We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strangely Interesting or Interestingly Strange” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brahmaputra Grand Hotelhmcc Dia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Brahmaputra Grand Hotelhmcc Dia to your Saves list
Brahmaputra Grand Hotelhmcc Dia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Building B, Yangcheng Plaza, Gongbutang Road, Lhasa 850000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 285 Hotels in Lhasa
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Strangely Interesting or Interestingly Strange”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel was a huge surprise to us... We were booked into the Sheraton, but taken to this hotel as the Sheraton was full. At first, we were not really happy about the switch-up. Our stateside agent was also not notified.
The building houses both a hotel and a museum of sorts. There are artifact displayed throughout the building, some for purchase.

Once we decided that we would stay in the hotel, we were treated wonderfully by the staff. Due to the confusion, the hotel sponsored our dinner that evening. The meal was made specifically for us and was delicious. Our waiter was very sweet and accomidating. He even brought us butter tea, but that is another story...

The rooms were larges and pretty clean except for the very spotted carpets. The bathrooms offered a nice variety of amenities.
The hotel is a bit out of the fray, but that was fine with us. We love to walk and could negotiate Lhasa on foot.
The biggest downfall of this hotel was the breakfast. It was the worst hotel breakfast I have ever experienced. Luckily at that altitude, I did not have much appetite anyways...

Overall: if you are trying to escape the standard "box hotel" this is an interesting departure from that genre.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    35
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
15
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I must say that staying in Brahmaputra is an unique experience itself. Having stayed in many hotels around the world, I have never came across a hotel like Brahmaputra. There are just so many "antique" to see in the lobby, the walkway, the musical instrument, the animal skin that is used to lay on the sofa in the lobby.
The room is nicely decorated to reflect the Tibetan culture which is largely influenced by Chinese and Indian.
I agree with Herwayzha that somehow the mattress is not comfortable. Perhaps its too firm for my liking. But on the bright side, the room has broadband internet connection.
The hotel is equipped with a clinic, just in case anyone suffers from high altitude sickness. Oxygen tanks can be wheeled to the room for when the oxygen level gets really thin at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed two nights during a nine day tour of Tibet. True the mattresses were somewhat lacking in luxurious comfort, but the moment we mentioned we were not comfortable a phone call was made and our mattresses were changed. We were fortunate enough to make the acquaintance of Mr. V. T. Gurung, who spoke not only English (very well, I might add) but four other languages and he made sure that our stay was more than satisfactory. One should also remember that this is Tibet, not Paris, London or New York. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again, if we are ever fortunate enough to visit Lhasa again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

major problems for english speaking vegetarion traveler.

Room Tip: Take room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our 3 day leg in Lhasa towards the end of December. To be fair, we cannot compare as we have not the opportunity to stay in other hotels in Lhasa. The entrace and lobby was grand but it felt very cold (temperature wise) and dark-ish in the lobby and obviously there was no heating. The reception staff were all wearing heavy coats!
Check in was no problem as it was handled by our guide.
It was very obvious that it was low season with almost no people in this very big hotel. The corridors leading to our room was also very cold with minimal lighting. However, fortunately, the room and bathroom was warm with a portable heating. There was also a computer terminal with free internet connection as well.
Breakfast was served at the restaurant on the first floor and we needed all our thick clothing on as it was not heated. Breakfast was no big deal but adequate. The staff were friendly..again working with their thickest clothing on! There were like three tables when we were there. Housekeeping was prompt and helpful but expect a language problem.
We have no complaints really having prepared ourselves not to expect too much from the usual tourist hotels in Tibet. This hotel is not exactly in the old town centre of Jokhang temple and barkhor street but it is only a 10-15 minute taxi ride away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We love the lobby, it's very unique design full with tibetan items and sculptures. We got 2 rooms, one standard and one suite. The suite is quite big and has modern bathroom with all amenities available. The standard room is quite ok for night sleep. Breakfast is just enough to get you started in the morning, The bed is hard, as is in most hotels in China. On top of altitude and low oxygen level, it's very dry in Tibet so remember to drink a lot of fluid. We kept waking up during our sleep feeling thirsty, so put a bottled water on the night stand and it will help you feeling better in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

When I first came to this hotel, I was very disappointed. The lobby is pretty (although like every other Chinese hotel, smelled of tobacco), but the rooms were just okay. The bed was Chinese hard and all the fixtures seemed dated. But we stayed here for four nights and the place grew more comfortable with time. I have to agree that the towels were pretty threadbare.

We enjoyed the restaurant with western offerings even though many times there were only one or two couples eating there. We compared it to the Sheraton and felt the food was better at our hotel. From everything I have read and seen, it may take Lhasa some time to catch up to the standards even in the rest of China.

Just some advice for traveling to Tibet. The altitude here is quite significant. Best to give oneself at least one or two days just resting to acclimate and consider medication (it helped us tremendously.) Don't hesitate to use the oxygen canisters.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brahmaputra Grand Hotelhmcc Dia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brahmaputra Grand Hotelhmcc Dia

Address: Building B, Yangcheng Plaza, Gongbutang Road, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lhasa
#19 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brahmaputra Grand Hotelhmcc Dia 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip DaoDao and Agoda so you can book your Brahmaputra Grand Hotelhmcc Dia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brahmaputra Grand Hotelhmcc Dia Hotel Lhasa
Hotel Yaluzangbu Grand
Brahmaputra Grand Hotelhmcc Dia Lhasa, Tibet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brahmaputra Grand Hotelhmcc Dia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.