We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lhasa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)
No.149 Beijing East Road, Chengguan District, Lhasa 850000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 279 hotels in Lhasa
Easton,Conn. USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We moved here from Hotel Yashi Phunkhang Heritage . It was down the street. We were much happier here. Our room was in the new building and had nice wood floors, not cold concrete like at the Heritage and central heat, not two space heaters placed on the floor. Another difference was the restaurant was open and bright and the food was good. The only problem with this hotel was getting the shower water to be warm, not cold or too hot .We tried two rooms with the same problem. The staff was very nice and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    40
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
12
33
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I enjoyed every minute of my stay, feeling totally relaxed and feel so much at home. All staff & management are service oriented, extending warm and genuine hospitality which is so lacking in most 5 star rated hotels. It's a bliss to have coffee by the garden courtyard in the midst of peach blossoms, tinkling of water cascade from the mantra water fountain, fluttering of prayer flags, and birds twitters. Hotel is centrally located and is within easy walking distance to most must-see places in Lhasa. There's WIFI service provided and fret not if you didn't bring your lap top as it's also provided in the restaurant for internet access without charges.
All in all, it's a good place to stay for the value and experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baghdad
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I had booked this hotel through the Internet and what a fabulous surprise upon arrival! The room was large, warm, with a fabulous double/headed shower and a really wonderful terrace overlooking the garden. The staff was excellent and only too willing to help and I thorougly enjoyed my stay here. Also, the hotel is ideally situated to visit the main tourist sites in Lhasa i.e. Barkhor, Jokhand and Potala.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

From other experiences on this journey this hotel was a pleasant surprise. Rooms great ..plenty of room, whole establishment clean & tidy. Breakfast very good, good WiFi. Easy walk to most of what one would want to see in Lhasa (Potala Palace, Jokhange etc) . Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try for a room on upper floor at rear ..quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed here for about a week in June 2011. The location is not far from the Barkhor and Potala and the hotel is clean, with friendly staff.
The food is excellent, although with tour groups a constant every day service can get a little slow when they are stretched.
There is a courtyard garden where you can sit and have a coffee or meal or write some journal notes.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: My room was on a higher floor and overlooked the courtyard so it was quiet all the time. I cannot c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed for three nights in this hotel.
Very good, clean and close to central Lhasa - about 10 minutes walk to Jokhang temple and Barkhor Square, about 20 minutes to Potala Palace.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I don't travel to places like Tibet & then stay in Hyatts ... so if you're expecting "excellent" by US standards, stay home. I say this b/c this hotel was really quite wonderful, but I had the misfortune of running into a very Ugly American woman in the restaurant. She was loudly, rudely, obnoxiously complaining that the lights were too dim at breakfast. That was the start of her rant, which thankfully ended when another woman nearby asked, "Are you traveling First Class?"

The staff were gracious & helpful, the restaurant quite good & with a nice atmosphere, the rooms very large & quite comfortable, the beds typically hard, a good shower w/ plenty of hot water, and the hotel has a very relaxing & quite beautiful garden. This was probably the nicest hotel we stayed in during our month long travels through Tibet and Nepal. The location is un-beatable. Walkable to the Potala Palace, Bharktor Square, and many good restaurants. Be sure to walk to Bharktor Square early in the morning and join the pilgrims in their circuit around the Jhokang ... an amazing experience. I would stay here again & heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)

Address: No.149 Beijing East Road, Chengguan District, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 279 hotels in Lhasa
Also Known As:
Kyichu Hotel Lhasa
Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian) Lhasa, Tibet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian) to your Saves list