We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape into another world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kampung Kecil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kampung Kecil to your Saves list
Kampung Kecil
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Jalan Kutat Lestari #98, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 1,744 Specialty Lodging in Bali
Singapore
1 review
“Escape into another world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Wake up to birds chirping outside your window in any one of the the villas in the kampung. All of them are designed differently, but they all look and feel great!

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Kampung Kecil is lovely place to stay in a quiet area of Bali where locals and expats live happily together. The villas are beautifully designed and furnished with a mixture of Javanese and Balinese antiques and handicrafts. The attention to detail is obvious in the whole complex from the wonderful stone baths, ornate and serenely designed pool and wonderful beds. There is also an interesting collection or maritime artifacts that the owners has carefully restored. The staff helpful and polite and serve a great breakfast - the villas all have facilities for self catering.
The Villas are wonderfully peaceful and relaxing and Kampung Kecil is location is great base for exploring Bali and a great alternative to 5 star hotel with far more character and charm

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

After a busy day of sight-seeing and shopping in Bali coming back to the serene, lush surroundings of Kampung Kecil was a god-send. The traditional Javanese wooden villas are beautifully renovated and set amongst tropical gardens overlooking an inviting pool. Complimentary cooked breakfasts and fresh fruit (at your time of choosing) on the verandah each morning were a wonderful start to the day. The quiet attentivenenss of the staff added to the classic Bali hospitality we received at these villas. If you don't want to stay at a run-of-the-mill hotel in Bali we would highly recommend Kampung Kecil as the place to relax and rejuvenate. Will definitnely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

K K is an oasis in the middle of Sanur providing the serenity that one looks for in Bali. The accommodation, in traditional Javanese houses, is spectacular. The pool and surrounding gardens add to the delight/ The staff were always attentive and most obliging. The option of being able to eat-in was very much appreciated. My family will not stay anywhere else when we are in Bali.

Room Tip: I found all the rooms to be very attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

My husband and I recently spent a very relaxing weekend at Kampung Kecil. I can best sum it up as a slice of serenity amidst the hustle and bustle of southern Bali. It is off the beaten path but conveniently located close to tourist sites and a short walk away from spanning rice fields and the beach. The villas are tastefully decorated with authentic, quality Javanese and Balinese décor and are full of character - much better than staying in a hotel room that could be anywhere in the world. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained with exotic flowers and a pool. The staff is friendly and delivered a delicious, complementary room service breakfast timed to coordinate with our schedule. It was such a luxury to wake up to complete breakfast spread of eggs, bacon, toast, local fruits, juice, coffee and tea. The villas are located close to restaurants and stores, but we preferred the tranquility of the villas and ordered all of our meals to go and ate on the porch of our villa. The villas are also equipped for longer term stays with fully furnished kitchens, but our visit was too short. Our weekend there left us recharged and relaxed - the way that Bali should be experienced.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We have visited Bali several times before, but our stay at Kampung Kecil was head and shoulders above the rest. It is a piece of paradise within paradise. Many other places in Bali do not offer the calm, serene quiet that you search for in a Balinese getaway, but KK was a breath of fresh air. Quite close to all the attractions you may want to visit, but once you enter the beautiful garden you feel miles away. We spent 90% of our non-sleeping hours on the porch of our villa, because the garden and deck furniture were so relaxing. The staff was happy to accommodate our different breakfast times each morning depending on early departures or late nights (my could not miss the fresh tropical fruit and juices each day). We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Luckily we got to see some of the other villas and each one is as uniquely beautiful as the next. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mataram
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Kampung Kecil is a wonderful quiet place, far away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist places. The traditional Javanese "Yoglo" and "Limas" houses are not only beautiful but also allow for plenty of fresh air and coolness. The houses surround a beautiful pool and a lush tropical garden, attracting a variety of native birds. With a fully equipped kitchen, we could prepare our own meals rather than go out for dinner. In short, Kampung Kecil is the perfect place for a truly relaxing and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kampung Kecil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampung Kecil

Address: Jalan Kutat Lestari #98, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 1,744 Specialty Lodging in Bali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kampung Kecil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kampung Kecil is a private villa compound designed to accommodate extended families and groups of friends in luxury and privacy. The grounds consist of four beautiful, traditional, antique Javanese teak villas with a spectacular pool as the center piece. The village features a meeting pavilion perfect for banquets, weddings, yoga classes and executive retreats. Each unique villa was originally a family home in central Java, rebuilt in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kampung Kecil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kampung Kecil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.