We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5 Section 1, Linkuo East Road, Lhasa 850000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 297 Hotels in Lhasa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NSW
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

This hotel is probably 4-star by international standards. However, it is considered luxurious by local standard. It is around 15min walk from Bakhor circuit. It has a convenient store right opposite it, where we bought all our night snacks and daily drinking water.

The hotel is building a new site 5 min away, and is due to open late 2010 or early 2011. I would expect the rates to jump significantly once it opens. Next time you book, be sure to know whether you are paying to stay in the new site, or the old current site.

Daily buffet breakfast is included, which serves a reasonable range of western-style breakfast. The bacon is usually too crunchy and hard for my liking. and the noodles are usually too salty. So I stay with the omelettes and porridges and pancakes. Good range of fruits and cakes and yogurts.

I chose this hotel because I wanted to have comfortable sleep to minimise risk of altitude sickness. Well, I din't get sick, so maybe it worked?

Free use of business centre computers with internet (2x computers). The free wifi in lobby has pathetic connection and speed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    76
    36
    10
    2
See reviews for
24
53
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

+ Check in & welcome: Very nice and fast
+ Rooms: nice (recently painted), free wifi

Food: good, breakfast offer could change a bit over time

- Cleanliness: Room was dusty, could be cleaned better
- Small bar area

But nontheless the best hotel so far in Lhasa (good to have a place with an international standard there)! St. Regis will open soon!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Russia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Till October, when brand new St. Regis hotel will be open, Four Points is by far the best hotel in Lhasa. This town is still much undeveloped in terms of tourism. Today there are still much more pilgrims staying in hotels and guesthouses than Western tourists. That's why most of them are not touristic hotels with a certain range of services as we usually expect from a standard hotel. Four Points hotel provides all you need: well trained staff, good breakfasts, clean and rather stylish rooms, pretty good lounges and inner yard. Definitely it's the only Western hotel in Lhasa.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo-7
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

This Hotel is the Best in Tibet with excellent rooms and very good food. The rooms are clean and spacious with nice interior design. Hot water was always available unlike the Tibet Hotel we stayed b4 which was a total night mare.

Tibet is a beautiful country with lot of culture and heritage. but the living conditions of the common farmers are very poor. Overall a nice experience

Also, the train from Tibet to Beijing is very scenic the train doesn't always stay clean and can be very boring for young children.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

I arrived at this excellent hotel on the evening 26th. June 2010, quite ill from altitude sickness and a severe pulmomonary infection.
The management and the most excellent medical staff immediately pooled their substantial resources and started working towards my recovery.

Such was the level of their skills, I was soon able to resume my tour of Lhasa and Tibet, culminating in a trip to Mount Everest Base Camp!!!
I have traveleld extensivelly over many years, and NO WHERE IN THIS WORLD have I experienced such care and dedication by hotel staff.
Special mention to Dr. Fang. ABSOLUTELY DEDICATED, PROFESSIONAL, CARING and VERY VERY SKILLFULL!!!
I am indebted to all the MAGNIFICENT STAFF AT "Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa"

George K. Grace ( Australia)

PS I shall return one day, if only to thank the staff personally.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Agree with previous reviews. Definitely a great hotel with all the amenities one would expect. The rooms are spacious, the bed is comfy. The staff are very friendly and the service is good. The restaurant has a buffet for breakfast and also dinner, but serves 'a la carte' food as well. There are a few tables in the courtyard which makes it a prefect place for some drinks after a long day out. The day we arrived, it was very windy and a lot of dust and sand was in the air. So we were really glad to have chosen this modern hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

A great hotel with good facilities and service. The hotel suites were well appointed (great shower) and comfortable. The restaurant served decent western and Asian food, and provided a welcome break from the Nepalese and Tibetan fare at the local restaurants, and at reasonable prices. The breakfast and dinner buffets were particularly good value.
Even after 2.5 days of acclimatisation, I had the misfortune of suffering from a severe attack of AMS, but the hotel had a doctor in our suite within 15 minutes, complete with monitoring equipment, oxygen cylinder, drip, and enough drugs to make sure I was fit and ready to head for Mt. Everest Base Camp only 24 hours later.
The hotel is located away from the main roads - don't be deterred by the rather understated entrance. It's about a 30 minute walk to the Potala Palace, and about a 20 minute walk to the Jokhang temple.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa

Address: No.5 Section 1, Linkuo East Road, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Lhasa
Four Points By Sheraton Lhasa Hotel Lhasa
Four Points Lhasa
Sheraton Lhasa
Lhasa Four Points
Lhasa Sheraton
Four Points By Sheraton Lhasa Tibet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.