We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Ala Carte food and the best of views....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mahagiri Panoramic Resort & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mahagiri Panoramic Resort & Restaurant to your Saves list
Mahagiri Panoramic Resort & Restaurant
Rendang Karangasem, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #624 of 951 Hotels in Bali
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good Ala Carte food and the best of views....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stopped by for a quick lunch here, on our way back from the Besakih temple. Did not take the buffet lunch priced at rp 90,000, ordered ala carte instead.... Chicken satay set and ayam penyet or something similar( grilled chicken) and fresh coconut water as well as fresh orange juice.....
We sat out in the garden.... With amazing views of the rice terraces and mountain in the background. Really really awesome view, we were so happy to have come here, on recommendation from our driver that day! This place is a real find....
Very off the beaten track ( its about 2 kms in on a very quite and small lane), nothing fancy in the food... Just simple, fresh and very tasteful dishes... Satay just the way it should be - came on an earthen coal mini grill.The juice was the freshest ever !
Service was good and the whole setting was very special.

It is a very good lunch break on the way back from Besakih.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

We had only a lunch here, but it was excellent due to the view of rice terrases and volcane. For 80.000 ide (8 USD) /person you will have unlimited buffett-style food with local and Asian selection.
You can eat while you see the breathtaking Panorama. Try to get here before the afternoon clouds arrive.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

On our way to Mount Agung and Besakih Temple, our travel guide Hari Made arranged for our group to stop for lunch at this restaurant and were mesmerized by the beauty of the view of Mount Aguna. The food was very good and the seating was perfect for our large party of 16 travelers. I hope to visit again some day and maybe stay in a Bungalow at the Resort Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our travel group stopped for lunch at Mahagiri on our way to Mount Agung and Pura Besakih. We enjoyed a wonderful buffet of Balinese food, fruits and desserts. The view of the mountain and the panoramic vistas of the rice fields below were breathtaking. I would certainly recommend this stop to all who are enjoying the most beautiful island in the world!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Very popular place. Our driver took us there. Excellent buffet lunch-asian food. As the previous 2 reviewers said, the USP is the view while you are dining but food also is very good in its own right. Rice terraces, lush green, drizzling slightly. Amiable owner-host.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This review is for the restaurant only (I did not stay at the resort); it has an absolutely spectacular OMG view of a large rice terrace valley and Mount Gunung Agung in the distance. The resort grounds were well-maintained and scenic as well.

The restaurant features a buffet with a good variety of reasonably well-prepared and tasty food, and includes a coffee and tea station. Service was friendly and attentive, with the waitress bringing me to a "front row centre" table for the view. The Manager dropped by to chat and gave me a copy of the resort's post-card as a memento. Nice touch.

Cost of a diet coke, the buffet, and 21% tax and service charge came to 127,000 IDR; perhaps a tad on the expensive side by Bali standards but certainly not unreasonable. You come here for the view, and it's scenery like this that makes the air fare from Toronto and the 25 hour travel time more than worth it. If you're touring in the area, this spot is well worth a visit. I hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed here one night on our way to the Besakih Temple (which is absolutely gorgeous). The owner welcomed us personally and was so very nice. He was previously a tour guide in Bali so has extensive experience working with tourists. The resort is located on his family's land. The location is absolutely fabulous as it overlooks rice fields at the base of a volcano that is visible on clear days. The staff were very nice and our room was clean and quiet. The food was ok but not the best we've had in Bali and it cost a little more than average, but still reasonably priced. I'd definitely recommend staying here as it was very nice and there are very few other places to stay in the area (if any).

Room Tip: New rooms were being constructed while we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mahagiri Panoramic Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahagiri Panoramic Resort & Restaurant

Address: Rendang Karangasem, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali
Hotel Style:
Ranked #624 of 951 Hotels in Bali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Mahagiri Panoramic Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahagiri Panoramic Resort & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.