We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thangka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Thangka Hotel to your Saves list
Thangka Hotel
No. 38 Yutuo Road, Lhasa 510000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 297 Hotels in Lhasa
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at Thangka hotel as part of a Travelsphere holiday. We asked for a change of room after one night as there was an all night disco on nearby (not in the hotel). There was no problem with this - another guest on the same holiday also asked to change rooms. The hotel was a bit tired. Reception and the dining rooms could have done with a freshen up. Our room was totally adequate - the beds were firm but we prefer this. Unfortunately we did not sleep particularly well as we suffered to an extent with alititude sickness. The shower room was good although the shower door was slightly off so we had a wet floor.
The meals were ok - breakfast probably the better of the meals we had in the hotel. We stayed for 4 nights. The hotel was well placed for the Joqhang temple and markets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
21
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

One of the worst hotels I have ever visited thanks to. Vjv
Dirty ripped carpets very poor food
Scruffy
Disgrace

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Thangka, had 2 rooms (returned to Hotel after days outside of Lhasa). We choose a quiet room on the 4th floor it was nice (the bed and pillows are real hard!). The second room was actually even better (shower door closed properly - we never touched the shower curtain). Breakfast was great - we eat a lot (egg, cereal, bread&jam, noodles, yoghurt with fruit etc), we had such a poor experience in other Tibetan hotels...
Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Wonderful hotel in tibetan style. Breakfast buffet included. The bedrooms are amazing, clean, big, well decorated, with everything you need, including oxigen bottles and medicine for hights sickness for very good prices! The location is perfect, just few steps to Jokhang and the street market. The only problem was the internet wifi absence (only inside the bar in 4 floor, free for guests). Strongly recommended!

Room Tip: try to pick up a room with Jokhang's view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Excellent location near the Jokang Temple, Barkor Square, markets and restaurants– central yet set back in an alley so is quiet. (We did not experience disco noises as other reviewers did). Reception service acceptable – speaks some English and quite helpful. Room is spacious with Tibetan hand crafted furniture and chair carpets.
The bathroom is nice but has no door– only partial glass partisan which does not offer privacy.
Breakfast is average with cook to order eggs and a good variety of mostly Chinese style breakfast.
No room temperature control and we had to ask the front desk to turn up the thermostat.
Free internet & safe but the safe is not bolted.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The hotel is in tibetan style, but offers all comfort one needs.

Breakfast is basic, but nice.

It's on a great location, close to the temple, market and restaurants, but also very close to a disco (well, we thought it was a disco) which starts at 10 pm and goes on until 3-4 am. So yes, bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in September 2011. This Hotel is in a terrific spot right in the heart of things. The rooms where very nice if not a little strange but also comfortable. Kettle provided but take your own tea bags. Breakfast quite basic but good. The only downside is the disco close by which starts at 12am and goes on until 3am- take your earplugs if you are sensitive to noise....Highly recommended for the location alone.

Room Tip: ask for the quietest room they have
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thangka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thangka Hotel

Address: No. 38 Yutuo Road, Lhasa 510000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip DaoDao and Agoda so you can book your Thangka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thangka Hotel Lhasa, Tibet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thangka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.