We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, convenient hotel in Lhasa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lhasa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)
Save Saved
You added Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian) to your Saves list
No.149 Beijing East Road, Chengguan District, Lhasa 850000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 286 Hotels in Lhasa
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“friendly, convenient hotel in Lhasa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

An older but nicely maintained and decorated hotel, with a great location on Beijing Road just a couple of blocks from Barkhor Square and many restaurants. Rooms were huge and well furnished. The lobby was unheated (as are many older buildings in Lhasa) and quite cold in November, but the rooms have individual heating/AC units which kept them adequately warm as long as you remembered to keep them turned on. There were very few guests in the hotel (or in all of Lhasa--due to government travel restrictions at the time), which meant it took a long time to get hot water up to the upper rooms; there is plenty of hot water eventually but you may need to let it run for 10 minutes before you get some. Probably not an issue when there are more guests. Good buffet breakfast in the restaurant located off the central courtyard. Wifi throughout the hotel. Very friendly staff always included some who spoke English. Booked as part of a 3-day Lhasa tour in Nov 2012 by tibetdiscovery.com/chinadiscovery.com.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    41
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
13
35
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here for four nights on our five-week trip through Tibet & Nepal in November-December 2011. My partner and I took the 48-hour train ride from Beijing to Lhasa and I unwittingly booked us second-class cabin tickets thinking it couldn't be that bad. Let me say that after two days in a stuffy, grimy, smelly, cramped train cabin, it was a DELIGHT to arrive to the luxury of the Kyichu Hotel. Spacious, well-furnished rooms and great choice at breakfast. The central location made it easy to explore the city on foot.

I would love to review our tour operator but tripadvisor does not seem to have a page for them. They are called Explore Tibet and they were amazing! Google them if you are looking to travel to this significant region in Asia.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Kyichu Hotel is located on Lhasa's main street next to a busy bus stop, 5 minutes walk from Barkhor Street and Jokhang Temple and about 15 minutes walk from Potala Palace. The hotel entrance is very unassuming but when you walk into the courtyard at the back of the hotel you are transported in a gentile and serene garden where tourists and locals gather to have long lunches and pass the afternoon away playing cards. And they have an espresso machine and they make good lattes!

I stayed at the Kyichu for 2 days at the beginning of my trip and 3 days at the end. Both times, my rooms overlook the courtyard which was quiet at night. I stayed in an older room at the front of the hotel and, later, a newer room at the back of the hotel. The rooms are large by USA standards. Both rooms had a flat screen TV, a hot water kettle and complimentary Chinese tea. Free WiFi is available in the hotel but the signal was weak in my rooms. The shower in the older room did not drain properly. There was an ethernet socket in the newer room which I could plug my wireless router into.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in the dining area next to the courtyard. Breakfast is hot and cold western continental buffet. Dinner and lunch menus had western, nepalese and local dishes. Their Nepalese curries were quite good and so was the Sizzling Yak hot plate.

The staff was friendly and greeted everyone with a smile. Most of them spoke English. They made my stay very pleasant indeed and made a good hotel a great experience.

Room Tip: The newer rooms at the back of the hotel are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I spent with my family two weeks in the hotel. We loved it and Kyichu hotel will be only adress for our next visit. The Team there was always very friendly and nothing was too much. The hotel is right in the heart of the city and on a very busy street, however, moment you enter the hotel, its like a different world of peace and harmony, what one would expect in and from Tibet. Offers a high quality of authentic Tibetan, Westen, Indian and Nepalese dishes. My kids loved Yak Burger!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We loved our stay at Kyichu in Lhasa. The staff was great and helpful. They have an elevator which really helps with getting to the higher floors (especially when you're getting used to the high altitude). Our room was huge and had 2 double size beds and a couple of sofas with a separate dressing area. Our room also over looked the garden which was very pretty and tranquil. The restaurant serves western and asian style food and was one of the best restaurants we went to in Tibet. The Kyichu Hotel is conveniently located and within walking distance to Barkhor Street and Potala Palace. There is also a supermarket/convenience store diagonally across the street to stock up on water and snacks. Overall, I would say the Kyichu Hotel was great value for money (we paid 320 RMB per room with two double beds, which we booked over email directly with the hotel) and a great start to your stay in Tibet!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Caters mainly to Western tourists...most staff speak some English. Except for one notable exception in the restaurant, everyone was helpful and friendly. However do not expect Western standards and facilities,. Breakfast was average, they do have a good Nepali and Tibetan restaurant. . All rooms do not have air conditioning only air coolers.This together with the adjustment to the high altitude contributed to the poor quality of sleep. There is a quiet garden in the centre. The plus point include its central location. You are able to walk to the Potala Palace and Bakhor Square.The Internet is iffy and works only on some days.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

With a dizzying number of places to stay in Lhasa, look no further unless you want to spend a mint at the hoity toity St. Regis. I've had the great pleasure of being able to stay at the Kyichu Hotel four times now over the past years and it's become my home away from home in Tibet. This last time I was there for 17 days as a I deepened my understanding of Lhasa.
In a nutshell:
* The location can't be beat...walking distance to the Potala, Jokhang, Barkhor, grocery stores, good places to eat, blind massage studios (not to be missed).
* The staff are ALL superb....friendly, smiling and just great.
* The restaurant is super.
* The couryard is an oasis among the clamor and toot-tooting of Beijing Lu outside the front door.

I've travelled extensively and the Kyichu is the one place I look forward the most to returning to.

Tashi delek!

Room Tip: The newer wing has a number of superior rooms. My favorite is 109.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)

Address: No.149 Beijing East Road, Chengguan District, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 286 Hotels in Lhasa
Also Known As:
Kyichu Hotel Lhasa
Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian) Lhasa, Tibet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.