We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Japanese food to be found in Bali” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seki Tei

Seki Tei
Jl Bumbak No:111 | Anyar Kelod, Bali, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,149 of 3,626 Restaurants in Bali
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best Japanese food to be found in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My husband and I both adore Japanese cuisine. Our favourite is a sushi counter serving the absolute freshest fish simply and skilfully prepared then presented beautifully, not the new style Japanese sushi which is covered in mayonnaise and includes lots of deep fried food. So we considered we were somewhat blessed to find this restaurant not far from where we live.
We are now regulars. We like to go every week. It's the kind of food that satisfies the eye, the palate and the soul. You leave feeling that you have nurtured your body with really good food.
The trick is always ask what fish came in today. Have that and nothing else when it comes to ordering sashimi and sushi. The restaurant also deserves special mention for both it's miso soup and it's rice. So many restaurants these days prepare a murky, overly salty broth. The miso here is to be enjoyed in silence with contemplation for dance within the bowl between the broth and the miso. A soup for the soul. And the rice? Well most places cook the rice for too long, leaving it a mushy, congealed mess which has little flavour. The cook the rice so that each grain can be distinguished. It has a very pleasant mouth feel and delicious flavour.
So happy we found this little gem. Miso, rice and fresh fish. Magic.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Japanese food, hidden secret will go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Unusual but lets start at the end of our meal first. When we needed a taxi for a short 2 minute drive back to our villa as our usual driver was not able to pick us up and walking at night with our 5 yr old daughter was not an option a taxi was ordered, it turned up so that we were in a fix an proceeded to charge us 8 times the actual rate. We refused, we were stuck. The waitresses were embarrassed and angry that this guy tryed to rip of a young family. 2 minutes later we were all on the back of scooters being taken home THATS GENUINE SERVICE, THEY EVEN REFUSED TO ACCEPT A MONETARY THANKYYOU.
Back to our meal. The menue is traditional, extencive and very reasonably priced. Our meals were all delicious, the beer icey cold and the service professional. We will return here often and my daughter has a life long memory of speeding along through the night on the back of her first scooter ride. Excellent!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpassar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Consistently good Japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Never had a bad meal here which cannot be said for many Japanese restaurants in Bali.

Food is always fresh and service is fantastic. Eat there regularly and find it surprisingly quiet each time, it's a shame as the service and quality at Seki tei deserves to be recognised.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fresh, tasty and polite friendly service. A gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

A lovely atmosphere, clean and beautifully designed with a cool air conditioned space. Food is great, fresh and tasty with high quality ingredients. Staff are wonderful. Prices are very reasonable for such quality food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Best Japanese in Bali south of Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Wow, finding this place was a real bonus. A group of us had rented a villa in Kerobokan and despite having a full time chef were recommended to spend the last night out at Seki Tei. What a great night, the place is spotlessly clean and the food simply scrumptious! Between us we must have tried almost everything on the menu and they were all winners. The sushi was sooo fresh and the sake to die for. The chef and owner is Japanese and he has trained his local staff to cater to your every whim and desire.
It’s an easy 15 min taxi trip from Legian so well worth the short trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seki Tei also viewed

 

Been to Seki Tei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seki Tei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.