We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice local place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shambhala Palace

Save Saved
You added Shambhala Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shambhala Palace
No.16 Taibeng Gang Wengdui Xingka Sangdong Yuan, Lhasa, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 277 hotels in Lhasa
Shanghai, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Really nice local place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First off, if you are looking for a luxury hotel this was not it. However it was a very nice local hotel. We were doing a tour through Tibet and looking to experience of the culture. The room was comfortable and the staff was very nice and helpful. The location in old town Lhasa is very convenient, about a 3 block walk to get to the main area around Jokhang Temple. Breakfast was included but the choices were slim which was not unexpected. The room got a bit warm as we stayed in June but it cooled down in the evenings with the windows open (there was no Air conditioning). There is a roof top area which provided a pretty good opportunity to relax after long days site seeing and provides a nice view around the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Charming, comfortable and with an amazing location right in the middle of the old city.
Don't think twice if you are looking for an authentic place to stay. I stayed in Shambhala for 3 nights, and it really felt like home. Really friendly staff that always did their best to take care of us.
One night we arrived after the dining time but they manage to get some tibetan soup for us. Breakfast was simple and good. Hot water takes some time to come, but it works very well. During the weekends you can hear kids playing outside late at night, which can be quite noisy, but also makes you feel really immersed in the local Tibetan community - and perhaps that's the best about staying there.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service was excellent. All clients were treated guests like friends. The location is not close to the main roads and one has to hire a tricycle to move the luggage bags from the main road to the hotel. If one travels with a guide, there is no problem. He or she will find one and one just follows the guide for a short walk. Breakfast is very simple. This is a rare hotel with good natural daylight. If one walks up the staircase to the roof, one can see the surrounding area clearly. There are sitting areas on the roof. The hotel is environmentally friendly and the room is quite dim. Well-decorated overall and it was clean.

Room Tip: Far end on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We visited Lhasa with our 3 kids (11, 9 & 6 y.o.) when we arrived to the hotel we expected the worst from the outside, but once there the place is beautiful and the people, the best.
Always helping you, definitely a great experience in the best location of Lhasa.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

If you're looking for a culturally authentic Tibetan hotel located within walking distance of the main markets and temple . . . this is your place! To compliment this the staff was as accommodating at they could be - whenever we asked for anything they did their best to take care of us. Unfortunately, most could not speak English but they either found an employee who could or called someone who could translate our needs for them. (This really is our issue not theirs - our Tibetan and Chinese were non-existent!)

On the other hand, if you're looking for comfort and amenities you'd be much better served elsewhere. Keep in mind this is only my opinion - one of our more "adaptable" travel companions on this trip felt this was "the place to stay" in order to experience Lhasa as it should be. (His room was virtually identical to ours.) However, my wife and I prefer the comforts of a "western-style" hotel.

The owners have attempted to make a "modern" hotel out of a structure that was built using what I would call traditional "older-style Tibetan" materials and methods. The building is only nine or ten years old, according to one employee, but it felt much older and as if it had been modified, rather than designed, for its current use - this may not be the case at all.

Our stay started out very rough . . . while I was still checking-in my wife went to the room to use the lavatory just as she entered the bathroom water from the room above started running through the ceiling and dropping directly onto the toilet. This was a result of a waste-plumbing leak, not a great start. We asked for another room and were immediately given one on the first floor. This room was very cold and there was no heater - we asked for and received a portable heater which took quite a while to warm the room but eventually did the job - we had the heater on for the entire stay (as did our travel companions in their two rooms). The rooms were clean and serviced daily. The bed was hard . . . but we've experienced this in a number of the hotels we've stayed at in this part of the world - I travel with an inflatable mattress so all went well. The bathroom had a stone-walled and floored shower and it took between 10 to 15 minutes in the morning to get hot water. Once it started it worked fine for both our showers but the stone made showering very cold initially.

The breakfast was fine, nothing extraordinary but certainly acceptable.

If you go to bed relatively early say 9:00PM and like to sleep-in late, take ear plugs it can be very noisy with kids playing and other activities in the alley immediately outside the hotel.

All in all, the level of satisfaction one experiences at this hotel really depends on your preferences and expectations. If you're expecting four plus stars you won't like it - if you want to experience another culture you probably will, if you camp and trek and are comfortable in those environments you'll probably love this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Like previous reviews, I want to be fair to readers who are looking for a hotel to stay in Lhasa. Just by starting my review this way some of you may be leary, but, here is what we experienced. First, it is approximately 2 1/2 blocks from the main street (where you will be dropped off by car or taxi) to the alley where the Shambala Palace is located. If the hotel staff knows you are arriving, they will send someone to help you with your luggage, however, do not expect them to be wearing a shirt with "Shambhala Palace" on it. I thought, at first, that someone was stealing my bag on his scooter until I was assured that he was with the hotel. Once we arrived at the hotel, we were shown our rooms. They were colorful but dark and very cold. There is no elevator so the hotel staff carried our bags up the staircase to our rooms. We immediately asked for heaters and was assured we would get some (and we did). The first room we were assigned had a major plumbing problem before we even got unpacked so they moved us to a room on the first floor. It was much bigger but still dark and cold and it had a foul smell. We covered up the drains with a trash bin and that stopped the smell; the heaters they provided warmed the room so we decided to give it a try. IF, we did not have hot water in the morning we would probably have found other accommodations but since we did, we stayed here 4 nights. The breakfast was ok, nothing to rave about, but we were satisfied. The location is excellent and we walked to the square every evening. The staff was extremely friendly and delivered everything that we asked for. We had clean towels each day and hot water every morning. The beds are rather hard so we used the additional comforter as a pad over the regular mattress and that helped. 3 nights would have been better than 4. They did not provide bottled water for free but sell it at the reception for a very reasonable price (@ 50 cents). Would I recommend it? That depends on what you are looking for in a hotel. This is a very Tibetan hotel and the staff does a fabulous job of making you feel welcome. If you're looking for western style comfort, this may not be for you. However, if you're traveling to Tibet . . . you're probably the adventurous type and this will work well, especially if you know what to expect.

Room Tip: The room on the 1st floor in the far corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We walked down the back alley past the pungent smell of the yak butter and pushed back the heavy curtain that acts as the door to find a lovely, small boutique very Tibetan hotel in the Shambhala. The rooms were clean, the bathroom and shower was good and the restaurant was a real surprise. Don't be misled, this is still Tibet so there is no heat and you can't drink the tap water or put paper in the toilet bowl, but aside from those regional problems, this place is a real gem. Great location, excellent food and a friendly staff make this a great place to stay if you are going to Lhasa and don't want the typical western hotel.

Room Tip: make sure your room doesn't overlook the alleyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shambhala Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shambhala Palace

Address: No.16 Taibeng Gang Wengdui Xingka Sangdong Yuan, Lhasa, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Shambhala Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Shambhala Hotel Lhasa
Hotel Of Shambhala
Of Shambhala Hotel
Shambhala Palace Lhasa, Tibet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shambhala Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.