We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Darling staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dhood Gu Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lhasa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dhood Gu Hotel
Save
You added Dhood Gu Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.19 Shasarsu Road, Trom Si Khang, Lhasa, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 298 Hotels in Lhasa
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Darling staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We spent two nights here and were impressed by the incredibly friendly and helpful staff, the great location, and the great character of the place. We had a corner room on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard with great windows and colorful traditional Tibetan decor. The bathroom was basic but clean and adequate, especially for Tibet. As always in Tibet, warm water is a commodity but the staff was so very committed to helping deliver it, we didn't mind one bit. The breakfast was edible but I'd caution one to politely decline the two week-old bakery items and yogurt and enjoy the friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    38
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
33
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

stayed here for 3 nights. Very good location close to square and johkang monastery. Loved the rooftop patio. The food was fine. Clean rooms. Stayed in the upper floors....climbing the stairs with altitude sickness wasn't too fun!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Great location and truly outstanding managerial staff. Room was clean and comfortable, breakfasts were very good, one other meal we ate there was also quite good. Space heater provided.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Repton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

This hotel was great, close to Barkhor square and the Johkang monastery. The food was very good and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and apart from the hard bed (which is the norm through China, Tibet & Nepal) was comfortable. The view from the window was excellent and the place was very quiet. Always had hot water and we couldn't have been happier.
Even had an elevator so you didn't have to heave the rucksacks up four flights of stairs.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors so you have a view of either the Porata Palace or Sera Monastery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed here in September 2011 for 5 nights and then a week later for another 3 nights. We loved the charming Tibetan furnishings and the friendly, helpful staff. Our first room was quite small but faced onto an alley and was quiet. The beds are fairly hard but this is typical of China. the room was clean and the small bathroom was quite functional. the breakfasts were great and they will cook omelettes, scrambled eggs etc to order. It was all delicious. Our second room was on a higher floor and at the back of the hotel and we had an amazing view of the Potala Palace in the distance- it was magical, especially at night! the position in the Tibetan part of town can't be beaten- it is a short stroll to Barkhor square and the Jokhang Temple. We highly recommend a stay at this hotel for anyone interested in Tibetan culture- it is not a 5 star hotel, but it is perfectly comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back or on the side alley are quieter, rooms overlooking the courtyard would be a bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pristina, Kosovo
Level Contributor
172 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Small-ish, cosy, warm, comfortable rooms, richly decorated in traditional Tibetan style. A great location right on Barkhor bazaar and a few minutes walk to Jokhang temple. Very friendly and helpful staff. After several days on the road from Kathmandu it was a warm and welcoming experience to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Although location is great, within 2 blocks of the pilgrim Kora and with views of the Potala palace this hotel has lot's to be desired. Unbearable tough beds, shredded linen sheets, spotty water pressure(sometimes none) and poor house keeping. Small rooms. The service it's very attentive and they try their best, they just don't have a clue. The decor is typical Tibetan and nice but, Lhasa has much better hotels than this. Avoid it if you have some other options.

Room Tip: If you stay here ask for a higher floors rooms with views of the Potala Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.0 mi away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#3 of 298 in Lhasa
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tibet Gorkha Hotel
Tibet Gorkha Hotel
#12 of 298 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#5 of 298 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thangka Hotel
Thangka Hotel
#19 of 298 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhood Gu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhood Gu Hotel

Address: No.19 Shasarsu Road, Trom Si Khang, Lhasa, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 298 Hotels in Lhasa
Hotel Class:3 star — Dhood Gu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Also Known As:
Hotel Dhood Gu
Dhood Gu Lhasa
Dhood Gu Hotel Lhasa, Tibet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dhood Gu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.