and has a pretty good Paulaner Brewhouse with nice food, German beer and live music in the evening)

I would say maybe the only aspect in which the Mandarin Oriental was better was on the quailty of the breakfast - the Kempinski was not bad here, the food is high quality but there is just not quite as much choice. Maybe a picky comment but have to be fair.

Overally I was highly impressed and will be coming back when next in Jakarta.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales and Marketing at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Hotel Indonesia Kempinski Jakarta and taking the time to post your positive review on TripAdvisor. It is most pleasing to read that you continue to choose to stay with us over the many business hotel choices available in the city.

I am delighted to learn that you have been overall impressed with the quality of our hotel and services. I have shared your comments with the rest of the team and they are equally delighted to learn that their efforts are highly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you again and thank you for your continuous patronage towards Hotel Indonesia Kempinski Jakarta over the last six months.

Sincerely,

Rosmalia Hardman
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Indonesia Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indonesia Kempinski

Address: Jl. MH Thamrin No.1, Jakarta 10310, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 309 hotels in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Indonesia Kempinski 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski Jakarta represents both a celebration of the glorious past and the bright future. Established in 1962 as the first five-star hotel in Indonesia, Hotel Indonesia has been an iconic center of the nation and had positioned Jakarta on an International map of leading hotels. After the complete reconstruction and rise as Hotel Indonesia Kempinski Jakarta, the landmark once again shines at the center stage of the cosmopolitan city. Located at the strategic Bundaran HI (Hotel Indonesia Roundabout), the hotel boasts 289 spacious luxury rooms and suites including the lavish 412 sqm Presidential Suite with its private spa. Hotel Indonesia Kempinski facilities comprise of 3000sqm Kempinski Grand Ballroom for major events and conventions, the legendary oval shaped Bali Room that perfectly fit for a memorable and beautiful weddings, sumptuous dining and rooftop pool, spa and fitness center. Adjacent to Grand Indonesia Shopping Town - one of Asia's largest shopping mall, the hotel is definitely the ideal address for business, convention, wedding and extravagant shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, AsiaRooms, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Indonesia Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.