We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hidden away gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alam Indah

Save Saved
You added Alam Indah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Indah
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 165, Nyuhkuning | Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 881 hotels in Bali
Vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A great hidden away gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

When we first looked at Ubud and the various accommodations that are in the area we didn't originally find Alam Indah (I think it was one of their other properties though). We are glad that we booked with Alam Indah though, it was a great place to relax and escape the business of Ubud.

We had two rooms as my wife and I were travelling around Bali with our mothers. They had the Lily room and we had the Lotus room for 2 nights and then moved to the Coconut room for our last 2 nights.

The beds were comfortable, the decor was inviting and beautiful. The bathrooms were spacious, though the showers are made for much shorter people. My wife (being 5'8") and myself (5'11") found that we were above the shower head so it was a bit awkward for shampooing our heads. I think we both would kneel in the bathtub to do it.

We liked the Lotus room more than the Coconut room. Though the Coconut room does have an outdoor shower so we didn't have the shower head issue, but we found that the room was a bit too big for us. The view from the Coconut room's balcony was nice. We wish we could have stayed in the Lotus room. We did notice that the staff hang out behind the Lotus room so you can hear them washing dishes and chatting throughout the day.

All 4 of us agreed that the Lily room was the best of the 3 rooms we utilized.

The pool was awesome, and we used it each day after spending time in Ubud. Coming back to a nice relaxing atmosphere with a pool was great. We also ordered afternoon tea by the poolside too! Something we haven't had else were on our 2.5 month travels.

Breakfasts were included and were filling. Be sure not to get the jam as you'll be bombarded by honey bees.

The staff were always helpful and friendly too! The shuttle (free) from and to Ubud was always useful as were the recommendations for places to eat.

We're currently into our 6th week of travel and my wife and I agree, Alam Indah as been the nicest place we've stayed at so far. We've been to Bali, Lombok, Thailand, Laos and are currently in Vietnam. If we ever come back to Bali, we would definitely stay at Alam Indah again!

To read more about our stay at Alam Indah, I invite you to read my blog post about it: http://www.tyleringram.com/blog/bali-accommodation-alam-indah-ubud (Complete with more photos too!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    67
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
69
137
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

One of the treasures one comes across once in a while. Great location/ setting/ views/ atmosphere/ rooms/ furnishings. Just 24 hours in Ubud but the hotel helped make it very special. The hotel's restaurant on the main road was also very pleasant and really nice staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in Marwar, one floor below Hibsicus which has the same amazing views and also an open ver...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I had originally looked at Alam Shanti but it was all booked up, but Alam Indah had 2 nights available which eventually grew to the entire 6 nights we needed. From the moment we arrived by the shuffle they organised for us from the airport we were made to feel special. The hotel is small and the staff friendly, efficient and couldn't have done more for us. Nothing was any trouble, from shuffle service, organising tours or spa treatments to afternoon tea in our rooms. The little touches in our rooms of daily fresh flowers, fresh fruit on arrival or the welcome drinks just made it even more special. The hotel is nestle down off a quiet street on the edge of the Monkey Forest and overlooking a jungle area. Serene and beautiful.We actually used 3 rooms while we were there which was like a little adventure for us, the Lily Room -small but cosy , The Lotus Room and our favourite Mawar which I felt like a princess in. It was huge and so beautifully decorated. Breakfast choices were amazing,pool relaxing and inviting and there's the restaurant of theirs Laka Leke across the road which had awesome menu and we ate at numerous times.Only criticism was the towels need replacing soon, getting a little worn out, but really thats such a small thing in comparison to how great it is! Can't wait to come again. So glad this little gem found us.

Room Tip: All great rooms but loved the Mawar or the Lily room. Nice quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

No I do not have shares in Alam Indah.

However, the attentive friendly staff make me feel at home.

Stunning peacefull garden. Everthing in place from the room to the meals to the pool. It is a place where your soul can rejuvenate yet close enough to the activities of Ubud.

For something different ask to visit the Balijan Sati a local healer.

Room Tip: Hibiscus or Jepun. the views are to sell your soul.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Me and family of 3 stayed at the Gardenia Suite for 2 days. It was such a beautiful view when th suite is overlooking the forest. The people were friendly and we were quite happy with the complimentary breakfast they serve. The fruits were fresh as if they were plucked on that day itself. During our stay, there was not much mosquito disturbance and we got to see the monkeys on the path from the hotel to the main road. We were quite happy with the peaceful surrounding as if we were living in a forest. Mosquito coils were provided and they prepare the mosquito coil every night for you. They provide a shuttle service to/from Ubud on request which we utilised it to go to Ubud Market.

As we were a family of four, I had to take the daybed upstairs to sleep with my family. After we came back, we were suprised when the staff wrapped the daybed like a bed, complete with everything you would expect to find on a bed (including a mosquito net) so kudos to them! Thank you for the stay we hope to come back again!

Room Tip: There is no TV inside all the rooms but we don't mind that because we got the magnificent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at Alam Indah for our Honeymoon and found it to be a gorgeous traditionaly balinese place to stay.

The Gardens are beautful and are maintained everyday. The pool is beautiful and the view is gorgeous.

Staff are friendly and helpful, the position of the hotel is great and the price is sooo cheap for such a gorgeous accommadation.

Just a warning.. do not carry plastic bags to walk on path near monkey forest...they will steal your stuff and try to attack you!!

We will be back again

Thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: Lotus room has air conditioner, day bed and less bugs, it is close to pool and reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Alam Indah last year and were so taken with the place that we decided it was worth the trip to Bali just to come to Alam Indah and disappointed that we were only staying for 5 nights. Its a place we could stay at forever. I came on my own and stayed for 6 days at the end of August. Its such a haven of tranquility with its lush tropical garden and sparkling pool and lack of activity. The staff are very friendly and helpful and I felt right at home. Its a short distance to the main shopping area but to me that's a bonus. I enjoyed my daily walks alongside the monkey forest. The staff are available to provide lifts - there and back - but its actually delightful to walk and soak up the atmosphere. There is no television so if that's what you're after go somewhere else. But if its just soaking up the peaceful Ubud atmosphere and lounging either poolside or on your verandah, this is the place. Wifi is freely available. We're coming back for 10 days next year. Wish I could visit more often.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alam Indah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Indah

Address: P.O. Box 165, Nyuhkuning | Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in Bali
Hotel Class:3 star — Alam Indah 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Alam Indah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Indah Hotel Bali
Alam Indah Ubud
Alam Indah Hotel Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alam Indah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.