We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tibet Hotel as home in Lhasa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tibet Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tibet Hotel to your Saves list
Tibet Hotel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.12 Beijing West Road, Chengguan District, Lhasa 850001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 296 Hotels in Lhasa
3.5 of 5 stars 49 Reviews
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tibet Hotel as home in Lhasa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We're a tour group of five from Hong Kong. We travelled to Tibet from 18th Augus to 1 Sep for 15 days. The local tourist company arranged us to stay on the 2nd floor of the VIP building of Tibet Hotel after a long journey on 12 hours train with delay arrival. The rooms were big and comfortable, can access free internet too. Weather was fine, so we could open the window for fresh air. Good hot water was provided 24 hours for shower. Bedding was good too. I had good sleeps there for the two days. Breakfast was in above average China standard. Restaurant is on ground floor with buffet. They provided coffee only as you request from the waitress.

Taxi fee from Tibet Hotel to the city centre, "Palace" and Shopping street was about RMB15. However, taxi also took other passengers if not full. If peak hours, like 7pm, it's so diffucut to hire a taxi. They were not follow the fares in the meter but by negotiiation. It's a bit annoying and stressful for the transportation back to hotel.

The hotel also provided free baggage storing service. We left some stuff in the front desk as we moved to the east part of tibet on the following days. As we came back after the trip, we really feel that we had gone home again. Stayed one more day on 4th floor for rest and shopping , then we checked out again and continued our trip to the south part of Tibet, Lin Gee.

I'd would stay in Tibet Hotel if I went to Lhasa again. As my tourist guide says, Tibet hotel is the best in Lhasa, better than Holiday Inn Hotel.

Room Tip: VIP building of Tibet hotel, better standard for western travellers and VIPs. Rooms in higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
7
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chongqing
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

It is not very close to Potala Palace. i think it situated in west part of Lhasa. not the center.

But it is near Lorbu Lingka. it is ok for me. as we do not want to live very close to Lhasa, it is a little loud.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The morning after our first night in The hotel was forecast at two degrees Celsius, so we were a bit concerned that the heating cycle of the air conditioning wasn't working. We found an extra blanket, so we figured it wouldn't be too bad. According to the front desk it was only pour side of the hotel in which the heat wasn't working and we could be downgraded to that side if we wished. We stayed. We had also figured out that by closing the bathroom door we could cut out most of the noise from the constantly running toilet.
The fact that the main overhead light could not be turned on could be compensated for by turning on the remainder of the lighting despite it being quite dim.
The real problem arose however, when my wife and I were sitting on the bed using our IPads. The lights suddenly brightened for no apparent reason. Then a minute or so later went back to their previous dim state. I hopped off the bed to ascertain the reason for this phenomena when the lights extinguished completely.
The change in lighting seemed to be associated with my movement on the bed so I pulled the bed away from the wall, only to discover an electrical nightmare. In a hole in the wall was a mass of wires and a junction box. All of which fell out when I moved the bed. Even worse there was a double stranded cable running across the head of the bed with a partially bare double join. Later with staff present I could turn the lights on and off or dimmed by opening the room door or moving the coat hangars in the cupboard.
My main concern however, was the bare wire which had been held in position by the bed against the wall. They were about thirty centimeters from our heads if we had been asleep. I would hate to think what could have ensued if a spark had occurred.
We arrived at our replacement hotel at midnight not particularly happy.

Room Tip: If you value your safety, stay away!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Just got back from a trip to Tibet and stayed at the Tibet Hotel while in Lhasa. It was our favorite hotel of our entire tour to both China and Tibet. It was definitely the staff that set this hotel above the others but the rooms were quite comfortable and modern as well. The rooms appear to have been renovated quite recently and it shows. Everyone we encountered at the hotel was above and beyond helpful and courteous, from restaurant staff to the front desk clerks. Would stay here again. One issue that needs to be resolved is the bar is not open when it should be and the spa requires you to call ahead to make an appointment which is not the most user friendly way to bring in business. Other than that, wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

This hotel is pleasant both inside and out, but it is cold and drafty. Restaurant does not operate when it says it does, and the food is terrible. Location is not good. This place is best avoided.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Westerner's should find this hotel pleasantly accommodating. Not much to look at from the front (in fact several structures appear to be abandoned completely); however, a short jaunt around to the back reveals the main entrance to the "VIP" building. The rooms were very clean, well equipped, and quite comfortable. Views of Lhasa from the 6th floor were nice, mornings especially. The hotel is equipped with a very nice restaurant on the 2nd floor (breakfasts were quite lovely, and had coffee too!). Hotel staff was courteous, gift shop was on the pricey side (save your money for the Barkhor). The hotel was situated on the main drag leading to the Potala palace - a far walk but a short cab or bus ride will get you there. Otherwise, lots of shops and restaurants for the adventurous to explore.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

Our tour group stayed here for 4 nights towards the end of July 2008. The bedroom was OK, but the hotel had clearly suffered several weeks/months of closure before we got there. Two or three of the floors were still closed off. The “VIP Building” (Building Number 6), where western tourists stay, is at the rear of the compound next to the closed (abandoned?) “Recreation Centre” building. Although we had a reasonable breakfast (by Tibet standards) there each morning, the restaurant was effectively closed, and we all ate out for dinner each evening. The bar was also closed, but a small group did manage to have it opened for a few hours one evening, before they ran out of beer. Afterwards, as there was no lighting along the paths, we had to walk back to the VIP Building in the dark. When staying there, keep the latch on your bedroom door if you really do not want to be disturbed - staff will otherwise knock and enter without any other warning (as I found to my embarrassment late one afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tibet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tibet Hotel

Address: No.12 Beijing West Road, Chengguan District, Lhasa 850001, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lhasa
#15 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tibet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook and Ctrip TA so you can book your Tibet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibet Hotel Lhasa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tibet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.