We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lingtsang Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Lingtsang Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Lingtsang Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.38 Lugu 1st Alley, Lhasa 850000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 297 Hotels in Lhasa
Singapore River, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights during Christmas season last year. Our interest of this hotel was the history behind it. We have been told once a living Buddha (活佛) had lived there. We requested for the room where the living Buddha had once stayed in; with ample sunlight to enjoy the warmth of winter since no central heating system was provided. What we liked the most was the entire building which still retained the traditional Tibetan styled designed (see photos, spacious room and bathroom). In our room, the standing shower did not work well -- water was leaking and the shower head had water spraying in different directions but not on you! Do check with the staff when taking a shower where you may end up taking a freezing shower halfway through with no hot water supply!
Bad experience was on our 3rd night with no electricity supply in our room for that night! But Tsering, the hotel operator and staff were very helpful and, got us another room for the night. The service was another plus factor -- warm friendly staff with a smile. Since hotel is located in a side street (was dim in the night) off the main road; the staff were attentive and would look out for anyone who walked through their interesting Tibetan traditional main door on 24/7 basis. That was another plus factor for security.
All in all, it was quite an adventure for the experience though I may not return to stay again as it was pricey even during the winter period.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We were booked to stay at this lovely-looking boutique hotel for 4 nights this coming summer. We were looking forward to experiencing this hotel, the gorgeous rooms and the traditional Tibetan designs. And we were happy to hear that the owner was Tibetan.

However, we just learned that the Lingtsang Hotel was taken over by a new owner. The new owner has significantly increased the room rates. The new owner will not honor our reservation at the rate that was quoted and confirmed by the previous owner. There are ethics in the hospitality industry but apparently not here.

We are very disappointed but have vowed to not give this place our money. We will not be staying here.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Nice hotel but not suitable for winter.
Here we spent the coldest night of our lives. With temperatures of -3°C outside, we only had a small electric heater in the room, we didn't have hot water and its own employees worked with jacket and scarf.
The hotel is very nice, I guess in summer will be a nice place but in winter is the worst place I have been in terms of value.
We had booked 4 nights and after the horrible first night we decided to move to other hotel. The guide suggested us the Yak Hotel, a 3 star correct and clean hotel, with heating, which only cost us 180 yuan / night instead of the 1200 yuan / night that costs this one.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Recently saw this 9-room property cited under Lhasa in The New York Times’s “Places to go in 2012” and wanted to comment on a recent December 3 night stay. Overall the hotel delivers a strong atmospheric feel , but it must be noted this has both advantages and disadvantages.
First off the advantages. The location, while arguably a bit hard to find at first, is really right in the thick of things. You are just south of the Barkhor circuit and the primary temple. Walking anywhere in the old town is a quick and easy journey. At the same time, you are a little separate from many of the other old-town hotels, more in a local neighborhood.
The hotel itself is certainly atmospheric as well. Located in a old famous courtyard structure (you can read the history elsewhere), the property oozes atmosphere from the rooftop to the rooms. At the same time, it has been recently renovated to feature good plumbing, quality fixtures, and conveniences such as flat-screen TVs (If you’re coming to Lhasa to watch TV, uhmm…). The staff is also quite helpful – willing to help with whatever questions are raised. Some Mandarin may be helpful – in the offseason when I was there, English appeared limited.

That said, remember this isn’t the St. Regis (Lhasa’s trying to be global standard property) or for that matter any less atmospheric hotel. There is no central heating – there was a space heater by default in our room and we were provided with another upon request. Hot water availability wasn’t a significant issue for basic showering, but despite the beautiful bathtub (see pictures on the hotel website) we were unable to find a chance to use it as couldn’t get enough hot water to fill the tub. Also, the included breakfast was fine by Chinese hotel standards – but for a property attracting a more upscale international crowd I do wonder if more than baozi (Chinese meat-filled “buns”/dumplings), zhou (watery traditional breakfast porridge), and youtiao (Fried dough often served with porridge) quite cuts it.

Overall, as we paid under 500 RMB per night for an off-season rate it was an interesting experience. That said, in hindsight we may have been better off checking out a less atmospheric, more modern-standard property in town for less (~300 or less in the off season) and skipping this place. At the stated summer rates and without the difficulty of colder weather, the hotel still presents a complex decision in my mind.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

After spending time in a couple of other "approved for foreigner" places in town. We managed to find and switch to this place. More expensive than your run of the mill, Yak, Shambala etc. But, as other's note, this place as the residence of one of the teachers for the 14th Dalai Lama. It's a traditional Tibetan construction, down to the very steep stairs and the pounded rock floors/ceilings. But the upgrade added nearly everything a western traveler would want while retaining all that you could wish from in an authentic Tibetan building. Our room was large and the most comfortable place we stated on our trip. And the location could well be the best of any hotel in Lhasa, in the old town, down a side street, less than 100yds off Barkhor street, and very quiet.
The only reason I'm not giving this place 5 stars is the hot water. Which mostly seems to come from solar heating. I think we were the only folks staying at the hotel, and April isn't the sunniest month. Some days the water was good for a nice shower (after running it for 10 mins), but on an overcast day it was only luke warm and make for a brisk wash. To get that extra little mark I'd suggest they add some kind of back up to the heating, just as we found in the Khordes Hotel in Lhasa. Then they'd have everything you'd ever want from a nice little place like this.
By the way, if the front door is closed, you open it by pulling on the left hand piece of the rope that snakes through two holes in the door.

Room Tip: Ask to look at a few rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

This hotel is converted from a former residence. It's very charming. The rooms are very comfortable. there is no central heating, but you can ask for a space heater. The construction of the building is solid enough that it doesn't get very cold, even without heating. Room rate include breakfast. They'll ask you breakfast time and make it before you show up, so don't be late or your breakfast will be cold. the staff's English is not very good, but they tried. They kept the org. stairs, so for people with bad knees, this is not for you. The stairs are more like ladders. The bathrooms are updated, with a separate shower and a Japanese sitting tub. Great idea if hot water was plenty. Unfortunately, water is heated by solar power, so on overcast days, water is tepid at best. And water pressure is on the weak side.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shangri-la
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

To find an authentic Tibetan Hotel in Lhasa with good service and good food is quite hard. Lingtsang Hotel is a nice exception. The renovation of the typical noble house is made with passion and with love to small details. The service is excellent and the restaurant serves local tibetan food and also international cuisine.
All suites are in a nice tibetan design and very spacious. The bathrooms are well equipped and have 5 star standards.
All in all, the best Hotelexperience in Lhasa!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lingtsang Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lingtsang Boutique Hotel

Address: No.38 Lugu 1st Alley, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lingtsang Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Lingtsang Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lingtsang Boutique Hotel Lhasa, Tibet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lingtsang Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.