We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but out of the way” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lhasa Manasarovar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lhasa Manasarovar Hotel to your Saves list
Lhasa Manasarovar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yangcheng Square, Gongbutang Rd, Building A, Lhasa 850000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 296 Hotels in Lhasa
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Okay, but out of the way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed in Lhasa in December....a little late writing the review. This was the best of the hotels we stayed at in Tibet. First thought when I entered the hotel is cold. The heat didn't seemed to be turned on for the 1st story. Made breakfast a kind of chilly adventure. The heat seemed to be on in the rest of the hotel. The room was decorated nioely, it was warm, and had a pc with an internet connection. Not really much to do around the hotel. A couple of place to buy food within walking distance. Not a bad hotel, just nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

This is an odd property. Build to be luxurious about 5 years ago, management has allowed it to deteriorate prematurely. The room was comfortable, and had Tibetan trim and a charming arched window. The staff was friendly and tried to please - but only one bellboy could speak English - and he was delightful. The access to the "spa" is across the parking lot - which is a cold trek at night! The spa entrance was shockingly rundow, and someone was sleeping on the couch in the entry, with beer bottles and litter on the floor. We were refused entry to see the spa the first day. The next day we were reluctantly shown around. No water in the hot tub, the steam room was used for construction storage, and the dry sauna appeared unsanitary. There was a sense that perhaps some of the employees live or party there. The most disturbing thing was when we went down the stairs from our room to the lobby. At the second floor, there was a locked gate blocking passage. I was horrified to think of what would happen in the case of a fire. Isn't this a legal violation? By the way, the lobby door remains open, so it is near freezing in the breakfast room in the morning. And get there before the large groups do - when the fruit and pastries are gone, they are not replaced. I think it is an issue of improper training and not understanding the westerner's expectations when traveling. When I talked with another American who was staying at the Four Points Sheraton, he told me that his room was generic - you could be anywhere in the world - and there were glitches with the hotel. Our guide said that would not have necessarily been a better choice. Though they are building a new Sheraton at this time. The location is out a ways, so it would take a taxi ride to go anywhere. And there is nothing to do at the property. So when you come to your room, plan on entertaining yourself there. PS wherever you stay, buy a canister of oxygen right away. Just in case the altitude gets to you.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

The hotel is very grand, though some of the facilities are lacking. It feels much older than it is. Most people there speak no English so getting help with anything can be difficult. The room was fine, but the main problem is the location. There are other hotels within nice walking areas but this hotel was in an out-of-the-way location. I would not recommend the dining room. The breakfast buffet has toast and eggs, but also a lot of other food that did not look so appealing. The dinner buffet was not good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Acceptable hotel in this area where you would not have high expectations with respect to hotel management.
Prematurely worn out 3-yr old hotel with many things falling apart already in the bathroom, furniture etc ...
In some rooms, the covered panel part of the remote control for the air-conditioner is glued together, so only heating is available in some rooms in summer. Why do they do that ??!!
The lobby is dark, to save electricity I presume.
They actually keep a pet cat in the main restaurant. Great news for animal lovers, but eye-popping for the average " 4- 5- star hotel guests". The cat is called "Jun Jun", a lovely cat nevertheless.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

The location in Lhasa for this hotel is a bit out of the way, so there is no walking about of any interest. The rooms were actually quite nice (see the photos uploaded by previous reviewer), however the beds were extremely hard. One of our small group used the duvet from the extra bed in the room to sleep on top of. If you only have one bed in the room, you can request an additional duvet. The service in the restaurant hotel was terrible for dinner. There were only 3 menus in the restaurant that had any English on them, and nobody seemed to know what they were supposed to do. Food wasn't very good either, although breakfast buffet was entertaining. You must read the list of things they charge for, e.g. spot on carpet, damp floor, etc. They are not kidding. Do an inventory and evaluation as soon as you check in. They actually wouldn't let our group check out, because they claimed one 79-year-old was missing a condom in his room (not that I'm saying that's not possible....)

  • Liked — Size of room
  • Disliked — Service in restaurant
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W. Htfd. CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

This hotel was recommended by China Highlights as part of the individual tour they arranged for us. The hotel, like all their arrangements proved to be an excellent choice. Only open about 8 months, it is very modern in a very interesting style. The rooms were very attractive and comfortable and included a steam machine to offset the dryness of the air. The staff was professional and very friendly, the food good. It was ideally complimentary to the city and its sights.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

We stayed at this hotel on our last night in Lhasa City. My wife and I were on the Qinghai-Tibet Railway & Tibet tour. This hotel was far far better than King Sun Grand Hotel we stayed earlier. (See my review on King Sun Grand Hotel, Lhasa.)

The room we stayed:
was clean & spacious
 had spacious wardrobe
 had a large TV set
 had a proper dressing table
 had a computer with internet access
 had 2 large single beds
 had bedroom slippers
 bedside cabinets and telephone
 had coffee table with 2 chairs
 had a very modern bathroom with
oglass wall & screen
onice toiletries
osaving mirror
otelephone
ohair dryer
ofuturistic weighing scale
otissue paper

  • Liked — Clean spacious room with modern facilities
  • Disliked — Placing the computer on the dressing table (should have a separate table for the computer)
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lhasa Manasarovar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lhasa Manasarovar Hotel

Address: Yangcheng Square, Gongbutang Rd, Building A, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 296 Hotels in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lhasa Manasarovar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Lhasa Manasarovar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lhasa Manasarovar Hotel Tibet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lhasa Manasarovar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.