We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filled with disappointment and many mosquito bites!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kayumanis Nanjing Private Villa & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kayumanis Nanjing Private Villa & Spa to your Saves list
Kayumanis Nanjing Private Villa & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   No.12 Wenquan Road, Tangshan Street, Jiangning District, Nanjing 211131, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 1,583 Hotels in Nanjing
HONG KONG
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Filled with disappointment and many mosquito bites!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

We've just returned from Nanjing and have spent two nights at the resort. We stayed in a one bedroom villa with mountain views. The room is in balinesian style and the furnitures and decorations are quite nice. The overall service provided is up to standard. However, a few things really need improvement.

1) There is one guy who just walked into our villa and then walked away without any greeting or warning, in the last morning when we are having breakfast in the dining area. As there is only glass walls between the bedrooms, bathroom and living rooms, it can be very embarrassing if it happened at other time and basically this is unacceptable for us.

2) We got many many mosquito bites over our bodies, and they get very swollen and itchy after we retruned home. Although we should have taken more precaution, we expect the staff should have warned us beforehand. Last time we were at another resort at Chiangmai, they had given us insert repellents and warning and we were not biten by any mosquitos what so ever.

3) There was a complete shut down of the electricity and water the first night while I was in the middle of the shower. Although the problem fortunately got fixed within 30 mins, it was a downside of the whole stay.

4) The in villa dining menu has very limited choices. We do expect more chinese food in a villa in China. Furthermore, the food was always cold when they arrived.

5) We could not choose when to have our spa treatment as the spa was fully booked ( which we're told at the first min we arrived at our villa that there is only a fixed time slot left for us to have spa). The therapists were OK but they seem to be in tight schedule and a bit in a rush.

Overall, we were expecting more and were a bit disappointed.

  • Liked — hotspring
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    17
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
292 hotel reviews
Reviews in 224 cities Reviews in 224 cities
579 helpful votes 579 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

After having to wade through knee deep water past a huge waterfall that appeared outside my apartment just to get to a taxi that could not quite make it due to the worst rainstorm in Hong Kong history, it was quite a relief to arrive in Nanjing at a Kayumanis villa staffed almost with only Balinese.

The nicest place on earth it is not, Nanjing's countryside (where the emperor went for his hotsprings & eternal youth) has that perpetual gray sky that has inspired some Chinese artists to paint that black/white/gray landscape, but after a couple of proper authentic Balinese massages (most of the Kayu staff are from Bali), decent food, very spacious & well designed space, perfect peace & quiet with the silence broken only by birdsong, Kayumanis is the perfect long weekend answer to a short trip in Greater China

(hotels that deserve the 5 star in this price range for me are still the Fushun resort in Hangzhou & the Banyan Tree in Lijiang, the Kayu Nanjing came close but... absolutely no view to speak of, & lots of little bugs that somehow make it into your room, harmless buggers though)

  • Liked — lovely villas but even better were the staff from Bali
  • Disliked — not sure worth $500 a night
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

We stayed recently in early May 2008 at this property and agree generally with the observations made to date in terms of the positives for this property.

A couple of things to note however:

1. we would strongly recommend booking in advance for spa sessions as for better or for worse, the number of spa therapists onsite was limited with the consequence that we were only able to schedule one spa session at the spa during the course of a 4 day 3 night stay - the spa had been fully booked otherwise notwithstanding that only 11 out of 21 villas were occupied during the period we stayed. It didn't help as well that the spa hours were only from 9am to 6 pm. Otherwise, the spa experience itself was great;

2. there's only one restaurant onsite with a fairly limited menu (and suprisingly, notwithstanding the resort's location in China, very few, if any, authentic Chinese dishes) so if you are staying for more than 2 nights, it may be advisable to have the resort arrange to book for meals outside of the property in Nanjing city property;

3. very likely due to the timing of the year we visited, there were quite a number of insects around (and occasionally in) the villa - so do bring your insect repellant!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

