We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to go for a walk.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Confucian Temple Area (Fuzi Miao)

Confucian Temple Area (Fuzi Miao)
Gongyuan Street, Nanjing, China
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 286 Attractions in Nanjing
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good place to go for a walk.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very touristy and overpriced souvenirs. But, it is a nice place to go for a walk and spend a few hours.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    297
    148
    21
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Too crowded and too turistic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I really was not impressed with this area and was expecting much more from the temple itself. Cheap shops and not choice of good placed to eat.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuzhou, Anhui, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“China of old and new”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Fuzimiao is a very common word in Nanjing. Everybody knows about it. It can be accessible by metro and bus. I didn't go inside the Confucius Temple. But I was more impressed with the shopping stalls all over the place. I bought my Chinese souvenirs as presents when I went back to my country. Bargaining is a skill. You have to realize that when in China. For the same item. vendors can name any prize especially when they know you are a foreigner. As night falls, the magic unfolds. The riverside became so colorful and I saw lighted boats plying with passengers enjoying the night sites. Next time, I'll try to take a ride on one. When in Nanjing, yeah, I think it's one place worth visiting.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I love the shops and restaurants. Great place to get really "Chinese-ey" souvenirs and to just walk around and spend an afternoon. Almost all the shops are open to negotiating their prices and you can get some really great stuff for not a lot of money.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Crowded tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Not a fan at all. It's over-crowded and cluttered with tacky shops selling phone cases, cheap souvenirs, and dodgy clothes. Occasionally pretty, but too congested to be worth a visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Confucian Temple Area (Fuzi Miao) also viewed

 

Been to Confucian Temple Area (Fuzi Miao)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Confucian Temple Area (Fuzi Miao), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.