We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“real tibetan Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of House Of Shambhala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added House Of Shambhala to your Saves list
House Of Shambhala
No.7 Jiri erxiang, Lhasa 850000, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lhasa tour @USD400/person
Ranked #6 of 297 Hotels in Lhasa
Lhasa, China
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“real tibetan Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

this Hotel is run by a local with good location within the vicinity of Barkhor.
The manager speaks good english and willing to assist whenever need be. i like the Tibetan styled decorations and feel like i slept in a local family house.
The man at the reception and his team will help to lift up the luggage at the higher floors. Never miss out the cozy and decent food available at the restaurant above.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
15
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our friend recommended this hotel for us to stay in during our week long visit to Lhasa and Tibet – and we were glad that he did. Lhasa has now been made “modern” by the Chinese with a spanking "new Lhasa" laid out with wide parallel roads, street lights et al.. This has many of the newer western style hotels. But we had taken a conscious decision to stay in the Tibetan quarter , in a hotel run by a Tibetan family. So the House of Shambala, in the heart of the Tibetan quarter, was selected. "Shambala " is a mythical kingdom in Tibetan Buddhism, a place of peace, tranquility & happiness. The hotel is a quaint little place with a ground floor and two additional floors. Like most Family homes converted into hotels it does not have the classic features of a modern hotel , but it has all the amenities and comforts that one needs – be it western style toilets with hot and cold running water, electricity, heated rooms, writing table, comfortable beds though a bit firm, etc. Above all it has character and you get the feel of being in Tibet with Tibetans. Traditional Tibetan homes are largely made of wood and tend to have low ceilings, smaller rooms with few windows – all necessary to keep warm in harsh winters at 11000 feet. Also to add colour to drab and dreary surroundings they tend to be colourful - some may call it over the top. You enter the place through a central passage way with prayer wheels on one side, which leads into the central courtyard, around which are the rooms, reception counter and staircase leading up to the upper floors and terrace. The staff is excellent – ever smiling and always ready to do your bidding, even though spoken English is weak. Breakfast is basic but more than adequate and is served on the terrace from where one gets an excellent view of Lhasa and the surrounding hills. We did not eat there as there are many restaurants within walking distance.The Tibetan Quarter is under constant Chinese surveillance and every time you enter it one has to go through “Security” - as one does in airports. All bags are put through XRay machines but the Chinese Security personnel are very polite and professional and we did not find this to be a nuisance. There are Security cameras in all the streets in the Tibetan Quarter and where ever you go one is under surveillance but as an innocent , peaceful tourist one has nothing to fear. Being within walking distance of the Barkhor Square and the Jokhang Temple and everything else Tibetan is a big plus point. All in all, the House of Shambala is highly recommended for any one visiting Lhasa, if you want a Tibetan experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhasa, China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

House shamabala give the visitor a unique feeling to be in Tibet. all its interoir are local origin, if you are visiting Tibet for Tibet experience i would suggest you to stay at this place

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhasa, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is located at old Tibetan area..Rooms are clean and Tibetan styled. Rooms at 2nd and 3rd floor are good for view. From the roof nice view of Potala Palace. Hotel Manager Jigme speaks good english and polite..If you need any help in hotel make sure to find Jigme.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here following an earlier stay at Shambala Palace and anticipated it being better but I was wrong. It is the same offering of ethnic charm and friendly staff which should be a winner. But when it is cold you might like a heater and the one I got was not much use. When you have a shower you expect at least warm water which I just got one time out of three. And a pump that quietly but audibly burbs every three seconds all night means you better have your earplugs.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

House of Shambala and Shambala Palace Hotel are run by the same company. We stayed at the latter. The decor was delightful, over the top Tibetan, and the staff tried hard. There were a number of small maintenance problems, like latches that didn't open or loose toilet seat, but the only important one was the failure of the water to get properly hot. It took us a day or so to figure out which tap was meant to be the hot water one and then wait a full five minutes for it to show up, but never more than tepid. That said' the location couldn't have been better, right in the heart of the old Tibetan quarter. This meant daily walks through lively alleys filled with prayer wheel twirlers, school children, furniture painters, craft shops, knitters, etc.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

A "very good" Tibetan family hotel befitting a visit to Lhasa. This former school has its challenges, but it was fine for three nights, in late June. (I can appreciate it's pretty chilly in winter months with its single-pane windows.) Those windows aren't very soundproof either, so light sleepers should bring earplugs, particularly if you're in "street"-side rooms. We had one such room, but our adult children had a courtyard room, which was quieter. Beds have thin mattresses and no box springs, so they're "firm". (We did use our own pillowcases, but we do that lots of places.) Toilet/basin/shower-rooms feature amazing rock/masonry work. Western flush commodes. We had hot-ish water. If you want to read (in bed), bring your own little battery light.

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Fine breakfast in third-floor restaurant. The dinner food doesn't quite live up to the impressive menu, but the lamb was good and we're still talking about the delicious, hot nan (bread). I asked to buy a decorative pillow cover, and was taken next door to the "craft" shop. Another amazing experience. (Ultimately, lots of covers to choose from at a great price.)

Yes, you must be able to do steps (it's a glorified ladder to the rooftop dining area). And your taxi cannot drive you to the entrance as the street narrows to an alley, so the last 100 paces are on foot (more charm, to us).

Our met-at-the-airport guide was not encouraging about the place and offered diligently to relocate us to "something better", both before we checked in and after the first night, but we had intentionally picked this place for a Tibetan experience, and we were happy with our decision.

Room Tip: We liked 203 and 204.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to House Of Shambhala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Of Shambhala

Address: No.7 Jiri erxiang, Lhasa 850000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lhasa
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shambhala Palace is a restored home of a high ranking Tibetan Lama. All of our rooms provide guests with the utmost comfort while surrounded by Tibetan history and tradition. Our rooftop restaurant together with four of our king rooms offer full on views of Potala Palace with other rooms looking out over the quiet alleyways of the ancient quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your House Of Shambhala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Shambhala Lhasa, Tibet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House Of Shambhala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.