We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing and peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Joya, Villa & Bungalows

Save Saved
You added La Joya, Villa & Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Joya, Villa & Bungalows
Balangan Beach | Jalan Uluwatu, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #428 of 902 hotels in Bali
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“relaxing and peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

we stayed at the la joya for 3 nights. its a perfect place to laze by the infinity pool with a view of the sea. the deck chairs have a perfect view. the delux bunglow is cosy with a warm, pleasant ambiance and an outdoor shower. maintanence however was a little poor with the airconditioner not working during our stay. there is no TELEPHONE in the room so for room service you have to walk to the reception. make sure you have the bellboty tell you where the light switches are or you'll spend hell lot of a time trying to find them. and beware of the mosquitos.

the campus is lush green with well manicured lawns. the spa is relaxing, worth the money and recommended. balangan beach is just 5 min walk away and is amazing any time of the day. and you can hear the waves right upto your room.

the menu is limited but delicious. and the mushroom omlette is yummy...!!!

the hotel is worth the proximity to balangan beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    79
    34
    23
    17
See reviews for
68
112
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

LaJoya Bungalows went over and above our expectations for our daughter's wedding, Every detail was attended to and perfectly executed. We enjoyed a barbeque on the beach the night before the wedding, and the wedding cocktail hour and reception were amazing. The food was abundant and delicious, and the entire staff was wonderfully friendly and helpful. We stayed 4 nights with 50+ guests, who all thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful setting and pools. The entire facility was very clean and inviting. I would highly recommend LaJoya to anyone looking for a great vacation or destination wedding. I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days. It was perfect. Surf in the morning, laze about all afternoon. The food is great, the staff is great, and the location is perfect for those that enjoy a beautiful uncrowded beach with fun surf. Our bungalow was small but very Balinese. It's not the four seasons, so high maintenance travelers stay away. It's quite far from Seminyak and Kuta (1 hour taxi ride) which was perfect for us. The best place we stayed in Bali!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Disappointed by some of the staff unfriendly attitude, the food is overpriced and not of very good quality, can't sleep at night due to many dogs barking, the beds are uncomfortable, the air-conditioning system doesn't work very well, the liquid soap displayed in the shower smell so bad that it is impossible for guest to use it, the bungalow doors don't close. The resort is well maintained with a beautiful landscape and scenery but the price asking is too high considering many negative points. Our first impression of the resort was so positive but at the end of our stay we were so disappointed, I won't come back to this resort and I won't recommend this resort to friend and family.

Room Tip: the rooms are basic but you can't sleep during the night due to dogs barking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We moved here after staying at another resort with shower water that smelt like sewage and absolutely loved it. The bungalow was cleaned and tidied every day, the pool and views are fantastic and loved sunsets from the deck. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the family room, despite the setting (seaview, quiet environment), i would not recommand this place. The aircon was broken and leaked on one of the beds (as in half of the bed was soaked), the upper deck was so hot that we couldnt sleep, and there was mosquitoes all night. In one word, we didnt sleep. When we asked for anything (renting scooters, slight change on restaurant menus) the lack of flexibility was appalling. Reckon there are enough villas at similar rate within the area to not stay in such a place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandra headland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is our second time to La Joya. A very beautiful spot to stay in Bali. Overlooking Balangan Beach where the surf is always good. Bungalow style living. Outdoor showers with great breakfast. Negative side was the mosquitoes were really bad. Also the villagers dogs that barked all night and day. Two weeks was too long to stay here so I would suggest no more than 5 days. We will however be back as it is a beautiful location with awesome staff.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Joya, Villa & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Joya, Villa & Bungalows

Address: Balangan Beach | Jalan Uluwatu, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#140 Top resorts Hotel in Bali
#168 On the Beach Hotel in Bali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your La Joya, Villa & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Joya, Villa And Bungalows
La Joya, Villa & Bungalows Hotel Bali
La Joya Hotel
La Joya Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Joya, Villa & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.