We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room and great hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dekang Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Dekang Hotel to your Saves list
Dekang Hotel
No.2 Shengtai Road, Lhasa, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 297 Hotels in Lhasa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Clean room and great hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed this hotel for three nights. Although it is a bit far from the commercial area, they offer a nice service and have a nice restaurant attached to it. The room is clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

If you want a room with a broken air-conditioner/heater ... book into the Dekang!
If you want a room without ANY hot water for a morning shower ... book into the Dekang!
If you want to drink warm beer ... book into the Dekang!

Room Tip: If you want to choose a good room - book into another hotel. Try the Yak Hotel, it comes highly rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We 've been stayed there for few nights. DeKang Hotel was the best hotel we'd stayed in Tibet. Staff there are professional, friendly and helpful!. the room settings were good, good hygiene, plenty of water supply, internet service available. This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

A lovely family run mid size hotel with friendly professional staff (with good English) who were keen to help. I stayed for 4 nights as part of a tour group on a 3 week trekking and cultural tour of Tibet. It was definitely the best accommodation on our tour. I had dinner on 2 nights at the restaurant and the meals were excellent. Quiet location and my room was spacious with a spotless bathroom. The bar and terrace on the top floor have wonderful views of the Potala Palace. Within walking distance of most of Lhasa's main attractions. A real find if you are tired of the big hotel chains and want a nice place to stay

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

I am currently at the Dekang as part of a National Geographic trip. The staff is very friendly, and the food has been great. There's even made to order omelets at breakfast. Some of the room furnishings are weary, but the room is clean. There's plenty of hot water, and wifi! TV in each room; I haven't watched anything, though. Kettle and tea are supplied. My room is on the back side of the hotel. You can hear traffic and honking occasionally. Those on the front side of the hotel hear it more. There's a small garden with ducks below my windows. I find the quacks to be just part of the atmosphere. Be sure to go up to the 4th or 5th floor around 9 pm when they turn on the floodlights to the Potala.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

We've never heard of DeKang Hotel. After learning from Geo Expeditions that we will be staying there for three nights, we checked the travel books and websites and found nothing about it. So we decided we will just trust the travel agency and see how things play out. I'm a bit picky when it comes to hotels. I admit that I had my doubts before arriving at DeKang Hotel.

Once we arrived, we were just pleasantly surprised, every step away. It is a gorgeous and personal hotel. The staff are just wonderful. They are very friendly and they try so hard to make you feel like home. The guy in charge was always there, first thing in the morning or late in the evening. When we were there, he was there. He speaks English well. He remembers every little things we mentioned and he made sure we got what we need. Whenever we walked by, the front desk guy was smiling. The interior is very Tibetan, colorful and beautiful. The room is clean and deco/furnishing is on par with four star quality. They have free access to internet as well! Now I totally regret that I didn't write down and remember their names. I however did suggest to the guy in charge that they should advertise more!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Our group of 13 had the great fortune to stay in this marvellous hotel for 4 nights during our trip to Tibet. The food in the restaurant was excellent, the staff could not do enough and when we left it felt like leaving friends behind. We were close to the old area of Lhasa so could walk there within a few minutes and the view of the Potala Palace from the 4th floor cafe was particularly stunning at night.
We particularly liked the newly decorated room, free internet for guests and the variety of meals in the restaurant - one can only have a certain amount of yak meat which local restaurants seemed to specialise in exclusively!
The thing we didn't like was the intermittent hot water caused by a careless guest leaving the hot water running over night - not one of our group I hasten to add - and certainly not the fault of the hotel.
This is certainly a hotel to try if you are going to Lhasa and you would prefer a hotel that makes you feel so welcome as opposed to a 5 star block with anonymous staff.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dekang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dekang Hotel

Address: No.2 Shengtai Road, Lhasa, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip DaoDao so you can book your Dekang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dekang Hotel Lhasa, Tibet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dekang Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.