We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer & Greasy Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba Gump

Bubba Gump
Komplek Pertokoan Kuta Centre, Blok A1 No. 1, Bali, Indonesia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,019 of 3,717 Restaurants in Bali
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beer & Greasy Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

OK so this is the place you go when you want beers, greasy food and a "camp" environment. We stumbled upon this place on the walk back to our hotel and just had to drop in. There's great attention to detail in this place - especially if you know the movie "Forrest Gump". The cocktail menu's are on table tennis bats, all the signs are either from the 1950's or quotes from the movie. There's also quite a unique way of getting your waiters attention - you have 2 number plates on your table.....when you need the waiter you use "stop forrest stop" and when you are all sorted you use "run forrest run". We had some amazing waiters, very bubbly and they even performed some little magic/card tricks. The staff are very loud and happy, so it makes for an enjoyable visit. The cheesy fries and "bubba gump dip" (cheese, artichokes, spinach etc) were delish!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    44
    21
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great experience but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had lunch at Buuba Gump's in Kuta, the food, service and experience was great however it was expensive for Bali prices. Been there done that now, probably wouldn't go back. Love the way the staff call out and sing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Family Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Bubba Gumps was a huge hit with our large group of 13 (mostly teenagers) The decor was interesting even for those who have never seen the movie with lots of 50’s/Forest Gump memorabilia around the room. We booked earlier in the day to ensure we were in the airconditioned section, specify that you want the front airconditioned room as the back one lacks the atmosphere of the rest of the restaurant. While shrimp is predominant on the menu there are also burgers and a few other choices for non-shrimp eaters. It’s right next door to Waterbom so a great place to eat after a long day in the sun.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“COOL - ADVERAGE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The place was cery lively. tge whole staff sang happy birthday to my friend which was a bonus. Definatly love it here food could be improve but it was all round fun night
thankx :(

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Plenty of atmosphere here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great food and variety. If you are a Forest Gump fan you will not be disappointed but even if you are not you will love it. Forest Gump memorabila all over the place and the movie being played continuously. The staff are fantastic and really get into their roles. If you are having a birthday celebration then this is the place to go. Staff will all come out with their pots and pans and bring a cake out singing. Very very funny. We had the pasta, chicken corn and mash and the mahi mahi - all very very happy with our meals.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Gump? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba Gump, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.