Our friends are living in Shanghai, teaching for a year, and found this resort early in their year. They loved it, and recommended it as a place for celebration for the reunion of 6 friends over this past Easter weekend.
We were 3 couples, and during the weekend, one person celebrated a 70th birthday, and my husband and I celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary.
The General Manager, Mintoro, and his staff always went absolutely above and beyond our every request if we had any. The food was Asian/Fusion and exquisite. They even presented us with beautiful gourmet cakes on the 2 special occasions over the 3 nights we were there!
Each couple had their own villa, providing privacy unmatched by anything we'd ever seen, and we hardly saw any other guests all weekend. The furnishings were lovely, and the decorating touches to make us feel special were evident from the mini bar stocked with our preferred beverages to the in-villa CD's of our preferred music taste. The spa staff were lovely, very well trained and professional, and I would have had more treatments, but ran out of time. We took a privately guided 1 day tour of the Nanjing area which was arranged by the resort, which was very worthwhile and good value.
Bottom line, if you want to feel special and pampered, this unique property delivers beyond expectation. Check out their website, and believe what it says. I would love to go back someday, or visit one of their properties in Bali. Absolutely divine.
Thanks again Mintoro, for helping us to create wonderful memories! Carolyn

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

We were immensely overjoyed at the Resort’s amenities and facilities, terming them 'Heaven on Earth.' We were especially delighted and captivated by our exclusive Villa at the Mouchou Pavilion, where we spent time, soaking in the outdoor jacuzzi, and then enjoying a dip in our pool, which made us feel thoroughly revitalized and refreshed.

We would like to say a big thank you to the entire staff for the incredibly lavish treatment and warm, personal welcome we received at Kayumanis Nanjing and for arranging our stay. Our time at Kayumanis will be always be cherished by us and we will treasure the warmest memories of the incredible weekend we spent there.

We would also like to thank Mintoro, the General Manager for going above and beyond the call of duty. Also, a big thank you to Ratna, Anna and all the staff at the restaurant for ensuring that we were extremely well looked after and pampered, at all meal times. Our every requirement was anticipated well in advance by this superb staff, which was always attentive to our every gesture.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

We just returned from our trip to Kayumanis Nanjing. All staffs there are very friendly and helpful. They always offer their best services to the satisfaction of the guests.

The hotel is very new that the environment, fixtures and furniture of the villa is also excellent. The management is very serious of each single detail that gave us most unforgettable memories. Guests are mostly recommended to have the Kayumanis toast and bakery basket for their breakfast, which are so delicious and tasteful for their tongue in the morning.

We tried the spa twice which is so good! I personally like the massage which really takes away all the fatigue after the day excursion. The staffs there are very professional and lovely.

The restaurant is very good too. The environment makes us very comfortable. Of course the friendly staffs deserve a credit! I personally like the chicken soup and tiramisu. It will be even better if the restauant can add more to its wine list and give more selection to the "greedy drinker"!

There are also some rooms for improvement. Though road condition always change in China and there're quite a lot of road works, we suggest you use GPS devices in your cars and drivers can make good preparation of the routes in advance. For the excursion to Suzhou, we suggest you may arrange guests to have lunch in the 松鶴樓 restaurant in winter or when the weather is not good enough. By the way, we encoutered difficulties in payment when we tried to buy a teapot in the shops in Suzhou. Credit card doesn't work for their system; which we guess all the shops accept debit cards only. You may try to give advice to the guests on this. Butlers can also recommend some good shops for buying teapots, "YuHua" stones... for the visitors.

Overall, Kayumanis is a place where we really want to visit again and again. All of the staffs make us warm and feel like home. We would certainly recommend this lovely place to our friends.

Chung Lau & Noel Chak

  • Liked — comfortable environment & best quality services
  • Disliked — High price
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

We're so in love with Kayumanis that we invited 2 other couples to join us there for the Easter weekend. Their first experience exceeded our rave reviews. The news of this great resort is spreading fast as they were at full capacity with couples from Hong Kong; however, that didn't detract from the warm, attentive service from the wonderful staff. This time we took advantage of the many activities available for guests including cooking class, Chinese culture, biking, massages, facials, and a guided tour.
Our friends agreed that this spa gets a 5-star rating in every category.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kayumanis Nanjing Private Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayumanis Nanjing Private Villa & Spa

Address: No.12 Wenquan Road, Tangshan Street, Jiangning District, Nanjing 211131, China
Location: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nanjing
#5 Spa Hotel in Nanjing
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nanjing
#80 Best Value Hotel in Nanjing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kayumanis Nanjing Private Villa & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kayumanis Nanjing Private Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kayumanis Hotel Nanjing
Kayumanis Resort Nanjing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayumanis Nanjing Private Villa & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.