We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taman Nasional Ujung Kulon, it is very much worth for visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ujung Kulon National Park

Ujung Kulon National Park
Jl. Raya Labuan KM.10 Carita Beach | Jl. Raya Labuan KM.10 Carita Beach, 42264, Indonesia
+62 85216448250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #173 of 835 things to do in Java
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Several islands consist of coral reefs, mangrove forest and lowland rain forest. There is one of the last populations of Javan rhinoceros here.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Taman Nasional Ujung Kulon, it is very much worth for visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Taman Nasional Ujung Kulon,

i have been there on october 2012 with an excellent guide, baduy. he made our trip with unforgetable moment. we started our adventure in peucang island, then cibom island, cidaon island, and badul island.

if u interest with trekking, beach, snorkling, nature, forest, and taking pict... TAMAN NASIONAL UJUNG KULON is very much worth the visit. enjoy ur adventure.

budget is about Rp. 750.000,-

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    25
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“One Complete Package of Adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I will definitely go back to this place again! It really is a complete package for outdoor activities junkies. Hiking, canoeing, snorkeling, camping...all in this park. Ujung Kulon national park is a vast area with various ecosystem. The national park covers several islands in west coast of Java. Most of the islands are non-inhabitants. This place is a well known reservation for the endangered Java rhinoceros. But still, it's not easy to see them. If you're lucky enough, probably you'll find their traces like footstep or droppings. Other animals easily spotted in the area are deer, boar, and at Cibom, I saw peacocks. And I also spotted a snake snuggling on a tree by the riverside of Cigenter while canoeing. If you want to spend a night camping like I did, the best spot is at Tanjung Layar. There's a vast grassy ground there that is comfortable enough for you to put your tend up and plus...you'd get to hear the oceans roar, because the camping ground is so close with the ocean. Big coral stones and a huge coral wall separate the ocean from the ground. If you want to get the best view of the sunset, you could climb up to that wall..but with extra care, because if you fall, well...you can imagine what might happen next, if you fall on those big rocks. Other option to see the sunset at Tanjung Layar, is to take a really short hike, there's a small hill not far from the camping ground. You can't just put up the tent anywhere you want in Ujung Kulon, because the wildlife (most of the time is deer) might drop in and mess around your tent. Tanjung LAyar is the recommended spot. You can't camp at Peucang island..because there are lots of deer and boar runabout the area. But there's a lodge in the island, I think it's the only lodge in Ujung Kulon. Don't worry about the deers and boars anyway...they're quite accustomed to human's presence and not aggresive, but please remember not to feed them. Besides the lodge, deers, and boars, Peucang island has one of the most awesome beach I have ever seen!! Pristine water, clean white sandy beach...man! You just can't get enough of it. Other than rain forest, Ujung Kulon also has magnificent marine ecosystem. The beaches are marvelous. You can swim at Peucang Island, the water's fine. But don't swim at Panaitan island. Because the tide is high and there are many corals spread around the island's beach. Actually, the beach of Panaitan island is also famous as one of the surfing spot in Ujung Kulon, due to it's high tide. O yeah..I also was lucky enough to see dolphins on my way to PAnaitan! Flying fish is also a common sight. Other than swimming, surfing, you can obviously snorkeling! Unfortunately I didn't snorkel at that time, but my friends said that the reef was nice. O..becareful with the jelly fish though. The best way to explore Ujung Kulon is off course by boat or klotok. You just have to explore the islands. In some island you need to pay enterance fee, but it's not expensive (sorry, I couldn't remember how much it cost). Some islands also inhabited only by rangers. Don't forget to consult a local guide, because it is a national park that still packed with wildlifes. Don't litter,make sure that you leave nothing other than footsteps. I will totally re-visit Ujung Kulon someday. There are still many area to be explored.

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful place in a remote place for the adventurous”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Went there with some friends using elf buses, the trip from Jakarta is quite long depending on the traffic condition, travelling time varied between 7-13 hours from Jakarta to Peucang Island (UK).

We stayed at Peucang Island, the main island which has hut/cottage to rent. Each main house has around 8 rooms and a shared living room.
The cottages surround of what we called the "field of [--]"...you'll know when you're there :) ...in the afternoon deers will come out to the open field from the nearby forest along with the monkeys who probably already out in the open since morning.

There's also a boar walking around the cottage, but it's already tamed and not dangerous. Electricity is only available night time till dawn...if you're travelling alone without using any tour, be sure to bring enough food, LPG, water with you...since there's no restaurant, shops, that sell food or water.

You have to cook your own food, or ask help from some of the helper there (you have to give them tips of course)

Aside from all that, the place is beautiful, sunset at the back of peucang island is great (Copong Reef), the trekking is enjoyable and adventurous.

Make sure you eat some malaria prevention medicine...I'll suggest this place for the adventurous and outdoor loving people, to arrange your own trip to UK (Ujung Kulon) would probably be a hassle for normal tourist, so I advise you go to UK with local tour that provide trip to UK.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“adventurous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

beaten track, will take about 10hours from jakarta (depends on the driver or how mad you drive)

Malaria is easy to get so prepare yourself well before and at least two weeks after getting out from there

if you're coming here and expecting to find rhino, well you might need years to get that
event some of the rangers never got lucky enough to see one :D
But the other animal like deers, monkey, birds, crocodiles, snakes, bulls etc are easy to spot

i would say remote and adventurous place

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Ujung Kulon - a different face of Java”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Thought it's no longer possible to find natural forests on Java island? The last vestiges are here, at Ujung Kulon National Park. The park is rather difficult to get to, but if nature is what you are after, it is very much worth the visit. At the time of this writing, the road from Sumur to Taman Jaya (last village before the park boundary) was so bad, that we needed 2 hrs to travel the last 20 kms.

Plan for a minimum stay of 2 days, preferably longer. Consider the 25 km jungle-trek from Taman Jaya to Tanjung Layar, and that would take about 2 days through uneven (and in rainy season: quite muddy) trail.

An excellent guide for this trip is Pak Komar, based in Taman Jaya, who started a guides-cooperative there. He can make boat-rental arrangements, and can connect you with other local guides. In dealing with them, you'd be supporting the local community: think globally, act locally.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ujung Kulon National Park also viewed

 
Serang, Banten Province
 

Been to Ujung Kulon National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ujung Kulon National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.