We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jardin Secret Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jardin Secret Hotel to your Saves list
Jardin Secret Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.60 Jinzhu West Road, Lhasa 850015, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 299 Hotels in Lhasa
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The staff seemed well trained to handle westerners. Several English speaking and never a problem communicating. Buffet breakfasts and dinners served a wide variety of different items. Perhaps too repetitious for a 4 night stay.

The only way to cool the room was by opening a window. AC didn't work as previous reviews verified. Perhaps the hotel was cost-cutting. Room was very clean and beds comfortable.

Wifi complimentary in the lobby and in rooms close to the elevators.

Distance from the city was a bit frustrating. Groups providing their own transportation to the city would be ok.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Meade66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in May 2012. The hotel is a bit far from the city center and I would not rate it highter than 3.5 stars. The room was comfortable but the air conditioning wasn't working for the whole time while we were there because they were "waiting for a part". When we queried the hot room we were initially told there wasn't anything wrong with it, that it was wired wrongly (it should be on "heat" to "cppl" and finally that it was broken. The solution was just to open the window.

Also had trouble when power to the hotel was cut (probably not their fault) and we even lost power to the fan.

Whilst there another tour group had all their access cards cancelled allegedly after their tour organizer said they were moving to another hotel.

By international standards not up to scratch but I suppose Lhasa is a bit out of the way.

Also can't praise the lovely customer services officer enough. Doun't know her name but she certainly did her best to resolve all the problems.

Room Tip: Probably better valua elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I would not make this hotel your first choice. The lobby was freezing cold, the breakfast was mediocre, and no one spoke English. Not that I should expect everyone to speak English, but someone at the front desk should be able to assist with room problems, etc. The two plusses were that one of the porters that helped with the luggage was a smiling example of a Tibetian, kind, helpful and positive. The other was the bathtubs had no mold around it--the first experience of this since arriving in China and Tibet.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drlocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Good hotel minimulistic room furnishings but with mini bar .TV.Hairdryer, safe.Great restaurant breakfast very good both chioce western and chinese/Tibetan .Dinner was buffet style and had a great variety and excellent quality.Very efficient and well organised dishes always replenished.Hotel is located in a quiet area though on a main road away from center with some shops nearby. There is a bus stop less than 100 meters to left of hotel to go to centre of Lhasa.some rooms have mountain views

Room Tip: Request higher level mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluenile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The room was clean and housekeeping services was good, but the management of the restaurant was horrible. I had the worst customer service experience ever so far in my life. The male manager and the BBQ cook’s attitude were awful and very unprofessional, they need to be re-trained.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panda372000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The rooms right above the cafe will be quite noisy starting at 6 in the morning, and you can even smell the fried eggs.

Room is clean.

Room Tip: Far away from the cafe on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Cons:
This hotel is - surely - a high-quality Chinese hotel, but it is really too far from the city center of Lhasa.
Moreover, most of the taxi drivers don't accept to take you there. One day, we asked 5 (!) taxi drivers to take us to the hotel, by showing them the hotel's business card (keep it with you, most of them don't speak English and you will be in need of it to show them the Chinese characters).
Another problem: the breakfast room is freezing. Take a heavy coat with you, it is better.

Pros:
This hotel has oxygen cylinders in its rooms and has a good shop inside.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiaraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
3.9 mi away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#3 of 299 in Lhasa
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#5 of 299 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
3.6 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#4 of 299 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
3.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin Secret Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin Secret Hotel

Address: No.60 Jinzhu West Road, Lhasa 850015, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lhasa
#6 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardin Secret Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jardin Secret---your secret to the top-class hotel experience on the roof of the world, Himalayas.Located on Jinzhu West Road in Lhasa, the Jardin Secret Hotel places you at the gateway of Lhasa. The hotel’s close proximity to the Lhasa Railway Station, Tibetan Museum, the Norbulingka and Potala Palace make it a perfect choice for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Jardin Secret Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin Secret Hotel Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing