We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly, unique, comfortable hotel in fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shambhala Palace

Save Saved
You added Shambhala Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shambhala Palace
No.16 Taibeng Gang Wengdui Xingka Sangdong Yuan, Lhasa, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 279 hotels in Lhasa
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly, unique, comfortable hotel in fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My daughter and I stayed at the Shabhala Palace for 6 nights, and we would definitely return if we had the opportunity. We loved the bright, colorful decor and authentic Tibetan feel. Our room was clean and comfortable. The shower was hot and had great water pressure. We loved hearing the children playing outside in the evenings. The location couldn't be better, with the Jokhang Temple within easy walking distance. Breakfast was included. We both liked the yogurt and granola! The very friendly staff spoke excellent English, making it easy for us to get around.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

WHEN other tour companies try to get into this hotel, and can't, you can always count on Tibet Highland Tours! They have great connections!
This hotel has an authentic Tibetan feeling. The rooms have western bathrooms. It is an experience you should not miss. The brightly painted furnishings, decorations, and wood carvings all add up to the best experience. YES, there are other more modern and up-to-date hotels, but not with the loving staff, good food, and easy access to the old town center. IT IS IN the old town center. TOUR GUIDE,Tensin Namgyal, with Tibet Highland Tours, was the best tour guide from beginning, this hotel, to the end, Mt. Everest.

Room Tip: I would do the top floors 3rd or 4th level. The view from the top is magnificent! You can see Pota...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It feels like being in another world
The rooms are decorated witb taste and comfortable
The rooftop is simply amazing with view of the potala palace and old mosques

Lhasa becomes such a quaint place seen from here

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First off, if you are looking for a luxury hotel this was not it. However it was a very nice local hotel. We were doing a tour through Tibet and looking to experience of the culture. The room was comfortable and the staff was very nice and helpful. The location in old town Lhasa is very convenient, about a 3 block walk to get to the main area around Jokhang Temple. Breakfast was included but the choices were slim which was not unexpected. The room got a bit warm as we stayed in June but it cooled down in the evenings with the windows open (there was no Air conditioning). There is a roof top area which provided a pretty good opportunity to relax after long days site seeing and provides a nice view around the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Charming, comfortable and with an amazing location right in the middle of the old city.
Don't think twice if you are looking for an authentic place to stay. I stayed in Shambhala for 3 nights, and it really felt like home. Really friendly staff that always did their best to take care of us.
One night we arrived after the dining time but they manage to get some tibetan soup for us. Breakfast was simple and good. Hot water takes some time to come, but it works very well. During the weekends you can hear kids playing outside late at night, which can be quite noisy, but also makes you feel really immersed in the local Tibetan community - and perhaps that's the best about staying there.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The service was excellent. All clients were treated guests like friends. The location is not close to the main roads and one has to hire a tricycle to move the luggage bags from the main road to the hotel. If one travels with a guide, there is no problem. He or she will find one and one just follows the guide for a short walk. Breakfast is very simple. This is a rare hotel with good natural daylight. If one walks up the staircase to the roof, one can see the surrounding area clearly. There are sitting areas on the roof. The hotel is environmentally friendly and the room is quite dim. Well-decorated overall and it was clean.

Room Tip: Far end on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We visited Lhasa with our 3 kids (11, 9 & 6 y.o.) when we arrived to the hotel we expected the worst from the outside, but once there the place is beautiful and the people, the best.
Always helping you, definitely a great experience in the best location of Lhasa.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shambhala Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shambhala Palace

Address: No.16 Taibeng Gang Wengdui Xingka Sangdong Yuan, Lhasa, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Shambhala Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Shambhala Hotel Lhasa
Hotel Of Shambhala
Of Shambhala Hotel
Shambhala Palace Lhasa, Tibet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shambhala Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.