We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat & clean Tibetan place, convenient location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tibet Gorkha Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tibet Gorkha Hotel to your Saves list
Tibet Gorkha Hotel
No.45 Linkuo West Road, Lhasa 850000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 298 Hotels in Lhasa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Neat & clean Tibetan place, convenient location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

This place is a neat Tibetan hotel in the old town close to the Barkhor and the Jokhang temple (5mins walk).
I liked how surprisingly the hotel consisting of several Tibetan houses was renovated in a typical way and not spoiled by chinese influence.
Of caurse it had some technical flaws (as we can say about all places done under chinese quality which is not conducted for Europe) but after being 3 weeks in the backcountry sleeping in very limited conditions we loved finally sufficiently warm water running under normal pressure.
I like this place a lot and recommend to support as a local business.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    26
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This beautiful hotel in the very center of Lhasa has very unique vintage atmosphere which will easily grab you. The staff while sometimes confused is always helpful and smiling. Rooms are bit small and dark though beautifully furnished, clean and modern. It was joyous stay and can be recommended for everybody who is looking for the hotel witch the great feeling.

Room Tip: Take a room a at down so you don't need to climb stairs (difficult in high altitude without accl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Clean hotel, good restaurant, and close to Barker Street markets

Room Tip: Plug-in heater is useful if room is too cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

This hotel were recommend by our tour operator, Spinn Cafe. We book 3 separate rooms and they are not in the same quality one is extra ordinary (a big corner room with bath tub) one is good (standard size with bath tub and proper hot/Cold drinking water) and another one is not that good (Alway wet floor bathroom with no bath tub, only one plug can operate, no reading light) are there are all come in the same price.

Breakfast is ok, sometime will be buffet and sometime will be a la carte depend on the number of guest. Service are good, staff can speak English but the Internet room are not that good.

Locate in a good location, about 5 minutes walk to Barkhor Square. We stay there on 15-18 October 2011 and have a good time there.

Room Tip: Room on the hotel door side are better, Corner room are bigger. Make sure to check the room before s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This hotel was selected by our tour operator, spinn cafe. It was quite brillient after all the reviews that I read about bad water pressure and service in Tibet. This hotel has all the charm of traditional Tibet and the rooms are clean and comfortable. They are decorated in Tibetan theme and the staff speak english and are very friendly.

Outside the hotel is all the hussle and bussle of the old town, small shops , hawkers and narow streets, with a restaurant just down the road if you want to eat something local or international...just don't order the chocolate cake....they do not know how to make cake...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We booked this hotel after seeing photos of it on TripAdvisor and on feedback from a "famous travel" publication. And we were not dissapointed one bit.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
The hotel yard was as one would romanticly dream about old Lhasa.
The Room was spacious and well decorated (loved the door).
The food (breakfast and dinner) under Dawa's eyes was perfect.
The old cat was a real treet to cuddle every morning.
Location gave very easy access to the old centre and it was a dream to walk around just before dawn.

OK, so it looks like I work for the place - seriously though, once you've been there, you'll agree with me. Fingers crossed, we'll be going back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

The Tibetan vibe to the Gorkha Hotel really makes you feel like you're in old Lhasa. Formerly the Nepelese consulate, the monastery-style hotel entryway murals lead the way into a back courtyard of century-old trees and the historic maroon-walled interior. The standard rooms are comfortable and clean, with clean modern bathrooms. The suites, are stylish and cost in the $100 a night range. Regular rooms, which are very nice and roomy are in the $50 range. The hotel has an excellent Nepali-style rooftop restaurant--with a great view of the city--that has excellent, tasty, safe to eat food.

As Lonely Plant says of the hotel: "The Tibetan staff are helpful, the decor blends in perfectly with the surrounding Tibetan-style architecture and the garden courtyard may well be Lhasa's best sanctuary from the crowds."

My wife and I greatly enjoyed this hotel and, after having viewed most of the other hotels in Lhasa during our 10 day stay, this one stands out as the best, most authentic hotel in the old Tibetian section of town, right by Jokhang Temple and all the action...but a quiet refuge from the city at night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.8 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#7 of 298 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
0.0 mi away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#3 of 298 in Lhasa
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#5 of 298 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tibet Gorkha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tibet Gorkha Hotel

Address: No.45 Linkuo West Road, Lhasa 850000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is excellent. Just returned from 10 days in Lhasa. You should list this...may be one of the best places in old Tibetian town...regards, Sam Singer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Tibet Gorkha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibet Gorkha Hotel Lhasa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tibet Gorkha Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.