We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Nanjing Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Nanjing Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Nanjing Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.89 Hanzhong Road, Baixia District, Nanjing 210029, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 1,583 Hotels in Nanjing
4.0 of 5 stars 329 Reviews
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Overall pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed two nights at the Crowne plaza. It's a typical business hotel, located in a good central area. 5 minutes from the Xinjiekou subway station, Golden eagle department store and a few restaurants. The service was great, the front desk clerk was attentive & friendly. And yes she spoke English, you will see that sometimes to find one person that speaks English in a hotel in China is so hard. No problems for checking in or out.

The suite was very large & clean, lots of towels, always had 2 bottles of complementary water. The bed is very comfortable, I was able to finally get a good night sleep after a few days of travelling. I really had no complaints.

What I didn't like too much was the breakfast was quite expensive, I believe it was 120RMB. I was rushing to meet my tour guide but was starving at the time. So I went quickly to get a bite to eat. I asked someone if it was one price or per plate, he did not speak too well and nodded. Since I was rushing, I just decided to go anyway. I barely ate and still got charged the 120, I think they should have charged accordingly but it's the price for the buffet. 120 is quite expensive for fruits & bread. The next day, I found a nice little restaurant that offered a similar buffet style breakfast for 42 rmb. If it's not included, don't bother, there is so many places around that area that will offer you a cheaper & better breakfast.

The Good:

-great service & can cater to your needs (The spice market is open 24 hours if you want something to eat, the meal is brought to your room. They were able to make me something that was not in the menu without a problem, since I don't eat meats and such.)
-Location (quick access to the subway station, 5 minute walk, mall, and restaurants)
-rooms are clean, large and nicely decorated
-lots of towels and bottled water
-lots of amenities in the room that were for some reason hard to find in other hotels in China (bottle opener, spoons, glasses for wine..etc)

The bad:

-some things are expensive: internet (pay per day), phone calls $$$, breakfast if not included and lounge (56-65 rmb for one drink), opt to go to other places around the area, so much cheaper and much better also
-if you need a tour, don't book the one from the concierge!! It is really, really horrible! The worst tour I did in my whole trip... An English tour is 300RMB for one day (which is a bit expensive for what I saw). You will be stuck with a chinese tour group,( and the Chinese tourists pay 150 rmb) the half that I had to pay extra went for that translator, that that barely spoke English. Let's just say, you will feel segregated & won't understand much if you don't speak Chinese. Find other tours agency online or go to the touristic sites by yourself, you will have a better time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    158
    58
    14
    1
See reviews for
11
22
23
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
machester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Ended up in Nanjing instead of Shanghai thanks to Virgins crazy decision to fly into a cyclone. I was one of maybe 200 guests that landed on them with little or no notice in terrible weather conditions. The staff couldn't have been nicer to us all. My room was large, clean, and had a great view. We were provided with a special buffet dinner and breakfast and both were excellent containing both Western and Chinese dishes. Again not bad at little or no notice. The staff were extremely helpful the following day - as getting to Shanghai through the aftermath of the cyclone proved quite difficult. Would definitely give them my business if I ever returned to Nanjing. Top marks for customer service - Well done!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My first question that came to my mind when I got dropped off by the taxi is "why are there so many people who do not look like travelers going in and out the lobby?. I came to find out that the lobby of the hotel is located on the 7th floor, and the breakfast area on the 9th floor. The building main lobby has three elevators clearly marked with some sort of red awning with the hotel's name. After I checked in by a very pleasant staff, I got to my hotel room on the 41st floor.
It was a suite type of room with a huge bed (larger than the US king size). To my surprise the toilet did not flush on first attempt this was corrected the minute I brought up to the attention of the desk staff. They also left a platter with three oranges for this minor inconvenience.
The hallways seem to have low ceilings and I must admit there is smell may due to the AC going full blast during this hot and muggy time of the year.
The breakfast was included in my hotel price. There was a variety of offerings with both eastern and western style of food.
I was also told that internet was free, but when I tried to connect you get a duration pricing list. I called the front desk to make sure that I will not be charged which they confirmed it.
I could have given this hotel a four stars but because of the aforementioned problem and the fact that the caulking in the bathroom just look old. It is all these small details that sometimes tip my rating.

Room Tip: Always ask for a non smoking room and upgrade. Sometimes you just have to ask if they have it availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Rather strange with lobby on 7th floor beside dodgy looking nightclub, but staff efficient and pleasant.
Large well equipped if rather sterile bedrooms. Excellent buffet breakfast. situated on top of shopping mall and very close to metro some 200 yards. The access to the metro beside the hotel leads from a small food mall below the street that has some good, and very reasonable noodle bars if you want to avoid the hotel costs. Eat early as the area tend to shut down 9.30ish.
Average gym with small pool and rather bizarrely they insist on swimming caps even, if like me you have hardly a hair on your head, put your foot down and you may get away with a shower cap free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Have stayed a few times.. This time I just stayed 1 night.
Was on the 41st floor and the room was pretty compact, however everything you'ld need was provided. Easy hook up from laptop to the LCD TV for watching my own content or streaming over the internet.
Staff were excellent as ever.
Breakfast is mostly eastern type food, with some western pastries and other dishes available and was very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located near both subway lines although the immediate neighborhood is not the most interesting one around. The staff were friendly and helpful, including the people in the business office who assisted us with purchasing train tickets. Like most western high-end hotels in china, they charge extra for things that would be free in a Motel 6 where the cost is far less (eg., wifi); unlike most, they charge per device!! So, each iPhone, iPad, computer costs extra. A bit surprising given what they charge for the room and the fact that it doesn't cost them extra if I switch from using my iPhone to an iPad. Otherwise a pretty typical hotel stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

stayed 2 nights got after asking an upgraded room which was huge...hotel has all that you can expect from a 4* hotel...but maybe the next time would try another one as it felt not anymore super fresh ... have your try...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Nanjing Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Nanjing Hotel & Suites

Address: No.89 Hanzhong Road, Baixia District, Nanjing 210029, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nanjing
#48 Best Value Hotel in Nanjing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Nanjing Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nanjing Hotel and Suites conveniently located in the business and commercial center of the vibrant city of Nanjing, with exceptionally easy access to neighboring corporate offices, luxury shopping centers, banks and other financial institutions. Crowne Plaza Nanjing, tallest hotel in the city, occupying the floors of 37-51 in a commercial complex offers a panoramic view of the entire city. The hotel has 282 well furnished guest rooms, majority of which are over 60 square meters, providing all the comfort and business facilities that frequent business travelers may expect. Crowne Plaza Nanjing offers two dining experiences. Angus Grill, an elegant grill room with comfortable surrounding, serves quality steak and seafood. Spice Market offers all day international buffet with a wide selection of worldwide wines. Like every other Crowne Plaza sister hotels, Crowne Plaza Nanjing, with state of the art meeting facilities, is committed to deliver the brand promise to make every event of yours a great success. Crowne Plaza Nanjing is 42 kilometers away from Nanjing Lukou International airport, 15 minutes from railway station and most scenic spots in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Nanjing Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Nanjing Hotel Nanjing
Crowne Plaza Nanjing Hotel And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Nanjing Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.