We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to hang out and spend your TGIF moment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loewy

Loewy
Lingkar Mega Kuningan E4.2 no.1, south jakarta, Jakarta 12950, Indonesia (Setiabudi)
+62-21- 2554 2378
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 5,452 Restaurants in Jakarta
Cuisines: European, Bar, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Setiabudi
Description: The idea to establish Loewy was a spontaneous one: that there is a need in Jakarta for a casual bistro – an everyday place with an interesting but accessible menu, a well-designed but informal décor, and adding to the mix: a buzzing, energetic bar serving the best, stiffest drinks in town.The inspiration came from traditional Parisian bistros by way of New York City. The style of the interior is retro/classic with a modern interpretation. The original Thonet chairs, the leather banquet seats, the subway beveled tiles, the tin and copper ceiling panels, the white brick walls; evoking this “Paris bistro meets New York loft in the 1940’s feel. It is then combined with a modern layout and concept, creating an overall ambience that is uncluttered, clean, understated, and timeless.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect place to hang out and spend your TGIF moment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Never having a meal in here cause i think this place is more suitable for hanging out, having couple shots of tequila, and meeting new friend or having reunion with the old one. They have DJ performance every Wednesday and Friday, that's I love come in here by Friday.
The atmosphere is so lovely, nice music, friendly and helpful staffs, and great drinks. I recommend cosmopolitan, the shots, and the draft beer. They make nice potato wedges too!
Next time, i have a plan to have a nice brunch in here, sounds lovely, since the place won't remind me that i am in Jakarta. Old New York i've to say.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    135
    61
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing uneven meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I came to Loewy earlier thus year and I admit the steak frites was very good. The steak then was a juicy ribeye. Tonight they were sold out of it so I chose the hanger steak. Poor choice. It was not cooked or seasoned properly. Much too dry and was more medium rare than the medium I asked for. The bearnaise was also not seasoned and certainly not like the sauce I had before.

Kiwi juice was refreshing. Too long of a wait in noisy bar with the loud blustering ex-pats.

Dessert of Liege waffles really hit spot though could have used more chantilly cream along with the sliced mangos and papayas.


Overall service fine. Menu too varied. I am still curious what the lobster Mac and cheese tastes like.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Vivid atmosphere and potential all singing all dancing encounters!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The expat community at Jakarta must love this place, as it is full of the every time we went. The food and atmosphere is all like a classic bar serving food at the West, well decorated between a formal restaurant and a bar, so you get a bit of both worlds in one; the place is more like a nice bar. Food is on the typical western menu, the beef, lamb, pork dishes, salads, fish, pasta,.... And draft beer of different types. However no Guinness draught, I warn you!
Wine prices are utterly ridiculous. I suggest there is no need to order wine as the place atmosphere is not for wine, not quite, not romantic, and the prices make no sense being at Indonesia.
Food is not spectacular at all, just average, but you enjoy it as the atmosphere is great to share with friends and colleagues. And service is a bit slow as they are really busy. Yet again it is worth getting together at this place with friends
Ah,... I forgot to say that when at the guys toilet you may find other guys willing to get to know you better,... I don't know if this is the norm, just my personal experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brunch and bloody Mary!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I wasn't feeling like having anything heavy for brunch when I visited Loewy so I ended up ordering bread crust (yes, bread crust!) and they get them for me! And being in Jakarta where Bloody Mary is not famous, I am very happy not to be served with just tomato juice (happened so many times at so many places here). Good place to chill during the weekend, love the atmosphere and everything else. This place can be very cramped during the evening but otherwise, I love it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“not a landmark anymore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I can't count the times i have been to Loewy.

For what concerns food and drink, the quality and the expectations are always in line, consistency is good so if you want to have a typical american-french bistro style food that s one of the places you would want to visit.

Disappointingly the old feel of being the centre of Jakarta nightlife is long gone, most of the locals moved to other newer venues and now only newcomers to the city tend to come here, making it a good place to meet people but not to be in a top city spot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loewy also viewed

 
Jakarta, Java
Jakarta, Java
 

Been to Loewy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loewy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.