We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonable price with a good taste of the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portabella Bistro

Portabella Bistro
Jalan Dewi Sri 68 | (inside Fontana hotel), Bali 80361, Indonesia
0361-8947002
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #534 of 2,907 restaurants in Bali
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Dining should be a unique experience. At Fontana Hotel Bali, it is both a journey and a destination. See for yourself how the chefs offer an ultimate palate experience that your taste buds would be delighted by. Portabella bistro Tucked in the heart of Kuta and celebrated for the quality of the food and cool atmosphere, Portabella presents a wholesome dining experience to remember. Through innovative cooking approach, Portabella’s expert chefs offer the ultimate palate experience for customers using seafood as the main ingredients, delivering characteristic cuisine with endless possibilities.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A reasonable price with a good taste of the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Tomorrow i went to portabella with all the crew in my office.
For me the price,taste,service and the ambience of portabella is really fabulous.
I ordered the pasta * i forget the name * and the taste is really good enough.
Well for people who loved italian food i really recommended portabella bistro.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    13
    15
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Bistro with Authentic Italian Chef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My favourite Italian restaurants are the ones where you have a big Italian chef who learned to make his tomato sauce from his Mamma. Vittorio is that Chef and Portabella is that restaurant. Make sure you visit when Vittorio is on and ask him what is good for the day. I can assure you he will pick for you what is best and fresh that day. Vittorio is a true host. I take my hat off to a chef who takes the time to introduce himself each guest. Hospitality how it should be done. I really like the pastas here. Properly cooked 'Al Dente' the Italian way. The focaccia breads are superb. The salads varied and delicious. Top quality for a very reasonable price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“not as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Thinking about having dinner with my fiance, she said that there's Italian Restaurant at Fontana Hotel. So I search from google and call to the Portabella Restaurant. I am asking the most favorite food and price. Decide to have dinner there, all information that we had from phone, so diffrent with what we see in the me. I order steak for my fiance and rib eye for me as a main course, salad with duck meat to start the dinner and cappucinno + afogatto as a dessert. Salad its so delicious but big surprise that our main course serve with same salad diffrent is without duck. The waiter didnt inform us in the begining. So we eat 3 bowl of salads. Waiter didnt ask what kind of potato that we want for company the steak and rib eye. My fiance asking for chili sauce, and coaster for our cold drink, because the waiter not serve our cold drink with coaster, so our table have a lot of water from our glass. My fiance steak its too salty and more surprise when shes second request for chili sauce coming is ABC small sachet in small plate. Im still hoping that the coffee will closed in a good way as I order is my fiance favorite drink and I notice from their website have a coffee corner. But again its not as I expected, the cappucinno taste like cafelatte mix with fresh milk and he serve only with white sugar in a big place. and my fiance afogatto very far as she expected. My dinner experience in this restaurant far from what I saw in all recommended comment and expecting as a restaurant

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“amazing dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

two days me with my family visit portabella bistro get different experience specially for dessert, this amazing dessert in this island, thank you very much for "Ega" to make my dessert very special and delicious taste, I will be back to this restaurant because taste the dessert unforgettable

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Authentic and Delicious Italian Food in Bali”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stay at Fontana whenever I'm in Bali for business, and I have dined at Portabella three times already.

It is a great place for dinner, with a friendly price tag, authentic parmesan cheese, mozzarella cheese, al dente pastas and great pizzas.

I kept looking sideways to see if the chefs on-duty were Italian, but no, they looked Indonesian enough, those gentlemen.

If I wanted Italian, I believe this is the best I can get in Bali.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portabella Bistro also viewed

Seminyak, Kuta
Bali, Indonesia
 
Bali, Indonesia
Bali, Indonesia
 

Been to Portabella Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portabella Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.