We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two tier hotel, depending on your room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lhasa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)
Save
You added Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian) to your Saves list
No.149 Beijing East Road, Chengguan District, Lhasa 850000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 297 Hotels in Lhasa
Florianopolis, SC
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Two tier hotel, depending on your room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Reading the reviews from Kyichu Hotel it looks like two different Hotels, depending on which room you pick. I was unlucky with my room I belive. It was big however it was old and not well maintained. The shower was hot and the internet worked nicely inside the room. The breakfast was resonable and the courtyard was great for relaxing. It is well located also, 10 minutes walking from Potala Palace.

Room Tip: Ask to visit different rooms and pick one. Apparently there is a big difference between them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    47
    18
    11
    5
See reviews for
16
40
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a room on the 3rd floor that looked out to the courtyard. The afternoon sun shone in and heated it up so it was warm. It had hot water for showers which is a bonus. The room was a bit shabby. There were stains all over the roof and walls from a bottle of coke exploding due to altitude - it could have done with a repaint. Breakfast was average. There was a selection of hot food. The staff seemed rushed and a bit moody. Best to get down to breakfast early before the groups come in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed twice at the Kyichu Hotel. First time had rooms 101 and 102 and they are really bad - dirty, everything broken, cold. Second time I stayed in room 218 and 319 they were spacious, clean, floor heating (or it at least seamed like). So make sure you get a good room. Location is great, garden very nice and restaurant also very good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

First the positives:
* a great location in old town
* a fabulous courtyard
* an adequate restaurant: western breakfast was served but the food was not high quality (few choices and often cold) but the Indian food dinner was delicious
* our room was quiet and relatively clean
*plenty of hot water and pressure in the shower
* cool tibetan decor
*nice staff
* good wifi

Now the negatives: (we stayed in the old building)
*the room felt like a jail cell--only one window looking into another building (some rooms look into the courtyard. they might be different)
*cracks and holes in the walls and ceilings
*filthy carpet
* no heat
*the hardest beds in the world with springs poking us

Bottom line: for a night or 2, it's fine. for an extended stay: look elsewhere

Lhasa is excellent!! Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Hotel is in the centrally located place. Near to Monastries, Potala palace etc. The management is very nice and very co-operative. Though we had some language problem, but it was well sorted thru Hotel Management. The Rooms are too cool.; The restaurant and stff very friendly. The vegetarian meals was no problem at all. The rstaurant has an Indian cook who takes care of Indian/ vegetarian food. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugarloaf
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Loved this hotel in Lhasa! It is owned and managed by the local Tibets and is one block from Barkhor street which is the main thoroughfare in Lhasa. The staff was very helpful and the
restaurant food was good. There was also a courtyard with several tables and chairs where one could have a beer or soft drink. The room and bed was very comfortable and quiet (room 213 in
the main building).

Room Tip: Most rooms were in the rear where they were away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

From the front entrance off of a extremly street there is not much to look at but you walk into the reception desk and get checked in the staff were all very nice my room was through the courtyard and up to the 2nd floor 1 st day in Lhasa take it slow you just flew in from 600 feet and now your over 12,000 yes we all noticed it in our group of 14..The room was off a back alley and I had read about nicer rooms but I was in Tibet and I had a wonderful room wooden floors and the noise outside just made me feel more at home very nice bathroom and the courtyard was wonderful and peaceful. The dining was very good abd we had real hot served coffee for a American that was super the staff were all freindly and helpful..Great location 15 minute walk to the square in front of the Palace where they had live music nd dancingand a light and water show every night 830 to 930 make sure to go at least one night...I would recomend to any of my friends to stay at the Kyichu Hotel and when I return it will my first place to consider Thank you to the staff I stayed there in late July 2013 my name is James L, Wedo from Winona ,Minnesota

Room Tip: I did not know about the pool of fitness center if I had I would of been there for sure sorry I miss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)

Address: No.149 Beijing East Road, Chengguan District, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 297 Hotels in Lhasa
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Kyichu Hotel Lhasa
Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian) Lhasa, Tibet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.